We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect Holiday"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just home following a 5 night trip to Lake Garda with the fantastic Travel Department. From the moment we arrived until we left, we felt so well taken care of - nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and spacious, with double aspect and balconette, always kept spotlessly clean by staff and plenty of clean towels when required. The food included in our stay, both dinner and breakfast, was extremely well presented and tasted delicious! A special mention for Bruno in the dining room, who put up with my attempt to speak Italian which mostly ended up as Spanish, mucho bueno gracias Bruno for looking after my sister and myself so well, you're an absolute angel! I can't wait to return to this beautiful hotel in one of the most idllyic spots on earth!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 126, it was lovely and spacious with a balconette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sinead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Good evening,

thanks a lot for your review !
Appreciate that you enjoyed your stay and hope to
see you again maybe in summer time !!

I will pass your message to all staff for sure
Thanks a lot and Happy Easter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back from a 5 day trip to Lake Garda with the Travel Department. The Hotel is ideally located not far from the Harbour and its stunning scenery. Our rooms were in the newer part of the hotel, the rooms were an adequate size and were clean. The only gripe I would have with the room was the shower in the bathroom. There was only a tiny glass shower screen, so when you had a shower, the whole bathroom had a shower with you! We stayed on a half board basis, the breakfast is a buffet breakfast with plenty to choose from. The dinner menu consisted of a choice of starters, main meals and desserts. On the whole the food was quite good, but for a 4* Hotel, there is definitely room for improvement. The hotel staff were attentive and polite except for one waiter.... The spa area is lovely. All in all, it was a nice break and Lake Garda is not crowded at all at this time of year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review first of all !

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us,
but if I can ask please, write to my attention regarding
this waiter that was not helpful or polite.
Our staff work with us from many years but if something is wrong,
is nice for me to know to fix the problem.

Thanks a lot and hope to see you again with us

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here last October on our honeymoon. We booked throught he travel department. When booking I was advised I could pay extra for a suite and a little bit more again for a "Bridal suite"..
We checked in late and went straight to bed as we had been trevelling all day... The next day i inspected the room... such a let down... there was an upstairs, with the bed and toilet and downstairs table couch t etc. My husband has an on going knee injury so to go all the way upsatirs to go to the toilet was a pain ... our bed as two single beds pushed together... very annoying when you want to cuddle up at night, you almost fall between the two bed... After a day of the whole room bugging us both i complained to reception. I was informed i paid for the "floor space" after i asked was that their best room in the building.. i got very frustrated while the receptionist started to reminisce about her own honeymoon and single beds etc..she told me there were no double beds in the hotel. i stormed off upset and left my husband there.. .she offered no apology , did not try to fix the situation.she did not come to find me or see if there was anything she could do.. i was furious.. the next morning i went back to the same girl and asked what was happening.. .told her i was not a bit happy with the room..i told her i had paid extra for my room but that room clearly wasnt worth it... she then proceeded to talk about her own honeymoon??? she said she would try get me a mattress ... i said i would sleep in the garden or anywhere except in two single beds.. so it was the next day before the hotel could 'locate' a double mattress as they had a wedding on the day before and were very busy...so along came 3 housekeepers.. we watched the three of them struggle to shove the mattress up the stairs and get the single ones down.. at this point i would like to add that there were 5 holes in the mattress,... along the sides..it looked liked they had been chewed up. it was a very old mattress.. again i was horrified but it took almost 3 days to get a mattress, they would not facilitate a room change for us.. what were we to do? at this stage i was pure fed up... the bathroom added insult to injury... lethal ... so shower screen or mats on floor... the whole bathroom was soaked after each shower and floors were ridiculously slippy... the hotel front was obviously done up in recent years, the restaurant and bar were modern and nice..but thats where the money stopped, when you got to the lift...( the back of the hotel was very old,. i spoke to an older woman who got put in a room with no windows, only a skylight)... the waiters were great but made no bones about pulling a face if you turned up for dinner at 8:45... the bar staff.. the girl was so rude and abrupt.. the man was great, professional and friendly.. great at cocktails...
overall this was a horrendous trip... if the receptionist did not make this known to the owner ..that i left reception crying and that i was unhappy then she was of no use and she does not know how to do her job.. .if he WAS made aware of it he never approached us to try and fix things,i dont know how he is still in business..

photos available

Room Tip: do not upgrade to a suite... its no better and you are only paying for "floor space"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brenmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Good afternoon,

really sorry to read you review, I think it doesn't change if I reply to
all your list now after your holiday, but may I ask :

Did you ask a room desription when you booked a suite ?
Every operator we work know that there are 2 floors and there
is a jacuzzi, so no very indicated for old people or who have
walking problem. Same also for the shower..

Sorry a lot about the mattress but really in all hotel we all
have single beds and not a full bed.

About the Lady put in a third floor, we also have this kind of rooms,
with a different price and people, same for the suite, can see the room
destription before booking.

Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I spent last weekend in this Hotel and it was my second time there. I reccomend it for low season especially for January. For about 90 euro you get a queen size bedroom with free access to the wellness until 10 p.m., continental breakfast, late check out (12 a.m.), and free access to the wellness also the entire day of check out. Breakfast is good with a big buffet. Sundays' morning are crowded in the wellness but late night is simly amazing. Definitely worth trying it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Good afternoon and thanks a lot for your review.

We are alwasy open and really hoping to see you again
with us in the near future to relax in our Hotel and our
beatiful city

Thanks again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed here for a week in September and we were spoilt. Whilst we were there we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Everyone was very attentive. Ideally situated and a lovely hotel to stay in. On a downside the transfer did take a long time but the scenery was amazing. We willbe definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herbe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Good evening,

thanks for your review !
Really appreciate to read that and will give the message to all Staff.

We are waiting to see you again in the near future !

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay here as part of a The Travel Department tour. Hotel is very charming wind situatied in a handy locaction in Riva del Garda, close to supermarkets, pharmacy, restaurants, cafes and shopping district. It is also a 5 min walk from the shore of the beautiful lake. So very handy for popping in and out of.
Hotel team very cherry, helpful and friendly. Waiters in the restaurant typically Italian, chatty and create some banter at dinner time which is great.
The only negative to the hotel is that the bedrooms decor is very dated along with the bed clothes, could do with a bit of a refreshing up.
Overall excellent, would definitely return again when visiting the lake.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank Paudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Good evening,

thanks a lot for your review !
See you soon in spring, we are always open !

Have a nice 2013 begin !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Visited the Grand Hotel August 2011. A beautiful hotel located in an ideal location with friendly staff. The room was small and maybe a little dated but efficient. While I did hear of one complaint about accommodation that was dealt with immediately and to the guest's satisfaction. Both the breakfast and evening meal were of high quality. A charming period hotel placed in the cente of Riva literally yards from Lake Garda.

A stunning location matched by excellent accommodatin

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Good evening,

thanks a lot for your comment !

Yes you are right, we always hear Guests and try to do the
best to make their holiday fanstatic !

I hope to see you again next season
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
567 reviews
25 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
949 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#19 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
474 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#3 of 33 in Torbole
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 3/5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $74 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing