We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY WITH A DIFFERENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went at the being of October, never been to ITALY before, There were 4 of us (two couples)
The journey was very long 3 hrs to get there, but what a beautiful place, hotel on the front, very old but lovely. Hotel itself was very nice and clean, staff very helpful and friendly, reading the other
reviews we do not have much to say, as they had all said it all. The only one which were not happy was the trip to Venice , we paid
for the lunch, which was good. also on the gondola which was very nice, and a trip around the islands by boat, which was the last trip of the day, which was ok, but inbetween we stayed with Ambrish and was not inpressed of the tour he gave, we would have been better to go on out own, we did not have time in the end to go around the CATHEDRIAL, or any where else.
But other why we had a good time. The other thing which was different was the bells every 15 min through the day,. stopped about 11.00 pm to start again about 6.00 am but with your windows shut it was not so bad.

Room Tip: We had a back room on the side street, which was not to bad, only early in the morning we had peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 627sarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 451 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the hotel as part of a holiday booked through Italian Getaways.

We paid for a twin room overlooking the piazza and the lake. This was spacious and contained 1 double and 2 single beds.

This hotel is very clean, and the staff are warm and friendly. The pasta and pizza in the restaurant were very good.

I would recommend this hotel which is well positioned in Riva, for anyone wanting excellent quality for a 3 star price.

Room Tip: Remember there would be some sound from the Piazza but this did not spoil our stay in October.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

So, whenever I write these reviews I think to myself would I stay here again and the answer is a resounding YES. Would I use Italian Getaways again and the answer is another resounding YES.

The hotel, our room was up on the fourth floor over looking the piazza and a great view of the lake. It was clean and had everything you want for a holiday. Not sure about a room on the lower floors as you might get too much noise from the piazza, but that just means you will have to sit outside for longer!
Food, breakfast was a typical continental breakfast with plenty of choice. We went half board, the meal on the first night was not very impressive, but after that you had two choices of starter and main course every night, with salad and desert . Did not have a bad meal after that.

All the staff were very friendly.

The holiday was made by the tour guide Ambrish, his knowledge and enthusiasm was fantastic.

He recommended a small bar called the PIcaddily up an alley at the back of the hotel, worth a visit, it is run by two sisters who are very friendly and it has a good atmosphere.

We normally arrange our own trips but this time we went on all the organised tours, the lake, Bolzano to see the ice man! Venice and Verona. they were all enjoyable although it made for a busy four days. We also caught the bus round to Mecasine and took the cable car up the mountain and had a wander around the town.

All in all, a great week.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank windy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've just returned from a fantastic holiday with Italian Getaways staying at Hotel Centrale in Riva del Garda. Accompanied by my daughter, we'd booked a twin room, paying a well-spent extra for a room at the front of the hotel. This turned out to be on the 4th floor with 2 double door windows opening onto a shallow balcony with a great view over the piazza and waterfront. The room was very clean and well decorated with a very decent sized bathroom with shower & bidet. There was a television where it was possible to access BBC World News or NBC, otherwise it would be wise to speak Italian if you wanted to watch any other programmes - not that this was an issue as there had been plenty to keep us otherwise occupied.

We found that all the staff at the hotel were friendly and polite, smiled and wished us a Bon Giorno or spoke in English when we needed. There was a huge and unlimited choice for the self-service buffet breakfast and we were able to choose our next evenings courses from 2 options for the following evening of the 4 course meal. This consisted of a buffet salad, a roll and a choice of soup or pasta dish, followed by a choice of main course and then a dessert. On one evening, there being no suitable choice for my daughter who is a vegetarian, the chef kindly made up a fresh pizza for her. The quality of the food is fairly basic but for the price we were paying Italian Getaways and together with the rest of the holiday, it was excellent value; we wouldn't have expected gourmet.

I must say now about our tour guide Ambrish, who had met us at the airport and efficiently guided us through the rest of the holiday. How does that man unflaggingly maintain his energy, enthusiasm and good humour? He was an ever-flowing fount of unlimited knowledge making all the trips interesting and informative with his local and historical knowledge. We very much enjoyed the included tours to Venice and Verona and also decided, for extra payment, to add on an additional boat and coach trip of Lake Garda stopping off at several towns on the lake and a boat trip near the south of the lake from the Gardone Riviera to Sirmione. It made me realise we'd hit he jackpot when deciding to stay at Riva del Garda which I much preferred. I felt it was the most attractive with opportunities to look around the town, walk along the waterfront, visit the museum or the market on Wednesdays. Another optional trip was on offer to Balzano and Renon in the mountains and those who went reported how they'd enjoyed a cable car and railway trip. Others used the local buses to visit the lake town of Malcesine for the cable car trip up Monte Baldo or ventured further inland to Arco. There is plenty to do to fill the week or just to potter in Riva del Garda, enjoying a huge ice cream and people watching.

Although it had been over a 2 and 1/2 hour journey from and to Milan airport, this was more than made up for with the stay at Riva del Garda and the holiday with Italian getaways was well organised and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We've recently returned from a week's holiday at the Hotel Centrale at Riva Del Garda which is a traditional building overlooking the piazza and lake at the front. We chose to have a room at the back which overlooked a little cobbled street. Our room was extremely clean and spacious and we slept very well. The food was tasty and plentiful and the staff were very pleasant. It was my husband's 60th birthday and after a lovely trip to Venice, we returned to the hotel for our evening meal and was presented with a chilled bottle of fizz at our table. This was a lovely surprise for both of us. The whole holiday was a lovely experience, made all the more entertaining by our Tour Guide, Ambrish Ullal. This man was very funny, very knowledgeable and very caring towards everyone and in particular towards the more frailer guests on the trips. We both felt completely safe on the trips and in the local town where we were staying. Riva was quite charming and there was plenty to keep us occupied on the days we didn't go on a trip. All in all, a great week away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our week in lake garda was booked with holiday/Italian getaways. We arrived at the hotel having been met off the flybe flight into Milan airport by our future guide Ambrish and found it to be a large traditional building overlooking the harbour. The very friendly reception staff quickly had our large part booked in and we were soon on our way to our allocated room, the room was smallish but had alongside double bed, a lovely large bathroom with a nice shower, wc, bidet, window and big sink. Had I known I would have upgraded to the next sized room facing the harbour although we did get to enjoy the quiet square we overlooked. The meals that came with the room were good and on our last evening meal we did upgrade to the Al la carte menu, sadly the difference in standard was minimal. The reception, serving and cleaning/room staff were lovely and all smiled when you passed by wishing us a lovely day. The tours that were part of the holiday to Verona and Venice were fantastic mainly due to Ambrish our guide, although from India his knowledge of all things Italian from before Christ to the present was outstanding, we could not believe the amount of credible information that was being passed on to us. A very talented and able man that made our holiday all the more enjoyable.thank you Italian getaways for this wonderful hotel central experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Finding the entrance might be hard: navigation systems may misinterpret because you have to cross a square which seems to be closed for vehicles but is open for suppliers/local traffic. Dinner is served in front of the hotel with a rebate for guests, but certainly look elsewhere. Breakfast is mediocre (drink coffee or juice outdoors!), rooms satisfy but are noisy. Parking is nearby (takes a 10 minute walk) for which you get a card at the desk (+ € 10).

Room Tip: You have a very nice view when your room is at the front (the square).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mifesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riva
Grand Hotel Riva
#51 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda

Address: Piazza Tre Novembre 27, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $101 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Riva Del Garda
Centrale Riva Del Garda
Hotel Centrale Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing