We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view over Riva del Garda”
Review of Torre Apponale

Torre Apponale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view over Riva del Garda”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

For just 2 euros this little climb up the tower is well worth it. Great views all round...don't forget your camera! For the reasonably fit & agile the climb is no problem at all. Just don't forget to duck your head near the top of the stairs!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank andylporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    111
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Its a trek up to the top of the clock tower - 168 steps - but it is SO worth it for the views once you get to the top!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa19725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Lake Garda views”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

For a modest fee, and 165 steps to the top of the Tower your reward is stunning views of Riva and of Lake Garda. It is well worth the climbing effort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RexMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Check your watch the bells are next to your ear!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I visited the tower mid morning in early June. The stairs on the inside the tower are easy and there are a number of landings for either a rest or if it is busy. The views from the top are fantastic and give a really different up close view of the rooftops of the old town and down into the ferry terminal, making it a great place for taking photos. Check your watch before you go up, the bells rang when we were up there and it was quite a shock as you are literally right next to them when they ring, so be careful not to drop your camera. At 2€ each it was well worth the climb.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ld52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Closed for maintenance”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our hotel was next door to the tower and was looking forward to climbing up the 165 steps to take photos of the views. But on the door it said it was closed for maintenance. We were there one week 10th May 2013 to 18th May. Not workers were spotted doing anything.
So walk up to the Bastione instead for your views and photos. Tripadviser is making me click on a rating, but if it is closed I can't give it one. So ignore my rating please.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnNottinghamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre Apponale also viewed

Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 

Been to Torre Apponale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing