We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Welcoming and Relaxed Hotel....Well done!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Benacus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Benacus
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and Relaxed Hotel....Well done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Hotel Benacus is a beautful hotel.

As well as working hard the staff and management teams are friendly and welcoming.
A special mention must go to the chef ...tasty food in keeping with Italian tradition and best of all not all pizzas and pasta!
The swimming pool is set on the hillside overlooking Riva, as is the "balcony" at the back of the restaurant , both offering stunning veiws of riva and the mountains, in my mind the best way to see Riva!
The path up to the hotel is not steep but fairly demanding in the hot sun. The hotel provide a mini bus early mornings and pick up at 5.30 at the bottom of the hill, and would be better if they could extend the service to evenings also.
Rooms were lovely and clean - no gripes here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDIE25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    43
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
104
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

The manager of the hotel was very helpful - he spoke three languages and could not do enough to help us. The views from the terrace were spectacular. The food was good - although we only had breakfast. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms which was very nice. The view from our room was of the lake which was amazing.

The whole holiday was very very good because of the manager and his staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Very friendly and laid back hotel so it is a great place to relax and unwind. My room was on the first floor above the main reception so was noisy at night as the automatic doors were constantly opening and closing and you could hear footsteps on the tiled floor in reception. The noise ceased around 11.00pm-11.30pm as the hotel closes at midnight but you do get used to it after a couple of nights. The food is excellent and you always come away from the restaurant/buffet with a full tummy. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone with walking difficulties has the hotel is located on the side of a hill up a steep winding lane but the hotel does offer a twice daily mini bus ride into and from town but beware the mini bus only holds 8 people so you need to make sure you book it in advance. One of the other reviewers is correct in stating the hotel bill needs to be settled by cash only but this could be because I was with a UK tour operator. Definitely would book again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

If you are fortunate to have a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony, this probably offsets the disadvantage of the hotel's location which is a long walk from Riva and partially up a steep hill (you could walk up steps - around 111 of them!). We had a room at the back with no view, no balcony and a sloping ceiling on which we kept banging our heads, making a third of the room unusable. On the positive side, the room was clean, the food was very good, and the dining room staff pleasant and friendly. One final disadvantage was that the management would only accept cash for the week's bar/extras bill (over 100 euros), rather than a credit card. This was a little awkward.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cornavius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The hotel is too far from the resort, and the manager is the most arrogant person I have ever met. He wouldn't accept cards for bar bills, only cash, as we were with Travelsphere. The room brochure said they accepted all kinds of cards, but he was having none of it. As a captive guest, the hotel being so far from the resort, we felt badly let down.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mooch82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitesti
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

I was disappointment because Riva del Garda is a very nice place but the employees from Benacus Hotel are very impolite. Also the rooms are very very small, they don't have refrigerator or balcony. The bathroom doesn't have any ventilation system. During the night was very noisy because of a disco. The swimming pool is small and is open only from 10.00-12.00 am and 14.00-16.00 pm. And one more think, Riva del Garda is a very beautiful place during day but full of bats during night.

  • Liked — The view of Garda Lake
  • Disliked — The staff.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Riva del Garda is at the north of the lake and is a larger town. The views from the hotel were very nice and it was situated in a quiet area away from the centre (20-30 minutes walk), on the side of a hill.

The staff were friendly. We had a good sized clean room with a balcony and there was a pool. The room decor was a little dated but there was air conditioning,

Parking was available and continental breakfast was offered each morning; which was nice.

The one problem we had with this hotel was that our room was under the restaurant area. The ceilings were thin and sometimes at night, and always early morning, there was a lot of noise from people moving tables and chairs.

Rooms affected: 208 - 211 and 214 - 216 (2nd floor rooms with lake view).

We would go back this hotel again as we did enjoy our stay however we would request a room away from the restaurant area.

  • Liked — Views of Riva del Garda and the lake
  • Disliked — Noise from restaurant above the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2008England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gabry
Hotel Gabry
#27 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica
Hotel Villa Enrica
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Miravalle
Hotel Villa Miravalle
#22 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#44 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benacus

Property: Hotel Benacus
Address: Via Monte Brione 19, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#18 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benacus 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Benacus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benacus Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Benacus Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing