We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lots to like” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Catena,13, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lots to like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful location on the lake with easy access to town highlights. We had a room overlooking the lake which, under normal circumstances would have been lovely. However, after September 15 the ventilation system is off and this makes the room stuffy. When you open the window all the noise from the cafes below comes in and this makes it hard to fall asleep or just have some quiet time. In our room the bed was in dire need of a new mattress but otherwise it was adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. The big plus at this hotel is the much-better-than-expected dining experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the selections from the menu and the selection of antipasti was incredible. The breakfast buffet was also comprehensive. Just remember that if your back needs good sleep support to ask about a room with a firm mattress!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelyn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    93
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
39
143
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having booked our holiday through Riviera Travel we were very pleased that we selected this hotel. Its situation is almost storybook perfect. We booked a lakeside room which gave lovely views over the square and the lake. The life in the square, with its cafes and clock tower, added to the atmosphere but this could easily be shut out by the effectiveness of the double glazing.
The staff were always friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was comfortable and clean. The food was excellent throughout the week. We would happily return to the Europa.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed for a week on half board on a tour with Riviera Travel. Great value and a perfect position overlooking lake Garda. The food quality and choice was superb for a 4* hotel and the staff particularly in the restaurant were excellent. Rooms were good and alway clean and well kept.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Europa Hotel with friends in July. We had a most enjoyable week, booked through Riviera Travel. When booking, all the lake view rooms were already booked, we were disappointed but overall it didn't really matter. Our rooms were a nice size with very comfortable beds, air conditioning and a good bathroom with plenty of towels. I do wish tea/coffee facilities were in the room, even if there had been a small charge for this.
The breakfasts were very nice and a table in the balcony room looking at the beautiful view of the lake was fantastic. When I think of this image, it really does make me smile, I wish I could have bottled it and brought it home with me.
We had a very nice table in the restaurant for evening meals. Most of the dining staff were polite and helpful, especially a waitress called Clare. On some nights, the evening food was a little disappointing! The salad bar as very good but sometimes the other courses were not as good as we hoped. The dessert bar was not replenished so if you were not down early, it sometimes looked rather messy.
The Hotel was in an excellent location, the boats to take you to other resorts in the day were just outside the hotel. The square had plenty of restaurants and bars so it was really nice to go out for a stroll after your evening meal and have a drink in one of the bars.
The trips were very well organised, the Coach Driver & Julie our Guide were both excellent. We would love to go back to Lake Garda again.

Room Tip: Try to book a lake view room. Our rooms were a good size but a few people said their rooms were rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in late August, early September. The location is perfect, right on the central square by the pier in Riva, a charming (albeit far from the most beautiful ) lake Garda town. The room was spacious, clean and perfect for a cheap and cheerful getaway. The only irritation was the fact that the double beds have two single mattresses, a trans continental annoyance! The breakfast was good and the service was exceptional. We also found that prices at the bar were exceptionally competitive (Prosecco at happy hour was 2€ a glass). There are no frills at Hotel Europa but nor do you feel you are in a truly budget hotel. The hotel also has its own sun deck and small pool which can be nice if the beach is busy. A great place to stay, thoroughly pleasant and relaxing, would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed a week on a package deal, and were delighted with the hotel. A fine continental selection at breakfast, with delicious meats, crusty breads, and a wide selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts etc. A couple of hot things such as scrambled or boiled egg, but don't expect a full English (You really don't need it here). Pleasant staff. Each evening was effectively a 4-course, with a serve-yourself pre-starter from at least a dozen options, followed by the starter and main course served to you, and rounded off with your selection from the desert table. Meal times 19:00-20:30 are perhaps a bit early, especially if you've had a long day out. The town is delightful, but if you want to get to sleep early avoid the front rooms as the noise outside goes on until 11:30 or so most nights.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but if you're out till after 11.00 or so it doesn't matter. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our third stop of our European tour, we had been to Venice last year but wanted to try another Italian location near the water. The hotel confirmed by email a few days before that they had reserved a balcony room for us. The room was fantastic and especially enjoyed our balcony view in the morning and last thing at night. The hotel location was fantastic, right in the centre but found it a big noisy on Saturday night because the outside entertainment was still continuing after midnight. Other than that we had no issues at all, the breakfast choice was fantastic and plenty of different locations to sit and eat breakfast. We were amazed at the amount of different seating areas around the hotel, the happy hour was also very enjoyable. All the hotel staff were very helpful and all queries were answered. Will definately be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Take full advantage of the swimming pool possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukhbir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici
Hotel Portici
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Piazza Catena,13, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa)
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#19 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#30 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel set in the historical town center facing the port; meeting facilities, rooms and terrace restaurant with views of the lake, sky-pool turkish bath and solarium terrace with view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Europa Hotel Riva Del Garda
Best Western Hotel Europa
Best Western Riva Del Garda
Riva Del Garda Best Western
Hotel Europa Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing