We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Italian experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have just returned from a magical week in Riva Del Garda and in particular at the Hotel Garda.

My husband, 9 year old daughter and myself stayed at Hotel Garda on a half board basis, however there was free lunch, afternoon tea and drinks with dinner, so we hardly ever ate anywhere else. The food was amazing, even my 9 year old thorough enjoyed the meals.

The staff at the hotel were very attentive and we did not want for anything. The hotel was a great base for our holiday - with the lake only 2 minutes on foot and a lesiurely 20 minute walk into the centre of Riva.

Riva is a fantastic place to stay and we would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Garda and will hopefully return next year.

Thanks to everyone at Hotel Garda for making our stay wonderful and help celebrate my husband's 40th birthday.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view - the view is out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dawn1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 720 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at hotel Garda. Staff were very friendly, always there to help with anything to make the holiday extra special. Food was amazing. Great location only short walk to lakeside and gorgeous walk alobg to Riva itself. Lots to do, hop on and off the ferry to different resorts. Limone was recommended to us by the gorgeous lady at reception, so glad we got to this gem of a place so pretty and romantic. The hotel staff could not do enough for us they let my partner take champagne glasses and gave him some ideas on romantic locations for him to spring a surprise proposal onto me...and of course I said YES!!!!! The staff were so fussy over our engagement we were upgraded to the penthouse room that had just been finished and WOW this room is amazing. We were sent a bottle of champagne and fruit bowl to enjoy in our upgraded room. The bar man even bought us a glass each of prosecco.
It is one of the most stunning places I have ever been. If your reading this then your considering it...please go, you wont be disappointed. We can't wait to go back and have even considered returning for our wedding. Enjoy!!!!!!!!! :) :) :)

Room Tip: Top floor penthouse room if you want the WOW factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank becky n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Riva is an utterly fantatsic resort town on the Northern shores of Lake Garda. I'd go back there in a heartbeat.

This was our 3rd holiday in 3 years to Lake Garda, having stopped in Riva in 2010 and Barolino in 2011.

In 2010 we had stopped in the Tonelli owned Savoy Palace, which like the Hotel Garda is rated as 4 star. As we wanted to holiday in Riva once more, the ownership and star rating of the hotel influenced our booking, as did the slightly cheaper price of the Hotel Garda over the Savoy Palace.

I do feel though that on reflection there is a big gap between the lower end of the 4 star scale (Hotel Garda - HG) and the middle/high end (Savoy Palace - SP).

Whilst there was nothing massively wrong with the HG it was still disappointing in comparison to the SP. I don't think it's unfair to compare the two when they feature the same star rating and are under the same ownership.

The pool is located behind private hedgerows on the main driveway into the hotel. There are loungers around the pool and a seated terrace area at the front of the hotel but nowhere away from the pool edge for sunbathing (as there had been at the SP). The pool was clean but had no quirky extras (jacuzzi pool at the SP).

The room we were allocated faced the North and West (overlooking the Hotel La Perla) on the 2nd floor and was tiny, especially the bathroom. Without going into too much detail it was legs under the sink and a hairdryer on your shoulder when sitting on the throne. No bath, only a shower - which isn't a fault, but worth mentioning. The bedroom itself was again fairly small but suitable for a week away. As with most hotels in Northern Italy the double bed was two singles pushed together. A small TV had BBC world news and several German channels. The balcony was small, but got some sun late afternoon.

The hotel whilst clean is a bit of a mismatch bewteen old and new. Some areas are dated whilst others appear modern.

The bar was nicely laid out, very nice communal area. The restaurant seemed to be missing the buzz of that of the SP. The selection of evening meal 1st course buffet was not as wide as we had experienced at the SP 2 years earler. Some of the food was delicious (seabass) and some of it was poor (pike). There was alot of fish on offer and some of the course options seemed to be a bit lazy (omlette). Breakfasts were buffet style, again not as much choice as the SP. Buffet lunches and tea/cakes were served daily but we were out when they were available so can't comment. All told I was a little bit underwhelmed with the food. You do get 500ml of water and 500ml of wine per couple with the vening meal which is a nice touch.

English and German newspapers were available in the bar daily.

Cycle hire is available for free for 4 hours daily. Advised to get in early. We cycled to Arco and Torbole, had a swim and lunch, before returning comfortably within that time one day.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful.

The hotel is within a few minutes walk of the lake and 15-20 minutes to Riva town centre. We used the lake more often than the pool. There are several places along the front offering kayak hire and other boats are available. Worth it, but can be hard work when the wind picks up!

I genuinely think what has let the Hotel garda down is the brilliant experience we had at the Savoy Palace. Although that said, with the further depths of the recession, the SP of 2012 may well be serving the same selections and choices as the Hotel Garda. Still, a 3/5 rating from me is certainly not a bad review - and the holiday as a whole was nearing a 5/5! Must remember though that the review is for the hotel, not the holiday.....

Away from the hotel, the Co-Op supermarket is only a few minutes walk on the same side of the road. The Spar mini-market has closed since our last visit. there is a fantastic ice cream bar over the road (Flora). There are pizzerias everywhere all starting at ~€7 for a pizza, and ~€2 for water, very good value. Huts on the lakeside sell snacks/burgers for under €5. Day ticket for the boat for the northern end of the lake is just over €20 each, which is very reasonable and allows for a nice day out.

All in all, I'd recommend Riva to anyone, but I'd try and stretch the budget a bit further next time. We're possibly looking at even going just B&B next time due to the amount of quality dining available in the area. Cheers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramon_Marx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've just had one of our best holidays ever at the hotel Garda. We arrived weary, chilled for 11 days and left refreshed.

All the staff were professional, friendly and efficient, and some were really funny. Nothing was too much trouble and the waiting staff spoke several languages very well.

Our rooms were immaculately clean. We had an oldish bathroom suite but it too was kept very clean and the water pressure in the shower was good. The communal areas were also spotless and comfortable. The pool was great and we used the terrace alot. We felt very at home and relaxed.

The food was fabulous. We ate far more both in quantity and variety than at home. It was beautifully presented and graciously served. Some nights were Gala nights with live background music, apertifs and canapes and special menus. On other evenings ice cream cake was served in the bar after dinner (for those who could manage it after 4 courses). Family quirks like having a teenager who hates cheese were not a problem. If a dish could be made without cheese, it was. If not, an alternative was offered. It was no problem being a vegetarian either.


Breakfast and dinner were so good that we didn't need to go out for lunch, though we did manage to visit the excellent ice cream shop over the road most days and sample some of the sundaes. Quite alot of them actually.

Riva is an atmospheric town that didn't feel packed. It is a very popular resort so, certainly in July, you won't get a retreat, but you will be welcomed warmly. There was a huge array of cafes, restaurants and bars (that we didn't need thanks to Hotel Garda) and the shops looked good. There were alot of opportunities for cycling and water sports, lots of playgrounds, nice walks and plenty of places in town and nearby to visit. The mountains and lake are picturesque. We saw people of all ages, in groups of all shapes and sizes in Riva.

I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hezza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed full board at the Hotel Garda this July and it was brilliant. The hotel and rooms are immaculately clean and kept that way. The food was of a very high standard with a very wide choice of menu. Buffet breakfast was followed by a simple but delicious lunch. A very civilised afternoon tea of coffee and cake was followed by a four couse dinner with the guest having made their selection from the menu at breakfast. All of the staff from cleaners to receptionists were all very friendly and could not do enough for the guests. Despite the fact that our room faced a very busy main road there was no traffic noise at all. Great hotel situated 5 minutes walk to the lake and 20 minutes stroll to the center of Riva. And the hotel is opposite the best ice cream parlour in Riva. What more do you need!! Highly recommended. One of the best hotels we have stayed in and we might well be back next year.

Room Tip: Go high (5th floor) and at the front of the hotel for amazing views over Lake Garda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1956AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed on half-board basis at Hotel Garda in Riva from 16-23rd June. On arrival the staff were friendly and our room was sparkling clean, with a balcony looking over the mountains. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and the evening meals were delicious. During our previous visit to another hotel in Riva, we had a buffet evening meal and were worried about whether the a la carte choices would be as good. However, the food was very well presented an absolutely delicious, and there was plenty of choice. A buffet salad was always available, and sometimes extra courses were laid on after the meal . We borrowed the cycles on various occasions, these were better than other hotel bikes we had used before and were free to hire out. The only slight problem we had on arrival is that the air conditioning needed tweaking - it had been cool weather before we arrived in Italy and had suddenly got very hot (33 degrees C) and the airconditioning needed turning up centrally. This was organised without any problems, and it pays you to ask the staff at reception as the room control are not the ones that have much effect. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends, family and anyone who may read this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesley55000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I recently wrote a review of Hotel Garda, Riva del Garda, Italy which you have published. I entitled it GREAT HOLIDAY. However, you mistakenly published it as FEELING HOTEL LUISE, RIVA DEL GARDA. Please correct this. The text of the review is correct, but you have catalogued it wrongly.
Signed
Molamh

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank molamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels

Address: Viale Rovereto 71, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $179 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Riva Del
Hotel Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing