We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian lakeside accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our first visit to an Italian Lake resort, and it won't be our last! The resort is lively (we visited in August so a busy season) and well laid out around the northern shores of Lake Garda. Lots of facilities for all the family. Our hotel was right by the lake and a popular venue for gathering and eating. Our double room was clean and quite spacious with usual features, including en-suite bathroom, adn also a lake view, being at the front of the hotel. The Board arrangement is very flexible, with Breakfast and an evening meal served in a rather basic dining room. Guests on half board may eat outside on the pavement restaurant and receive an allowance towards the cost of the meal. Good and friendly this hotel has only one drawback in that their is very little communal seating area and no garden area to sit out in. Plenty of seats on the pavement area but these are for diners really.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have view and are a little larger. try to avoid room 101, 201,301 as they are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 452 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I were in the UK from Cape Town to visit my elderly mother whilst my sister had a well deserved holiday. We decided to try and get in a weeks holiday somewhere and noticed the advertisement in the paper and booked through Italian Getaways just a few days before departure and wasn't sure what to expect but what a lovely surprise all round, and for such a good deal too! We were met by our guide Ambrish Ullal from Italian Getaways and couldn't have wished for anyone more caring, knowledgeable and fun throughout the whole week. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Riva del Garda is really a beautiful place and Hotel Centrale where we stayed a great hotel, thankgoodness we took the advice of the booking agent and upgraded to a room with a Lake view it was truly beautiful in the early morning and at dusk. At night the square in front of the hotel came alive with musicians and singer's and it had a brilliant vibe. Local families arrived on bicycles to eat late at night and it was wonderful to be part of the whole Italian atmosphere.

We went on the 2 free trips offered to Verona and Venice as well as joined the trips round the whole of Lake Garda but my personal favourite was the trip to the Dolomites in the Italian Alps it was a stunning experience with magnificient views and one I won't forget. All the trips out were worthwhile and i got my wish to ride in a gondola.

A week was just not enough and we will definately try to return someday. We would definately recommend this package to anyone.

Kind regards

Jack & Janet Lewis

Room Tip: A lake side room is a must it's a view not to be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having read some reviews on trip advisor about this hotel, we went with a small reservation as to whether it would be okay. We were delightfully surprised and found the hotel a very friendly, clean hotel. The staff were lovely and could not be more helpful. We opted to take dinner in the outer restuarant and were allocated 10euros per person towards the a la carte menu which was varied and the food was very tasty. The hotel was perfectly situated in a busy square but with no vehicles, and close the the lake boats. I would totally recommend this hotel to future holiday planners

Room Tip: We had a Front facing view with a small balcony on the top floor, absolutely worth the small extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julielynn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Booked this holiday through Italian Getaways September 18th to 25th 2013.
Travelled with my wife,sister in law and brother who needs a wheelchair from Southampton to Verona on a Flybe flight.
The hotel Centrale is positioned in the main square overlooking the lake and the docking area for the ferrys. we had rooms with beautiful lake and mountain views.
The hotel provided very good breakfasts with plenty of choice. the included evening dinners were good and adequate. The rooms were kept spotless and large with adouble and a single bed,the towels and bed linen changed daily
The ferrys for trips to Limone and Malcesine were afive minute stroll away.
The travel company used by Italian Getaways was Italian Travel Company..We did a lake tour and atour into the Dolomites escorted by their excellent guide Ambrish Ullal, an exceptional man. We didn't go on the included tours of Venice and Verona as we had been before .
Riva is magical at night with music in the square which stops at 11pm. The surrounding area is flat and easy to get around.
we are looking to return again next year

Room Tip: Get aroom on the front of the hotel. It is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foursigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I took my wife for a surprise wedding anniversary holiday ,and have to say it was one of the best breaks we have had for many years.Everything was as good or better than expected,with the exception of the " FREE TRIPS".Our thanks to the staff especially the head waiter TO TO .We booked a lake view room ,which is a must and upgraded from the inclusive menu to al a carte ,well worth the extra 4/5 euros,the best fillet steak outside of usa .A wonderfully diverse location going from quiet to vibrant especially in the square at night.No noise after 11 ish and no crime ,what a change.The down side to be aware of was the size of the tour parties as averaged over 80 people, the information given by the guide was in accurate and misleading the food on the trips was terrible,our advise if doing Venice ,go on the very short gondolar ride and ditch the rest ,do your own thing you will see more and enjoy it better .May i also thank our local travel agents Island Getaways for there professionalism.

Room Tip: pay for a lake view .worth every penny every time you open the doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We returned for the second time after a break of 12 years, things had changed for the better. Comfortable room overlooking the square and lake, a breakfast to last through the day and excellent food in the hotel's restaurent with the added attraction of entertainers in the square.

Room Tip: Try for rooms with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyabe week at The Centrale Hotel - got back 11 September 2013. Flew Southampton - Verona . Only a 90min transfer. Hotel great value for the price.Room was kept spotlessly clean and good size (for 3*) No fridge though. A1 position.
Resort is kept very clean- no litter ! and great traffic free prom. for walking/cycling. A few tips for those who may be interested :
Lake view rooms worth the upgrade. Rooms with higher numbers(205,206,207etc) best views but even ours - 202 had good view over harbour and square below. Not many actual balconies at hotel but we did not miss this as drank / eat out in square most nights.
Used the 10Euros pppn. discount and eat a la carte outside . Good fresh fish & steaks 15 euros . Pasta about 8 euros. Table de hote menu looked a bit basic, but importantly you have to eat 'in' with that.
Walk up zig-zag easy path to castle - great view !
Bike hire worth it - we paid 9 euro pp for the day.
Try an 'Aperol Spritz' before dinner - Wow !
Had no problem with noise - very quiet - especially after about 11.00.
Market day Wednesday - souveniers etc seemed cheaper than in local shops.

Room Tip: Pay extra for view over square to harbour / lake. We had no problem with noise.(Very quiet - not a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happy_Hacker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riva
Grand Hotel Riva
#51 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda

Address: Piazza Tre Novembre 27, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: $95 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Riva Del Garda
Centrale Riva Del Garda
Hotel Centrale Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing