We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive food inedible, the worst I have ever experienced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All inclusive food inedible, the worst I have ever experienced.”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I travelled with my mother and a freind and her mother on a 6 day break to include a visit to the opera at Verona and evening meals for 4 nights. The twin room was fantastic with veiws onto the lake and the square below. Unfortunately my friend had booked single rooms which were dark and at the back with no view. They had paid an extra £140 each for theses rooms. The meals included in the price were literally disgusting and inedible. They had to be ordered the day before and were then served up warm and congealed in the dining room,we were not 'allowed' to eat at the front of the hotel on the terrace. We ended up being told by the staff that we could have an allowance of 6euros each against the A la carte menu and could then eat where and when we wanted. We found the staff to be embarressed by what they were expected to serve and they were extremely pleasant and helpful. The tour company we feel is at fault as the food in this hotel is renowned for being awful and therefore should only be offered on a room only basis.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyWoodland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    157
    100
    44
    39
See reviews for
66
228
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2010

the hotel, was very clean and was always of a very high standard. the view from the hotel room was breathe-taking! although the only disadvantage was, when there was a festival type gathering, i was very loud and it was quite hard to get to sleep. the food at the hotel was lovely, and the manager was a very lovely man. all the staff were very polite and helpful. and spoke pretty good English. Riva was such a beautiful place, and there were very man other stunning towns as well. if you are going to Riva on holiday, i would recommend that you take the water tour around the lake. the shipping dock, is right by the hotel, and there is a huge choice of local restraunts and bars. there was a very lovely pizza-eria called 'The Tower' located in Riva. a beautiful place, beautiful hotel, and overall a beautiful holiday! happy holiday-making.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbeyHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I honestly don't know why people have been moaning about this hotel. It is in an excellent location, the rooms are clean and modern, the staff are friendly, it is an excellent budget accomodation in Riva. OK, the food wasn't fantastic but I wasn't actually expecting fine dining for the money that we paid. It was always hot, the starters every night were delicious actually and more like the size of a main. The waiting staff were very friendly and in particular went out of their way to accomodate my friend who is a vegetarian. The drinks are a little pricey compared to local bars but we just stuck to water and then went out for drinks after dinner. If we didn't like the look of the next days menu we went out-for the price we paid we did not see this as a problem. The rooms were excellently cleaned and tidied every day and a good size. The location of this hotel is super, right on the main square with lake views, just beautiful and full of atmosphere. We slept perfectly every night as the glazing and shutters were so good they cut out all noise and light. In conclusion this is an excellent, budget hotel. If you are looking for luxury then pay more and don't moan when it's not! I have no major complaints about this hotel and have no hesitations recommending it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louweas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Well a slight update - we had a horrible time at this hotel in 2007 however a further stay (don't ask problems with another hotel) was a different experience and thus I want to provide a further review. The hotel has not changed however if you know the food is bad and book B&B you only need to tolerate breakfast. The rooms on the front make for a different holiday experience. The furniture etc is the same but the view makes all the difference and the location is great. Thus would we return?
Yes - but only as room only or B&B
Yes - only if a lake view room was available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whateverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Central location. Decidedly peculiar long, thin room, bearly capable of holding 2 single beds, end-to end. However, efficient (but noisy ) air-con. and unexpected quietness made sleep relatively comfortable.
Breakfast just bearable. Instant coffee disgusting. Evening meal in airless, broiling , inside dining room reserved for hotel guests.........fantastically unpleasant. Food and presentation left much to be desired, but improved markedly after strong complaint. Tap water was "unavailable", so only bottled was served and charged for.
However, handsome waiter was charming and helpful.
Reception largely unmanned, leaving a huge question mark over security of room keys on open display.
Thank God for the rest of Riva which offered a huge array of bars, restaurants, cafes, shops and lakeside attractions to which one could escape.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renatainglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

uk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I have just returned from Hotel Centrale. I was very apprehensive before I left after reading some reviews.
However, I was pleasantly surprised. My room which was a single was much bigger than the one I expected. It was very clean and I had no complaints whatsoever.
Breakfast was boring the same everyday, some fresh fruit would have been very welcomed ..
Evening meals were like school dinners you chose the day before so you knew what you were in for in that night !! Again ok if you made a good choice the portions were a good size.
Waiters and bar staff were very churlish, receptionists were ok.
The location was FABULOUS .
I would possibly stay again but not in JULY as it was 40+ the atmosphere in Riva was great and it is really a fabulous part of Italy.
Basically you pay for what you get and it is a 3 star hotel
Full marks to the cleaners who kept my room in tip-top shape.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppet1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Hotel very central ,great viewes over lake ,clean and comfortable , freindily staff food ok for money paid ,took great trips to Venice and opera.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARRYLOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#19 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canarino
Canarino
#36 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda

Property: Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Address: Piazza Tre Novembre 27, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda Nago, Italy
Centrale Riva Del Garda
Hotel Centrale Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing