We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and great holiday with travel dept.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Liberty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“great hotel and great holiday with travel dept.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great hotel -- my son remarked 'this is like one of those places that Poirot probably stayed in to solve a mystery' and that kinda summed the character of the place up. Old world meets new, lots of high ceilings and beautiful old furniture, yet very modern too. Rooms scrupulously clean, beds comfy, nice modern shower. free safe, TV, hairdryer etc. If i had just one little gripe it would be that the only english stations were the news channels, and whilst you only tend to put it on for a bit of background noise before bedtime, who really wants to hear the (usually bad) news on hol. Some people said that they missed tea/coffee in the rooms. That all said I couldn't fault this hotel at all. The restaurant was really good, lovely cuisine and a good choices, breakfast was the usual eggs n bacon and cold meats/cheese/fruit and lots of it etc. The waiters were great fun and for those of you of a certain age you'll understand when i say the maitre'd is the double of Harry Worth and he ran the restaurant like clockwork. Really nice bar areas, prosecco is made locally and is just 3 euro a glass! In fact all the bar prices were very reasonable. There was an impressive indoor spa that had gym, good size heated pool, rest beds and jacuzzi etc, also an amazing rainforest shower. There is also a beautician but i didn't try it so can't comment. There were very few children at this hotel when i was there, which to be honest added to our experience (sorry mums n dads, don't mean i don't like kids, its just nice to be able to fully relax). The hotel is right in the centre of things, two mins brings you to the main shopping area and lakeside cafes. There is a supermarket across the road, and the prices are really good. Riva and the surrounding scenery is breathtaking. Its all unspoilt and not a McDonalds/KFC or football/beer swillers bar in sight - wonderful. It is so lovely to spend your evenings down at the lakeside, the cafe culture and town is really good and just like the hotel there is a really good mix of new and old. The prices for meals and drinks were amazingly cheap. During the day there is a small ferry that will bring you to all the towns around the lake, but the must do is Malcesine (you can go there on the bus for less than 3 euro, bus station is five mins walk from hotel, the receptionist will give you the timetable, the receptionists were really helpful and informative). Malcesine is just the prettiest, most romantic, quaint place. cobbled streets and a lovely castle on the lake. There is also a cable car there (cant rem price but it was fairly reasonable) that will bring you to the top of mont baldo, and whilst it was 22 degrees celsius at lake level, we were able to throw snowballs at each other when we got to the top - amazing. The tour guide Renate was fabulous, very informative, friendly and full of really useful tips. Follow her recommendations, she really knows what shes doing. Venice was great (I cannot believe we got a 30 min gondola ride for only 19 euro, with free prosecco thrown in - thanks Renate, you really made this holiday for us). Verona is beautiful and the lake trip was a must. Normally we do our own thing on hols, but i have to take my hat off to the travel dept - that holiday was really well organised and great value for money. Don't usually say this, but will definately go back because it lived up to all the promises.

Room Tip: We were in 109 and i would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IrelandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good evening

thanks a lot for your amazing and full review about hotel and surroudings !

I can only say thank you for the post and will give your message to all Staff !
We have recently changed our TV and now we are going to put more channels
on our selection, if we can also a english speaking movie channel, and not only
news, as you say now normally always bad.

Thanks and I am sure we will see you again in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    405
    182
    67
    36
See reviews for
106
578
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week with the travel department on a half board basis , first week in June . Food on the whole was good ,esp the Ravioli , breakfast was the same everyday . We had room 306 on the third floor with 2 amazing views . 1 of the lake and 1 of the mountains The bedroom was very big .The staff were very friendly . The pool was very cold , only for the hardy . You are a 5 minute walk from town and the lake .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerry958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your nice comments about food, breakfast
and our rooms ! I really appreciate you enjoyed your holiday with us !

Have a nice summer
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just spent a week at the Liberty and cannot wait to make a return visit. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. Our room (207) was fine - good size and nice and quiet with lovely mountain views. We loved the style and position of the hotel - shades of National Trust (Italian style) and so convenient for the lovely town of Riva and the ferries etc.

The food was delicious and always entertainingly served by the wonderful George and Maurice.

Thank you so much for making our holiday superb.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and reserve a superior room. 2nd floor overlooking the pool is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaygo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good evening,

thanks for your review !

I will give your message like always to our Staff and I am sure
they will also wait for your next holiday in the Liberty !

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have just spent a week in the Liberty and enjoyed every minute of it. Had a great week, the staff were very friendly and helpful especially in the dining room, the food was excellent with a great choice of food in the evenings (always served with a smile and joke by the waiters). Breakfast was buffet with choice of hot or cold food. We stayed in one of the attic rooms (302) very roomy and comfortable although a bit dull because of the tiny window we soon got used to it. The only thing missing in the bedroom was a full length mirror, there was a mirror on the door of the bathroom (inside the bathroom) this isn't always convenient when someone is using the bathroom! The Liberty is in a ideal location convenient to shops, restaurants and a ten minute walk to Lake Guarda and boats. Will definitely go back again and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel can be noisy with traffic when booking again I would request pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good evening,

thanks a lot for your wonderful review !
Hope to see you again with us, the room you stayed is a standard
on the main building, the attic rooms are only in the back side of the hotel.

You can also ask rooms in the main building ( standard or superior ),
not facing the front.

Thanks a lot and enjoy the summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent a week and enjoyed my stay. The reception staff were very helpful but were unable to resolve my problem of getting a wi-fi connection in my room No 222 despite their advertisement stating that it had wi-fi connection in every room. It was no problem as we just went down to the bar and had drink and used the wi-fi connection there, it just annoyed me that they know the wi-fi does not reach all rooms but still advertise the opposite.
Lake Garda is a great place with good shops and a nice lake front with no shortage of coffee or ice cream stops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review,
we honestly had a big trouble on the wifi system during that days,
I am really sorry for the trouble and now we finally have fixed all.

Hope to see you again in our hotel in the future

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just back from a week in hotel Liberty,with travel dept.this hotel is full of character and the staff members are all so polite and quite witty. Every night at dinner was a ball the waiters kept us entertained and we were constantly having a laugh with them.the food in the evening was sooooooon good ,I miss it already. Would have liked to see melon and strawberries etc at breakfast thou a great selection of cereals and breads.yes the rooms are a bit dated ,we stayed on the 3rd floor in an attic type room no 301 it was a bit dark as the windows were small,thou rest of hotel was fabulous and so were the staff, loved every minute of it.would definitely return to this charming hotel and its charming staff.hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room some had baths ours didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dotsdoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your wonderful review !

I will pass your message to all Staff and sure they will be happy.

I hope to see you again in the future with us and I wish you a nice summer !

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAngor NI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose the grand Hotel Liberty 4* over another 3*hotel located right in the heart of Riva on the assumption that the facilities would better suit my wife who is partially disabled. We have been to Riva a number of times before and knew exactly where it was located and as such just within her walking distance capability.
First impressions were that EU rules regarding disabled access did not apply as we were met with a flight of steps to the main entrance. I only discovered later in the week that there was a small wheelchair elevator tucked around the corner which was not operating.
As part of the Travel Department group we were allocated a room (228) on the second floor. Well, this was the tiniest room we have ever stayed in. There was a double bed, sliding door wardrobes and a lovely view into a back yard from the window which started at chin height!
There was so little space that my wife and I could barely pass each other.
Maybe it's my own fault for not raising the issue immediately as I had assumed that the hotel was fully occupied and the fact that we booked only 2 weeks before we arrived, that this was all that was available. My wife raised it several days later at reception and they could have changed our room on day 1. This should have been a single room.
There was a lack of power points in the room. Nowadays everyone has to recharge something, a phone, camera battery, laptop. I eventually found one beside the bed as part of a light switch. Surely one at the desk/dressing table would have been better.
Regarding the food, this was of a good standard. Early in the week the free WiFi was a bit flaky but eventually settled and was good.
Considering the age of the hotel, its condition was good, nice bar, dining room and pool area. Never got to visit the Spa. Too many steps!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before moving in and get it changed immediately if not suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good afternoon and thanks a lot

I am really sorry to read about your room problem, of course if you report
immediately that you like to change room, we can provide you the same day
or the day after if was ful another room.
Another better situation is to report in advance that you need a room for wheel chair,
we have 4 proper rooms for disable people that are larger and more suitable.

The elevator on the side of the hotel is always working, but normally is a reception staff
that come to let you go up and down for safety

Thanks a lot again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#9 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Property: Grand Hotel Liberty
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 3/5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing