We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb Vacation”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent 10 nights at this excellent hotel at the end of June, start of July. It was a 5 star experience from the moment we walked in! The highlight of the hotel is definitely the roof top pool, where you can overlook stunning views of the Lake Garda and the surrounding mountains. All the staff were extremely friendly and catered to all our needs. A special word must go out to Michaelangelo, the barman at the skypools bar. He made some superb cocktails and was always able to recommend drinks! There was also a pianist who would play mid evening, which was great.

We stayed on the 5th floor, 1 below the skypool, the room was turned down twice a day with clean towels, keeping it to very high standards. We had a balcony overlooking the carpark, and we could see the lake, past other hotels and through a few trees! But it was fantastic being surrounded by the mountains enjoying a cold beer before heading into town for food.

We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on the evening meals. We chose to eat out in Riva at the various cafes and restaurants in town - which was a pleasant 10-15 minute saunter. Either along the lake front or through the town itself.

The hotel had a range of leaflets of activities, including quad biking and canyoning, also with day trips including the Dolomites and Venice. The receptionist was happy to book our trips to the Dolomites and for quad biking (payment upon booking) which added to our stay!

Upon leaving we were given a gift, a bottle of Hotel Kristal Palace's own Lemencello, which was a very nice touch. Would highly recommend this hotel, and would stay here again if we came back to Riva del Garda.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonelliHotels, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Stuart,
first of all I want to thank you for your beautiful words.
We are very happy you have appreciated your whole stay, this is really important to us.
Our staff always want to do their best in order to make our guests' stays become unforgettable, from the cleaning ladies to the bar keeper.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel and to let you try our tasty cuisine.
Thank you again,
Best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    94
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
520
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of October. The pool bar was closed as it is out of season, but we still swam one afternoon in the sun .The staff are excellent, the rooms are very comfortable and immaculately clean, the towels are changed twice a day with a turn down service in the evening. The food is of an excellent standard, we thoroughly enjoyed are evening meals on half board. We have been lucky enough to stay in several five star hotels and the staff in this hotel are without doubt the friendliest most helpful, unobtrusive staff we have encountered. From the night porter and cleaners to the restaurant staff and bar staff, they are what makes this hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for fourth floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonelliHotels, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Christi10, we are grateful for your kindly words. Our guests are very important for us. Thank you for having appreciated the work of the whole staff, we always try to do our best. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel, perhaps in summer so you would be able to fully enjoy our swimming pool and the sky pool Bar on the top!
Kind regards
Giuseppe Tonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a lovely hotel just across the road from the lake and it's footpaths and cycle ways. 15 mins. walk from Riva old town and 20 mins from Torbole.

We were upgraded to a fourth floor "Executive" room, probably as it was near the end of season and the hotel would close at the end of the week but it was a lovely room kept immaculately clean. The whole hotel was spotless and all the staff without exception were happy and smiling and keen to help.

We were on half board which turned out to be the best option. Local restaurants were pasta and pizza whereas our hotel food was very good indeed and couldn't be faulted.

We did have some rain and there didn't appear to be much to do in the hotel. Other than that very small gripe I would recommend this hotel to anyone able to do a little walking. Taxi from Riva old town was 8.00 Euros but well spent when it rained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seawings1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonelliHotels, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Seawings1998, thank you for having described your experience. We are glad you have appreciated our hotel and the free upgrade we made you. When there is the possibility we always make it with pleasure.
Thank you once again for your time and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Kristal Palace.
Best wishes
Giuseppe Tonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the hotel in August as a part of our Honeymoon. It was the first part of our stay in Italy and we drove to the hotel from Milan using the lake-side road as opposed to the toll road route which was a perfect choice and made for a fantastic journey up to Riva, well worth the extra time to do so. The service from the hotel and its staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was perfect. Extremely friendly and helpful throughout, from the reception staff, the porters, the restaurant staff and the poolside bar staff. The hotel was extremely clean and very pleasant to be in. The food and choice of food in the restaurant was extremely good. We eat in good restaurants and stay in good hotels and the standard of the food and choice was extremely good and well above average. The wine list was also very good and well priced, with prices to suit all. The rooftop pool and bar, however, is the reason for choosing this hotel. It provides a fantastic setting for breakfast in the morning, the perfect place to relax during the day and an amazing place to take in the great cocktails available and the evening poolside entertainment available some evenings. The setting is stunning, at the foot of the mountains with great views of the lake and of Riva itself. It really is an extremely relaxing place to stay. We are a couple who like to go out and enjoy the various restaurants and bars available within a town but the hotel has everything you need to be able to relax and not venture out if you do not want to. Some reviews have mentioned the distance of the hotel from the town centre. However, this somewhat of exaggeration and if the correct route is taken, its a great walk along the lakeside into the centre of Riva. We like to visit different places but will always return to somewhere we know we are guaranteed to have a great time and we will certainly be returning to the Kristal Palace hotel and we are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor and was quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andybem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonelliHotels, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Peterborough,
thank you so much for your words. We always are happy to read that our guests have enjoyed the holiday in our hotel because that is the only thing that count for us. I just can say thank you to writing your rewiew from the Sky pool Bar to the reception, restaurant and cleaning ladies. The whole staff do always their best in order to assure the best holiday experience and we thank you again for writing it. We will be really cheerful to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards
Giuseppe Tonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst on holidays in Riva del Garda for one week with my boyfriend. I had read many of the trip advisor reviews so I had very high expectations & I definitely was not disappointed. We arrived late on the Saturday night, hungry & tired & hoping that there would be somewhere open to get food. We were absolutely ecstatic when we went into our room and saw two plates of food & dessert waiting for us! Salmon, salad, eggs, melon, mozzarella, fresh bread - beautiful! The welcome that we received was very friendly & the staff of the hotel were very helpful for the duration of our stay - I would imagine if one did experience any problems that it would be dealt with promptly. Our room was on the first floor so unfortunately we didn't have a great view but the room itself was fab. The bed was incredibly comfortable & the shower was superb! Also I must commend the staff who cleaned the rooms as they did a great job & took the time to even tidy up my toiletries! The turn down service & fresh towels twice a day was a lovely touch also. The weather wasn't great during our stay so we didn't get the opportunity to make the most of the sky pool & bar. We are breakfast every morning in the dining room - breakfast was nice, all of the usuals & the option to have a glass of prosecco even! We went half board so dined in the hotel every night also & I found the food to be of a good standard. I found it strange that we had to sit in the same seats every night - I would rather be able to sit in a different place each night - just to have the option to chat to different people! The cocktails from the bar are superb & happy hour is great - pity the regular prices are quite high though. Overall, I loved my stay at this hotel & I was sad to leave it. I would stay there again if we were going back to Riva & I think it would be worth paying a bit extra for a room with a nicer view.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avril09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonelliHotels, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you Avril09 for your feedback, is very much appreciated! Reviews are now important for people that wants to know all about the hotels. Anyway, the first impression for a new guest is basic. We're happy to know that you enjoyed the cold plate in your room, and thank you for writing about it. We always try to improve every sector of this hotels, from the staff to the facilities. We hope to see you again as our special guest, maybe in summertime so you can enjoy our terrace at all, from the breakfast in the morning to the live music events during the evening.
Best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time me an my wife have visited lake Garda, but the first time staying in Riva Del Garda. Immediately we walked through the door of the kristal Palace Hotel we were upgraded to an executive suite. Things just got even better from then on. Our reservation was for half board. The food and service was exceptional, 4 courses were served each evening with a selection of 3 dishes for each course. Breakfast was a buffet with a varied and well presented selecton served until 10:30am. Our room was thoroughly cleaned an tidied each day to the same standard as when we arrived. The location is just avery pleasant 20 minute walk to the old town centre

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IMG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonelliHotels, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you dear guest for your review that highlights the service and the quality of breakfast and dinner. We try to do our best with all our staff to guarantee a nice and unforgettable stay.
We hope to see you again, and thank you for having been with us.
Giuseppe Tonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickfergus
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for a week on a Riviera holiday package. Firstly, I have to say that we were not at all impressed with the hotel's location. It is situated in the eastern suburns of Riva in the midst of domestic dwellings and semi-commercial and industrial property. You only get a view of Lake Garda from the 6th floor swimming pool and anyone with a room on the fourth floor or lower will only see the tops of the surrounding mountains. Our room was not at all nice with one complete wall covered in very dark tiles and with awful lighting by spotlights. My companion found it very difficult to see to put on her make-up and the whole experience was quite depressing - compounded by the fact that the balcony doors were of quite dark glass thus restricting the amount of natural light penetrating the interior. Downstairs the lounge area was also depressing - very dark and lacking any sense of intimacy.

Things were better in the restaurant - at least for dinner. The food was quite excellent with what really amounted to a five course meal as the amuse bouche was large enough to count as a course. It was then followed by an excellent buffet salad, then a choice of three starters, three main courses and three deserts. My companion is a vegetarian and when any of the courses did not suit her the staff could not have been more helpful in organising an option. In fact the staff throughout the hotel were all very helpful and obviously well trained. Sadly I cannot be as complimentary about breakfast which was really very poor. Canned fruit, cheap basic cereals and abysmally cold and weak tea and coffee was a very unsatisfactory start to the day.

Interestingly we found the Kristal's cheaper sister hotel, the Savoy Palace, just a couple of hundred yards away, to be a much more more pleasing experience. Here there is a very nice garden in which to sit and watch the world go by whereas the Kristal only has a small paved area. And you are served free afternoon tea and cake which it's more expensive sibling does not offer either!

Room Tip: You must get a 5th floor room if you want any sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esler c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonelliHotels, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Esler c,
first of all I would like to thank you for your review.
Is really important for us to know how the guests feel themselves in our structure, but on the other hand we are sorry to read you haven't felt at ease in our hotel.
We are very sorry that the design of our hotel did not meet your expectations.
The architect wanted to create a refined yet understated luxury ambience.
In all honesty, the feedback of most of our clients is extremely positive, however taste is surely personal.
We are really glad that you have appreciated our kitchen which is one of the strong point of the hotel.
We appreciate your constructive comments, and we truly hope that this inconvenience did not completely spoil your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Giuseppe Tonelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels

Property: Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
Address: Via Confalonieri, 8 | Via Confalonieri, 8, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing