We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveler rating
193
154
40
14
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
193
154
40
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riviera travel lake view small pool lakeside room harbour side evening meal nice bathroom summer holiday double glazing dining room sun terrace town square excellent location main square ferry terminal breakfast buffet reception staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 403 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

12 times we have spent 2 weeks in Hotel Europa for a summer holiday. It is in the best location in the true heart of the town. Located on the harbour side, handy for the boat trips down the lake and surrounded by a variety of bars and restaurants and the best Gelateria is right below. All the photos are taken from our balcony.

The hotel staff are without exception, brilliant. Everything is conducted in a professional and friendly manner and they strive to achieve everything asked of them. The breakfast buffet provides a wide array of foods that only the most pernickety could fault. My wife is an awkward eater but she always enjoys breakfast. We don't take the evening meal as we prefer to eat at different restaurants each night. However, reports of the dinners are very favourable. The rooms are regularly serviced to a high standard and we find the air conditioned rooms very comfortable

The sun terrace has plenty of loungers and cabanas for shade. Great views down the lake and up to the mountains. You are very close to all the shops and other attractions. The lake beaches are within a short walk and should you want to cycle the hotel provides bikes.

We drive to RIva Del Garda from UK and have the use of our car so we can go where we want at our own convenience. There is plenty around of interest but you don't need to be driving to appreciate the location. Great driving roads in the surrounding area though, that's why some James Bond scenes were filmed here.

I guess we are slightly biased because we like it here so much ourselves. But we are quite easygoing travellers and like to get on and do our own thing without needing help. But we know that it's there if we want it. There isn't any hard sell of excursions or anything else for that matter.

We booked again for 2018 before leaving and know we will be made welcome on our return and look forward to that.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank ShaunFlutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

The hotel was in a perfect location by the lake within walking distance of restaurants and all amenities. The ferries were 2 minute walk from the hotel. The room we had was great, we had a lake view and could also see the square, small rooms but adequate. Safe, fridge and TV. No kettle though but we managed without one. The sky pool was a welcome relief after some trips in the heat, small but fine. The breakfast was next to none. The evening meal had a good choice. Something for everyone. I don't understand the table allocation thought, didn't that happen in the 1970s?? Paulo was kind enough to accommodate us though (I think the tour operators get first dibs on the tables) Clean, tidy hotel also free WIF, I would definitely recommend.

Room tip: Get a lake view, it has to be the best option
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Limitsexistnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

There are some very good things about this Hotel. It is in a superb position.
The rooms are reasonable but missing some of the niceties of what I expect from a 4 star.
No tea or coffee facilities. Free water only available on first night. No tissues. Basic toiletries. No glasses in the rooms, only thin plastic cups.

The staff were generally very good. The food was hit and miss. Some nights it was excellent, some not so good. In my opinion the veal stew was inedible.
Last night buffet was excellent. They do not know how to cook vegetables.
Wine prices were very reasonable.
The sky pool is about 1 metre deep.
Noisy air conditioning.

Room tip: Didn't get to know but several fellow travellers thought their rooms were small.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Theenglishcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Everyone on the staff was super helpful and friendly. We have a lot of sporty equipment and there's a big, safe bike storage room. Parking was easy and inexpensive. The room itself is comfortable, maybe a bit cramped (fridge is toooo tiny), but to be expected when it overlooks the main plaza and is on the lake. There are lots of food choices and it's thoughtfully prepared. There's a juicer at breakfast with veggies and ginger. Wait staff remembered us and our preferences from the first day (we stayed 4 nights). Only problem was that my bike frame got some nasty scratches from the bike storage locks because the padding didn't stay in place (bike locker #49).

Can't say enough about the staff—they're so nice and chill and accommodating—really makes all the difference.

Room tip: Rooms that face the water are not as quiet but have a great view
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sporty Girl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardahotels_Europa, Manager at Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Sporty Girl, thank you for your top score review! We are very glad to read that you enjoyed everything here during your stay. About the bike locker #49, we fixed it: thanks a lot for your suggestion! We hope to see you soon again at Hotel Europa. Kind regards from Riva, the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

This is not our first trip to Riva Del Garda, but was our first time at Hotel Europa. If I could have given more than 5/5 I would.
We stayed here as part of a European driving tour having driven from Austria. On arrival, parking outside the hotel was full so we had to go into Riva park up and walk. This is my one an only criticism as once we had checked in and parking permit issued, we were able to get the car firstly outside the hotel entrance to unload and then up to the hotel car park. The parking was fine and had a great view of the lake (level 6 of the multi story car park).
We stayed in room 206 which was on the 2nd floor with a lake view. The room was very clean and comfortable with a small fridge, air conditioning and a good size safe. The view from the room window could not have been better. I read one review that criticised the hotels atmosphere/character, but Riva has its own atmosphere. Each night we were entertained by live music and various other performers in the piazza. The exit to the hotel is right next to the excellent "No Name Pub" where we were able to sit and listen/watch performers with one of the many cocktails the bar served. When not sat in the piazza our room gave an excellent view towards the lake and the various goings on. Despite live music right below our window, the room was very quiet.
The hotels restaurant has a balcony where we had our breakfast and evening meal. I cannot think of a better view this gives. The selection at breakfast was awesome with a range of cereals, fresh fruit, meats, cakes, ability to squeeze your own fresh juice to name some. Evening meal was equally good with at least 3 choices for each course (half board option). The staff (Paulo, Patrik and Claudia) were always on hand to take orders and make sure everything was ok with your meal (thank you!!).
We used the skypool a couple of times and yes it is small but is perfect to relax and just cool off again with great views of Lake Garda.
On our final night were given a small questionnaire. One question asked what we didn't like about our stay and my answer was simple: "having to leave" which really sums this place up. Will be returning next time with our mountain bikes as they also have superb secure cctv bike storage.
Thank you Hotel Europa for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ADRIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews