We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant enough, but not flawless.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giardino Verdi
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
northern ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“pleasant enough, but not flawless.”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We took a chance on this hotel booking only a couple of weeks in advance and on the strength of having had a drink or two there last year. It is a bit of a curate's egg of a place- some rooms have been revamped to a very high standard; alas not ours. Granted we booked late, but the hotel was never full and few guests stayed for a fortnight as we did so I think we could have been given one of the better rooms.
That said our room was small but a balcony overlooking the eponymous garden compensated. A small cupboard masqueraded as a 'bathroom' and for anyone of average size any movement (pun intended) was challenging. I'm a veteran of Venetian bathrooms and this one beat them all.
Moving on, the food was reasonably good but don't expect a gourmet experience, it is fairly basic. Forget about the wine list and if you must drink, stick to the carafes; you'll find the wine fresher and (slightly) better value. Better still there's a well-stocked supermarket just across the 'giardino' where you will find great bargains including some local wines you will not find at home. So, if you have a balcony a trip to the supermarket for a couple of decent bottles and you have the makings of a lovely evening.
If you are on half board you must choose your evening meal from a very restricted menu left on your table at breakfast time and woe betide you if you don't tick your choice early - the waiter will stand over you until you do. This gets a tad wearing over a fortnight.
The room was well cleaned every day and no shortage of clean towels and linen.
The hotel is just around the corner from the lake so right in the centre of Riva. Light sleepers may be troubled by late night revelry in the small park, but some rooms do not overlook this.
A small secluded sun terrace on the roof is a great spot for a quiet read, only the birds and the bells from the church next door for company.
Overall I would recommend the hotel for a short stay, a fortnight in a room such as ours may not be for everyone and there are plenty of other hotels in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    22
    6
    12
See reviews for
13
29
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This hotel was the armpit of what was, otherwise, a fantastic trip to Italy. The property is adjacent to a youth hostel and, our first night, we were awakened by a group of loud and boisterous young people partying in the park outside our window. On day 2, our room was overun by ants. We brought it to the attention of the proprietor. He was non-accomodating and extremely rude. When he arrived at our room to inspect the insects, he pulled a sealed bag of food from our dresser, shook it in our faces, accusing us of causing the problem (whoever heard of NOT being able to eat food in a hotel room?) and basically walked out. We tried to end our stay and move into a non-infested, quieter hotel, but he told us we would be charged for the full week regardless. When we returned to our room later in the day, the room reeked of insecticide and was littered with the bodies of dead ants (see picture). Upon checking out after a horrible week, and closely examining the bill we found the proprietor had overcharged us by 150 EUROs. Upon our return home, we contacted American Express and disputed the charge; it was rightfully found in our favor and we were re-imbursed the overcharge. Our Italian vacation was marred by the rudeness of the proprietor, his deceptive billing practices and the substandard accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilimanjaro98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Family run hotel in excellent location - very clean and breakfast is probably the best in Riva. Bathrooms are very cramped but can put up with for a week or two. The Verdi had a reputation for good meals but have to say the evening meals have gone downhill over last 3 years, not just British complaining but Italians and French too. We've always found the staff friendly and on the ball. The Proprietors may not be fluent in English but are very obliging if you have a genuine complaint. We recommended the Verdi to friends, they came back a few weeks ago and told us the evening meals were dreadful. We will go back but on a B & B basis until a new chef is employed in the Verdi. If a reader finds the evening meals have improved, please let me know.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adaswampduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We chose this hotel because it was the only one we could find in Riva that could accomodate my disability.

The bedroom was quite small, just enough space to move around in with my wheeled walking frame, but the large bathroom with special equipment was excellent. (Other visitors were quite jealous, complaining that their bathrooms were miniscule.) The only thing missing was a proper stand-up shower, so my wife had to shower, sitting on the bath seat, as well.

The hotel is clean and situated in the shopping area, just 5 minutes walk from the lake-side. A lot of road works in place at present, converting roads and the town centre into pedestrian areas, but this doesn't spoil the enjoyment as most of the work (laying the brick surfaces) is being done by hand. Looking at the amount of work that was completed while we were in Riva, the work will probably be completed very soon.

Snacks, drinks and lunches can be more expensive in the hotel, but there are plenty of alternatives in the near vicinity.

On the whole, an enjoyable week and we plan to return later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheelieGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

This hotel is a very nice choice when staying in Riva del Garda. The Managers / staff were very warm and welcoming. It's in a great location, only a minute's walk from the main square and the lake, and they have a lovely restaurant right on the park (Giardini Verdi), where you can start your day with a delicious breakfast sitting in the sunshine. Because all the floors in the hotel are parquet, you can hear a bit of noise from the corridors & adjoining rooms, but pack some earplugs and problem solved. If you're bringing a car, be sure to reserve a spot in the hotel's private car park before your arrival. It will cost 13 Euro a day, but well worth it when Lake Garda is teeming with tourists and car spaces are hard to find.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Have just come back from Riva after spending a week in the Hotel Giardino Verdi. I could not fault the hotel at all. It is in a very pleasant spot and easy walking distance to the centre of Riva. The Hotel is very clean and the management and staff are very nice. Every day we had our rooms cleaned and fresh towels supplied.

We did not have a balcony, but that did not matter as there was a roof top garden with sun loungers. We had a family room and there was plenty of room for us. The room was laid out very well, plenty of storage space.

The food was excellent, always a wide variety for Breakfast which always included fresh fruit, ham, cheese, rolls and various cakes. We were half board and the evening meals were never disappointing. Each night there was always a choice of 3 different starters, salad bar and 3 different main meals and numerous puddings to choose from. The weather was very nice when we were there, so had all our meals on the terrace at the front of the hotel.

When we went out on a day trip the hotel provided us with a packed lunch.

I would recommend this hotel and would definitely go back there again.

  • Liked — Everything about the hotel cannot pick out one thing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JMJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Just returned from a week in Riva del Garda staying in Giardino Verdi. The hotel is a well run 3 star and great location. The rooms are small but very clean, a daily maid service. Food was nice and varied. Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Frankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canarino
Canarino
#36 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel Garni
Villa Maria Hotel Garni
#23 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
#42 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura
Antiche Mura
#38 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Alle Porte
Albergo Alle Porte
#9 of 32 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giardino Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino Verdi

Property: Hotel Giardino Verdi
Address: Piazza Giardino Verdi 4, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giardino Verdi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giardino Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Verdi Hotel
Hotel Giardino Verdi Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing