We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon & would love to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon & would love to go back”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My new wife & myself spent 7 glorious nights at the Liberty Hotel in Riva Lake Garda. Upon checking in we were surprisingly updated to the hotel's suite, a lovely gesture. The suite as you can imagine was more than enough in size to meet our needs. It had a balcony that afforded a view of the swimming pool below & the beautiful mountains that surround Lake Garda. We had booked on a half board basis & went with the intention of eating out for most of the week, however after trying the restaurant in the hotel on the first night we found the food lovely & the service excellant. As a result we only ventured out to nearby restaurants on 2 of our 7 nights. The hotel is spotlesssly clean & all the staff are extremely friendly. I have already recommended this hotel & Riva, Lake Garda to family & friends. p.s we booked through the travel department who are top class & are definately to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Good morning and thanks a lot for your review !

We are very happy about your holiday and hope to see you again soon !
Thanks a lot again

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    453
    204
    79
    40
See reviews for
126
666
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I do admit, some of the rooms where a bit on the dull side. But the location was excellent and so was the food. Staff attentive and friendly

One of the nicest pool areas I have seen with the Mountains as a backdrop.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Good morning and thanks a lot for your reply !
Hope to see you again with us !

Thanks a lot
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We recently stayed in hotel Liberty and I cannot complement the food, staff and location enough.
The rooms were always immaculate. The waiters were brilliant and gave great advice on wine, food etc.
The hotel is set in a perfect location, close to shops, the beach and supermarket.
The hotel have their own personal "George Clooney" who always has a friendly smile.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanord01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Good mornig and thanks a lot for your reply,

really appreciate your post, and hope to see you
again with us soon ! Thanks a lot

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We visited this hotel in July and were very impressed with Riva Del Garda and surrounding areas but not the hotel. In my opinion this is not a 4 star hotel. The staff are excellent and friendly the location of the hotel is brilliant .The hotel itself is very clean and the provision of a gym and an indoor pool and wellness centre are bonuses.However the rooms are drab and tired with old musty furniture and poorly decorated if at all.The food was below average, with breakfast being woeful to poor. The evening meal was a slight improvement but only slight although the staff tried their hardest to make it enjoyable for the patrons.We hope to return to Riva Del Garda sometime in the future but not that we know we will not being staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stantheweeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Good morning and thanks a lot for your reply,

we are sorry that your opinion of us is only 78/100
We understand your opinion about the rooms, we have different
type of room and we are going to refurbish them as soon as possible.
We give to our Guest free parking, free wifi and free wellness center
with sauna, jacuzzi, pool and gym and in the mean time we are planning
to make some change to the rooms !
Thanks a lot again

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I hadnt been back to riva for 2 years and i went back last july to see the grand hotel liberty and it just gets better and better! The updates on the hotel are fab the new bar area is great with friendly staff as always. You cant complain about how spotless the hotel is the food is fab too and you are always greeted with a warm and friendly smile and a hello. even though i had not been there for 2 years the staff still remembered who i was. Please if you do book this hotel tip the staff as they are wonderful and i can guarantee you will never have a problem with anyone.

Trust me dont be put off by the cost of the hotel as it is worth the money you pay! You wont be disapointed!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Good afternoon and thanks a lot for your review !
How nice to read that you find our hotel always better everytime :)
We will pass your compliment to the staff and I am sure they remember you :)
Have a nice summer and hope to see you again soon !
Thanks a million
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We travelled with the 'Travel Department' from Dublin. This is regarded as a 4 Star Hotel and we upgraded our room to Superior Accommodation, at a cost. We were allocated room 201 on the main road and close to a cross roads. Very noisy all week from early morning to late at night. Poor decisions were made in planning the room - such as no mirror in the bedroom, it was on the back of the door to the bathroom! not clever. The bathroom door squeaked and did not close properly. Two chairs, but no table! Carpet and Paintwork needed urgent refurbishment. Overall not a Superior room and not 4 Star. But a little imagination would sort this out. How you sort out the road noises I don't know - I never again want to hear a noisy scooter or motorbike. By the way the Hotel was full and a room change was not possible.
On the plus side - The Staff were excellent and the food was very good even on a night when our tour was very late coming back from a trip to Venice.
The Hotel to walking throughout the town of Riva

Room Tip: I have said it all about our room. But stay away from no. 201 and ask for a room in the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDkirrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Good afternoon and thanks a lot for your review

Really sorry about your room, we will take note of all your point of view
and try to fix some problem.
We only would like to say that 4 star hotel are not made only about rooms,
also about other services that maybe you cannot see or use during your stay.
We will for sure fix the bathroom door, and the mirror is on the back door
because the room is nicer if the door is closed, you can use it from inside the bathroom
and you can leave the door open to use it anyway. Of course the point of view are a lot
Thanks a lot for your comments about staff and hotel restaurant, and hope to see you again
in our hotel, Thanks
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Lovely hotel with good location, BUT... terrible service! We were so overlooked by reception staff.

The worst experience was that the airconditioner was broken when we got the room. The room was really hot, and I went to give feedback. Some guy came to our room, and started to blame us that we had broken the device. And we really did not broke that and I gave feedback within 5 minutes from arriving to room! We do no have a habit to come to room and start to broke air conditioners immediately!
Overall, the attitude in reception was terrible! However, the hotel is nice with good location and swimmingpool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Good afternoon and thanks a lot for your review !
I am really sorry about what happened, but it's very strange
that someone of our staff "blame" you saying that you broke
the device, I think they want to say something different for sure !

Normally aircon it's always working but sometime could happen
that a machine is not working properly and we need to call a
technician that could take some hour to be repaired, if he can.
Sometime unfortunately the damage is so big that we have to wait
the day after. Anyway I spoke with the staff and I know they give you
another room to sleep in the night.
We will speak again with the staff trying to understand better the problem.
Hope to see you again in the future, for sure with air con working :)
Thanks
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#9 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
619 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Property: Grand Hotel Liberty
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 3/5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing