We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room without a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a first. I have stayed in many hotels, both for business and pleasure. All had windows with a view of some nature. Photo attached shows our view of the sky only!! Room faults:
1. Only 1 bedside locker and 1 bedside lamp.
2. Wardrobes totally dishevelled and in a darkened of the room.
3. Décor of the room was 1960's and shabby.
4. Bathroom door stuck on floor tiles.
5. Shower area a disaster and without handle to lever yourself out of the high-rimmed bath.
6. Cheapest and tiniest toiletries imaginable
7. No place to hang towels
8. Sheets falling off the bed

These rooms should not be offered in a 3 or 4 star hotel... or indeed, in view of the lack of windows, they don't seem fit for a prison.

The receptionists were cold and unfriendly, whereas the dining room staff were mainly good (except for one who produced a red card to a fellow guest for taking a knife and fork from another table!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnTravel92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good afternoon,

really sorry about reading your review !

Our attic rooms are sold with description that there is no view from the room,
so I am sorry about your disappoint about that.
Anyway why you didn't ask a room change or upgrade ?
We have 4 different type of room in the hotel, and if we are not fully booked,
we can always change the room if the Guest didn't like.

Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have just returned from a fabulous week at the Grand Hotel Liberty in Riva Del Garda, Italy. My holiday was greatly enhanced by the hotel staff who were helpful and friendly at all times and whatever the situation. Special mentions to George and Bruno in the restaurant who were not only friendly and highly amusing but also able to anticipate their guests needs effortlessly. I was in a beautifully decorated third floor room which was also very spacious and quiet, the bathroom seemed to have been refitted recently, both were kept spotlessly clean at all times. There was a huge choice of food at breakfast, hot, cold, British, Continental and as much good strong Italian coffee as you wanted or needed. Evening meals were varied and I'm sure that even the fussiest of eaters would have been catered for. The gala dinner was a particular triumph and the early morning breakfast on the day of departure was very much appreciated. Early morning wake up calls were made exactly as requested and my 'extra's' bill was 100% accurate and ready promptly The building itself is lovely, and the public areas are very tastefully decorated in a traditional, Italian design. The hotel is well situated within the town and the lake is just a short stroll away. All in all, a wonderful holiday experience in a wonderful hotel that I would not hesitate to recommend or return to. Thank you Grand Hotel Liberty. Cannot comment on the spa as I didn't use it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blimeyriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good afternoon and thanks for your stay and your review !

I am sure our Staff will be happy to read your comment,
we really hope to see you again in the future and we wish
you a good day

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The attic rooms that I and my friends were given in this Hotel were like prison cells - This is a 4 star hotel - and was sold to us as such. The window was way above our heads and all we could see was the sky! We had no idea what it was like outside.......... These rooms may have been acceptable in the past, but should no longer be sold as 4 star quality. The shower screen was about a foot wide which meant that, we the lucky ones who could stand up in our bath!!! sprayed water all over the bathroom. Whoever showered second waded through an inch of water - all our toiletries were soaked the first day.
The saving grace was the wonderful dining room service - such really nice, helpful and amusing waiters.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
2  Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good afternoon,

thanks for your review, really sorry about that,
but like we reminded in other comments, attic rooms
are sold at a really lower price of standard or other rooms,
and online is written that there is not a view.
The furniture of the rooms is the same of a standard rooms
and for our view are recommended for a good price/quality of
all our services

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was the best hotel we stayed in on the Garda lake. Everything was perfect. We had a standard double room, it was very warm, big and clean. Bathroom with bathtub is very nice, but it would be nice if there was a curtain or something not to wet all the floor. The bed was a king size and very comfortable, pillows a little bit stiff, but ok. The flat TV had plenty of channels in different languages.
The spa was very nice, and one of the highlights of this hotel. The inside pool with different kinds of water massages, the saunas and the hot and cold showers with massages, were perfect and definitely added a value to our stay in this hotel. When we checked in, we weren't told anything about the free use of the inside pool and the spa, but I've read about it in other comments, so I asked to use it, and we were even provided with bathrobes and additional towels for the spa.
The breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed it very much. We also had parking in front of the hotel, and good wi-fi in the room. There was also a fridge (mini bar) in the room, which was very useful for us.
The staff was very good and friendly, especially the staff we met during the breakfast. In the beginning we booked only one night, but we enjoyed the hotel very much and booked another one.
Our first night was booked via Hotels.com, and the second through the hotel itself. We were told that we will pay the same rate also for the second night. However, at the time of check-out, we were asked to pay a higher rate. It took a while, but finally we proved the staff on the reception that this is what we've been told, and showed the rate of our first night via Hotels.com. In the end we payed the same rate as for the first night, but it retarded us a little on the time of check out.
Overall experience was very good, and we would definitely recommend this place for everyone and will come back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good afternoon,

thanks a million for your review !
Cannot thank you enough !

Only hope to see you again with us and other friends or family !

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at liberty . The dining staff were excellent reception and room staff. Found the spa staff a bit unapproachable and the fact we had to pay 15 euros each to access the spa a bit greedy. Remarks from visitors with regards re room standards were relevant and I did not find it acceptable to respond by saying depending on economic status improvements re decor would be made. Holidays are not cheap we save for a year in the hope of an enjoyable break away and we trust and expect a good standard of accommodation and service. Overall good but improvements can be made. Especially when you have to leave early ie
4.30 am to get to the airport. Pots of coffee,tea, fruit juice,croissants and perhaps some cold meats should be available..not a lot of effort but would be so appreciated considering there is a 3 and a half hour coach journey ahead. Take away breakfast consisting of thrown together dried bread and meats and apple could then be avoided. We could make our own.all said would return

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank bramble72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good afternoon and thanks a lot,

I will pass the message to all inside the hotel, and sorry about
the not renovating right now some rooms, I understand that is not
acceptable from you, but it is also not acceptable how is going the economy
here, so we can keep open, pay our staff, but not hearn enough to refurbish the rooms.

I hope to see you again in our wonderful town and hotel
Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. We were in a group who had flown from Edinburgh with the Travel Department. We had looked at previous reviews of the hotel and had high expectations and we were not disappointed. The staff were amazing, could not do enough for you. The food was really good with 4 choices for each course. Some evenings I just wanted a light starter and was assured this was no problem and I had melon. The food was also beautifully presented. The staff are so professional and obviously enjoy what they do. If we are able to visit this area again then we will definitely stay at this hotel again. It certainly was a "Grand Experience"

Room Tip: We were in Room 132 on first floor. Very quiet at night. Super king sized bed. Only one fault - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlynn_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Good afternoon,

thanks a million for your holiday with us !
We cannot wait to see you again in our hotel,
so please go and book your next holiday !

We have package together with Travel Department every time !

Thanks a lot !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Outside of hotel is lovely. Inside is nice lobby and great coffee bar with friendly staff and comfortable seating.

The location is great for a walk around the town with lots to see and do within walking distance

Food is great

The spa and swimming pool are very relaxing with an exclusive feel.

Room was a bit dark and gloomy had the feel like it was an old convent

Fridge in room was handy to keep drinks cool

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLittlestHobo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay and your words !

I wish you a nice autumn and winter, and remeber that
we are always open so come to see us also in low season !

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#3 of 33 in Torbole
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
661 reviews
25 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 3/5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $65 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing