We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern hotel yet a bit out of the way”
Review of Hotel Luise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luise
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, modern hotel yet a bit out of the way”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid-June. We had a large room that overlooked the road and a giant parking lot. I think that rooms on the other side would have had a view of the pool, which would have been much nicer. The room itself was very clean and the bathroom had a large walk in shower. The whole hotel was well maintained and had a modern feel. There was even a little library/reading room with some good travel and art books to look at. Wi-Fi was free and worked well and there was a small fridge in the room which was nice for storing your drinks.

The breakfast was excellent, with a large number of choices and it was continuously restocked. There was an omelette station, but I never saw anyone manning it, although I did see a gentleman with an omelette, so I guess it was possible to obtain one if you were willing to wait. You could eat outside by the pool, which was a good feature and the staff bussed the tables very efficiently.

I would say that the only drawback was the location of the hotel, which was on the main road into town. It was a bit of a walk to get into the central part of Riva, but there were lots of restaurants/bars along the way. In fact, there is a little bar serving sandwiches/gelato/ coffee/ right next door. I would recommend this property to anyone traveling to Riva. You won't be in your room much anyway, but if you are, you will be exceedingly comfortable. I noted that some people never seemed to leave the pool area at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    161
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
130
307
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Spent a week there at the end of June. Room was a "superior" on the front looking towards the lake, best view of a very large car park you can get. The room was missing two things that I would expect in a four star hotel. No tissues in the room and no table on the balcony just two chairs. Breakfast was excellent, especially the cooked to order eggs or omelette, spoilt only by people encouraging the marauding sparrows to eat on their tables outside. Bikes were available free of charge but limited by no provision of gears, great for cycling from Riva to Arco via Trebole as it is all on the level, but nowhere else. We were there when Italy beat Germany and the double glazing certainly worked. Would I go back? Yes and with my family and grandchildren this time as it is child friendly providing indoor and outdoor play areas and their own pool.

Room Tip: Despite the car park the rooms on the front are better as they get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent a week in Riva and stayed here. The hotel is very nice, with quite a modern style, and the rooms and other areas are kept very clean and smart. We had a room at the back overlooking the pool, and it was a fair size for a couple, although not masses of storage space. We stayed B&B so I can't comment on dinner, but breakfast was a decent continental affair with a good selection, and there was a chef to make omelettes to order. We also had a snack by the pool one day. There were plenty of chairs, etc and a nice shaded gazebo too, and the pool area was very neat and tidy. The staff were always very pleasant and helpful, especially the lady by the pool bar, and the girl in the bar in the evening (who makes an excellent mojito). The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the centre, which I liked as we could walk to the beach area or town easily, and it made for a relaxing evening stroll to or from dinner. Overall, I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the main road and a car park, so the back is quieter with a nicer vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDarkL0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My gorgeous girlfriend and I recently returned from a wonderful week spent in Riva del Garda. We opted to stay at the Hotel Feeling Luise having read all the positive reviews and I am pleased to say we weren't disappointed. The hotel is modern and clean, the staff were warm and helpful at all times, the room was a decent size with fully working air-conditioning, the breakfast was plentiful and to a good standard, and the swimming pool was always on hand for a nice refreshing dip in the midday sun. It easily lives up to its 4-star rating.

Getting to the hotel was the only tricky part. Having already booked the holiday through easyjet, i soon realised a transfer from Milan to Riva was going to be VERY expensive, so we had to take the public transport option. I will bore you with these details now should you find yourself in the same situation...Upon arrival in Milan Malpensa, you will need to take the Malpensa Shuttle bus to Milan Centrale Train Station (10euros single 12euros return if bought on the plane). You will then need to catch a train to Rovereto (with a change of trains at Verona). Having arrived in Rovereto you will need to catch the bus directly outside the train station which takes you to Riva in about 45mins, it also passes the hotel so make sure you get off a couple of stops before the bus finishes its journey at the Riva autostazione. The bus from Rovereto also isn't that frequent, roughly every 90mins, so plan ahead with regards to what train you take or you might be waiting a while at Rovereto. Other travel options are also available...getting a train from Milan Centrale to Desenzano del Garda, and then catching a boat from Desenzano to Riva (boat trip can take up to 3hours though). You can also get a train from Milan to Peschiera del Garda or Verona, and then get a bus from either of these stations to Riva del Garda, with both bus trips taking up to 2 hours.

Back to the holiday...The hotel is in an ideal location, a mere 10 minute walk from the historic lake-side centre of Riva. On the opposite side of the road from the hotel is a pathway that leads down to a beautiful park that soon leads onto the lake, and offers a more scenic yet slightly longer stroll into the town centre. Riva itself is a beautiful and buzzing little town, helped by the fact that the European Football Championships were playing and Italy kept winning! There are a wide variety of restaurants to choose from, predominantly offering Italian or German food, and im pleased to say i didnt have a bad meal all holiday. Leon d'oro was a particular favourite of ours!

The main square in Riva (Piaza 3rd November) is dominated by the beautiful clock tower which is worth a climb to the top for lovely views out across the lake. For even better views we walked a short way up the mountain to the Bastion. Getting a pedalo out onto the lake and going for a swim is also a must! Other than what Riva has to offer, taking a trip to the lake-side town of Limone makes for a pleasant day trip, and I highly highly recommend taking the short bus journey to Tenno where you can visit the magical waterfalls (Cascata Varone).

Viva Riva!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

excellent hotel - extremely comfortable - staff could not be more helpful- even the food was good!
Rooms were large airy and modern. Shame its opposite a dreary coach car park - but still, would go back again. Only 10 minutes stroll from the centre of Riva

Room Tip: if you can - get one that faces the backof the hotel - towards the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SengaSmykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkää
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent a lovely week in Riva Del Garda and Hotel Luise. The staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good. Also the location is ideal, not in the centre of Riva, but not far from it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tare12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Hi, My children and I were here at the end of May and I was attending a conference. The kids enjoyed the family room very much. It was spacious with internet included and water kettle provided. There is also a working table. Breakfast was splendid. The waiters and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful especially keeping an eye on my kids when I go to work. The hotel is 10 minutes walk to the congress and also to town so it is very convenient. I find that night time is pretty cold in the room but my kids enjoy it.
There was even a time that we felt tremors during breakfast and the waiters went out to check and find out nothing to worry about although there was an earthquake somewhere in Italy.
All I can say, it is worth while to stay in Luise after a long way coming from Malaysia. I will not hesitate to choose this hotel again the if I ever come to Riva Del Garda again.

Nor Azah Ali

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
590 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#9 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luise

Property: Hotel Luise
Address: Viale Rovereto 9, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#3 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#11 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luise 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luise is just 500 meters from Riva Del Garda's historical center and a 3-minute walk from the lake. Built in 1959, and now a modern design hotel, it is inspired by the theme of the journey and by the atmosphere of the '50s and '60s. All rooms are newly renovated, with parquet and modern furniture, air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. The superior rooms have a balcony. The Millelire restaurant serves a superb buffet breakfast, with sweet and savoury, and hot and cold dishes, and is open at night for dinner too. The Hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, Wi-Fi connection in all the rooms and common areas, a private parking place, a children's playground and a kids' club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Luise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feeling Hotel Riva Del Garda
Feeling Luise Hotel
Hotel Luise Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing