We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Hotel”
Review of Hotel Gardesana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gardesana
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here as part of tour. Hotel was very basic. We were a couple in our early 30's and discovered that we were at least 20 years younger than most of the guests.

Breakfast and dinner in the hotel were part the deal.My partner was on his own for the first night of dinner as I was arriving later. The hotel sat him with two other partons. The next morning when asked for a table of our own we were told it was not possible we had to stay at the table that was allocated to us - even though half the restaurant was empty. After a couple of of this we then asked again could we have a table of our own for dinner again we were refused. We fancied just having our own company rather than having to entertain. We then went out for dinner the last evening as we thought we had been treated pretty badly by the staff.

Also headboards on the bed made it impossible to sit on the bed and read a book as it jutted out half way up your back.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask to see the headboard before you take the room. No air con in the rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cailindeas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Good afternoon and thanks a lot !

Sorry about the problem in the dining room, but as you come part
of an escorted tour, we fixed the tables for 4 people.
If you are coming privately there is a place in a different area for private tables.

Thanks a lot for you stay and anyway hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gardesana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently stayed here with the Travel Department. The hotel may not be as fancy as some would like but it is very clean and the staff are excellent.

The room was small but comfortable with free wi fi and a balcony. The bed linen and towels were changed daily.

The food choices consisted of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts and all meals were very very good. My advice would be to go for the traditional Italian meals as they were really tasty.

Location is good, directly across from the lake and only a 15 minute walk into the centre of Riva. This walk is very beautiful.

Hotel staff were brilliant, very friendly and knowledgable.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it is good value for money, food is good, location is great and staff are excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Good afternoon and thanks a lot !

Appreciate all your review and we really do always
our best for everyone !

Thanks a lot and see you in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

ecently retuned from a weeks stay at this hotel, travelling with The Travel Deparment. Arriving late in the evening, the staff had waited on to provide us with an evening meal. The rooms are small however, they are very clean, with sheets and towels being renewed regularly. I was a bit scared that I would not like the food, but I can honestly say every meal was fantastic. We were given a menu evey morning at breakfast, where we selected from a choice of three starters, three main dishes and three deserts. Breakfast is continental, no problem there, as there is sufficient to select from. The staff at the hotel are really friendly. The walk into Riva along the Lake Shore is wonderful, and Riva itself is a beautiful town. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Did not visit any other room, we stayed in Room 120, twin beds, small but sufficient, had a nice lit...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Good evening and thanks !

Wonderful to read that you are happy with us at all !
We give italian food menu and always improve our quality,
this year we didn't receive a negative for restaurant quality
and all our staff ! Very good and we can see it from all reviews !

Thanks again and don't forget to return very soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

For the price I cannot fault this hotel! cosy room, great shower, TV & Free WiFi (In your room), single bed was a little small, but not uncomfortable. Staff were very helpful and even printed me off an assortment of maps and bus timetables for the area. Would definitely stay here again ~ recommended!

Room Tip: Single room's bed a little small if your on the larger side, would go for a double in that case!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Good evening and thanks a lot for the review !

Really nice to read that you appreciate our services
and that you will definetely come back with us !
I am sure you will also reccomend our hotel with friends :)

Thanks again and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

across the road from the lake. fab pool & gardens. great friendly staff.no air con but i got a fan.food was ok but that was because some guests complained & wanted "english food" well hello if you want that..stay at home!!!!...overall it was great & the Travel Dept are fantastic to travel with. so professional.I will be back to riva del garde next year with the travel dept.I was a "solo" traveller & they couldnt do enough for me.

Eimear

Room Tip: rooms are just to sleep in for your holiday..not to live in!!!! my single room was enough for me!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EimearC504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Good afternoon and thanks a lot !

Happy yo see that you liked your stay and the holiday overall !

We do our best for the food and everyone is happy, but of course we cannot
make foos of another country in Italy :-)

Hope to see you again
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just returned after spending a week in this hotel, the staff are extremely friendly. Although we had a late check in, and to late for dinner we were given a packed lunch next day. Maid service daily with clean towels Pool area very relaxing . Great location as it is just across the road from the lake. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and hope to stay here again, when I return to Riva Del Garda.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Good afternoon and thanks a lot !

Waiting you and friends next time in Riva in our Hotel !

Have a nice day !
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a good 3 star - better than many 4 star. Comfortable and clean. Very helpful staff. Food very good and again helpful staff in dining room. Rooms are adequate. Ours had a nice mountain view and small balcony. Nice location, about 20 min walk from centre,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2frank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Good afternoon and thanks a lot for your review !

We always do our best to make happy our Guest .-)
Hope to see you in the future !

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brione
Hotel Brione
#35 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
208 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabry
Hotel Gabry
#25 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LakeFront Hotel Mirage
LakeFront Hotel Mirage
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica
Hotel Villa Enrica
#21 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Prince
Hotel Garni Prince
#45 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardesana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardesana

Address: Via Monte Brione 1, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $77 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardesana 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gardesana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardesana Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing