We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place!”
Review of Hotel Luise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luise
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Kortrijk, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special place!”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

For the third consecutive year, we booked our summer holidays at Feeling Hotel Luise and - again - enjoyed every moment of it.

There are many things that make this hotel a very special place.

First of all, the quality is impeccable in every aspect. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, stylish, comfortable and clean. The food is absolutely superb: the evening meals were buffet style (excellent and with a great variety) and breakfast is self service with plenty of choice (e.g. delicious fresh fruit salad, pancakes on Sunday morning, …). Guests can borrow bikes (free of charge), and mountainbikers can join guided tours organised by the local mountainbike club via the hotel (again, free of charge for most of the tours).

This high quality standard reveals itself in many other elements and details!

Unlike in many other hotels with such quality standards, children are more than welcome. They can play in the swimming pool or in the garden (with e.g. table-tennis table, swing, table football…) but there is also the miniclub (ideal for the younger children), and there is a cupboard filled with party games. No wonder there are always lots of children and they all make lots of friends. Also, the hotel staff is extremely nice to the children. You really feel that they are welcome, and that makes it all the more agreeable for the parents as well!

More important than an enumeration of qualities however, is something more indefinable. At Feeling Hotel Luise, you really are a guest, and hotel management is constantly looking for ways in which it can make its guests feel even more "at home". This warm and personal approach explains why many people return there year after year. We look forward to our next stay at Feeling Hotel Luise and hope to meet again with many old friends!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dopodomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    161
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
131
307
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Luise from 18th-29th September and had a fabulous time. The hotel was lovely, clean and modern and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

The food was very nice, breakfast was self service with plenty of choice of cold food i.e. several different types of bread, fruit, cereal etc and could only be improved by giving a bit more choice of hot food. The evening meal was fantastic - as the previous reviewer mentioned, it changed from buffet style to a la carte mid-stay and although I had no complaints with the buffet style, a la carte was so much better! The food was much fresher and very tasty - we didn't have a bad meal the entire stay. And the desserts were fantastic!

We hired the bikes on a couple of occassions and they are a great way of seeing more of lake garda - they cater really well for cyclists over there with plenty of cycle paths.

We would definitely go back to Riva and stay at Hotel Luise in the future - it's a beautiful place and fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeartManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Luise at the end of September 2010. Both me and my partner thought this hotel was amazing. It is close to the centre, a leisurely 10-15 minute stroll down the road. The food was superb every day! As it was towards the end of the season, the breakfast was an amazing buffet and the evening meal was changed from buffet style to silver service. I could not fault the food and the staff were very attentive and very helpful!
Guests can borrow bikes free of charge, which we did two days in a row.
The hotel was so clean which pleased my partner greatly. The room was cleaned and towels laundered every day.
The only points that I would mention is that the hotel is on a busy road. I personally did not find this a problem though some people may if they were in a room on the front of the hotel. Also, chatting to another couple of guests, who's room was at the rear of the hotel, they commented that sometimes their room got slightly cold.
However, i would definitely recommend this hotel if someone were wanting to visit Riva!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_powell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We always check the reviews prior to booking and settled on the Hotel Luise mainly due to the great reviews. I am afraid to say that we were disappointed. This is not a bad hotel by any means and had some excellent points; however we think that for a 4 star hotel that the food is very poor.

The Room

We had a superior room and the view over the hotel pool was nice and the balcony was as big as I have seen. It had two chairs, a table and a recliner and there was still plenty of room. The room itself was a fair size and the bathroom was well equipped with a nice shower The one issue that we did have with the room was that it was so modern that there was very little storage. The flat screen TV in the room was no use as the picture quality was terrible and even if it wasn’t there were no English channels available. The room and bathroom was always spotless and the towels and toiletries changed daily.

The Food

To us this was very poor for a 4 star hotel, the breakfast was a buffet breakfast and was the usual wide selection, however we were very disappointed that the coffee was also self service. Having stayed in Italy for the last 5 years we have never experienced this. This sometimes meant that the coffee was warm at best and after a while you get sick of getting up and down collecting your breakfast then the coffee. We were on HB option and found the evening meal so poor that we ate out most evenings. This again was entirely self service; the starters were a decent selection of cold meats etc and again having this as a self service seems sensible. However the main course was also self service and very ‘canteen’ like. The soup was on the front and in a soup vat, the two pasta dishes were in hot serving hatches as were the two main courses. If you chose an option which was not popular then your dish could have been waiting under the heater since 7 o’clock! I am not sure how this qualifies for a 4 star rating based on the food. We also thought that the food was not very Italian, for example one night they had on Turkey in beer, we feel that the menu was made for the tourist market which is not what we were looking for.

Overall I would say that this is by no means a bad hotel and in fact it has some very good points, it’s just the food that lets it down. The staff are very friendly and speak excellent English so communication is not an issue.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyndlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Standard rooms not very big but kept very clean. Air con brilliant - as cool as you would ever want. Shower only in standard room. Sheets changed every 2nd day towels daily. Front lift very slow and always in use. Rear lift only goes to 3rd floor. Don't expect to get much of a view of lake from front of a hotel though you get great view of the mountains from any room. Always good idea to contact hotel directly if you want any special preferences.
Only ate in hotel one evening and can confirm that all was very good. 25€ per head + drinks.
Buffet breakfasts excellent. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Free wifi a bonus.
Nice pool but as usual dominated by German towels by 8.30am.
This is a family hotel so expect a lot of kids who appear to be well catered for. Nice bar but kids around.
Easy stroll into town in evening for restaurants and shopping. Beach very close at hand too. Beach is great by the way - no sand that gets everywhere and because it's freshwater you don't feel you need to shower off immediately. Would highly recommend this as a holiday destination with plenty to do and see.
Lake Garda, particularly in the north, is German orientated so the 2nd language is usually German. However you will not encounter any loutish behaviour that can be common in some Spanish resorts. It is a good place for sporting activities such as cycling, hiking, sailing, windsurfing, parasailing, parascending

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

After a great deal of research, I settled on this hotel largely due to the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor but it wasn't quite up to the standard I was expecting. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't terrible by any means & it had some definite plus points but it could certainly do better with regard to some aspects.

Positives:
*The room - we opted for a superior room & emailed the hotel prior to arrival requesting a pool-view, which we got. Modern & contemporary with good facilities. The balcony was large with table, 2 chairs & a recliner. Flat screen TV was a waste of time as poor reception on all channels (although only BBC world service in english, so waste of time anyway).
*Cleanliness - the maid took her time over this & it was spotless. Toiletries replaced daily & towels changed every day.
*Location - 10 minute walk from town centre, so away from the noise & general hustle & bustle but close enough to feel part of everything. Definitely recommend asking for pool-view as the road at the front of the hotel is very busy & balconies tiny.

Negatives:
*Food - (completely buffet service) - Starters were good with a wide selection & the food quality was good overall but that's where the posiitives end. The soups (1 every day)were watery & bland. The main course consisted of 1 meat option, 1 fish option, 1 potato option & 1 vegetable. That's it !! Very poor for a 4 star hotel. On a couple of occasions, either the meat or the fish was cooked on a grill outside & took approx 10 minutes to cook .... good job the hotel wasn't full ! Desserts were ok but limited, usually 3 types of cake + 1 ice-cream.
*Restaurant service - items regularly run out & rather than bring out more to replenish them, trays disappear into the kitchen for several minutes, leaving people waiting around for part of their meal or making do with something else. Within a day or so, most people cotton on & ensure they're waiting for the restaurant to open at 7pm in the hope that all food is available. Even then, desserts, pasta & some main course dishes were late arriving.
*Bar service - varied very much depending who was on duty. Also infuriated me when the Head Waiter was serving 1 evening & completely ignored me to serve a gentleman who just arrived at the bar - perhaps he doesn't regard women guests as important !

Finally, a couple of other worthy points to note about Riva itself. A pretty strong wind whips up most days from late morning till late afternoon. This makes the lake very choppy - beware anyone who gets travel sick & intends using the ferries. As a result of the wind, the area is a mecca for windsurfers - literally hundreds every day. It's also a mecca for cyclists, who use pavements, roads, pedestrianised areas - basically, they're everywhere, so you really need to have your wits about you when you're walking around.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Luise for 2 weeks in May 2010, and had the most fantastic holiday. We can't praise the exceptionally efficient, and friendly staff enough - nothing is too much trouble, and they are very keen to make sure you have a tremendous stay.

The quality and cleanliness of rooms was excellent, although a word to the wise - if you opt for a balcony room to sit out in the sun, then request one at the front of the hotel, but be prepared to overlook the main road. If you want peace and views, then definitely opt for a room at the back (which are nicer, and the balconies are much much bigger, and more private).

I've seen a couple of negative comments about the food within some reviews on here, but honestly I could find absolutely no fault with the food at all (coming from a foodie). It's a buffet format of dining, but that just provides so much choice - their salad options are second to none; choice of 2 main courses, plus 2 different pasta dishes; and homemade ice-creams, along with other puds - spoilt for choice. You really ought to take advantage of the amazing cycling, walking, climing, watersports on offer in the area to burn enough calories to be able to enjoy the food options.

We were staying in the north of the Lake to be close to the mountain biking (which was very good, and very varied, for all skill sets), but would recommend the north to anyone, as the mountains make the Lake so much more dramatic, than the flatter southern end of the Lake. But, be sure to visit some of the other little towns around the Lake, as each are quite different, and beautiful in their own way.

We would definitely make a return visit, and absolutely recommend Hotel Luise for a relaxing stay in Riva.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markikki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#9 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luise

Property: Hotel Luise
Address: Viale Rovereto 9, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#3 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#11 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luise 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luise is just 500 meters from Riva Del Garda's historical center and a 3-minute walk from the lake. Built in 1959, and now a modern design hotel, it is inspired by the theme of the journey and by the atmosphere of the '50s and '60s. All rooms are newly renovated, with parquet and modern furniture, air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. The superior rooms have a balcony. The Millelire restaurant serves a superb buffet breakfast, with sweet and savoury, and hot and cold dishes, and is open at night for dinner too. The Hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, Wi-Fi connection in all the rooms and common areas, a private parking place, a children's playground and a kids' club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Luise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feeling Hotel Riva Del Garda
Feeling Luise Hotel
Hotel Luise Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing