We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon hotel”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Hotel Krystal Palace is, without doubt, our favourite hotel. The place is utterly magical and we cannot wait to get back there.
We stayed at the Krystal Palace on the last leg of our honeymoon. We had stayed in fantastic hotels in Rome and Florence and were really excited about having 8 days in Lake Garda.
However, our first impression was not good. We arrived after 2 trains and a taxi from Florence. The reception staff were friendly and we were soon in our room. This is when we first had a problem. The room was lovely, a spacious junior suite but we were on the 2nd floor. We had been promised a 5th floor room. We knew we would not be having a lake view but we at least expected the lovely view of the hills that the website suggests. The view we had was of a car park. The balcony was very unprivate and not the sort of balcony you would want to chill out on or spend a long time relaxing. So, down we went to complain (or, the wife, as she’s better at this). The staff were nice and allowed us to access internet and print off the email which confirmed we would get a 5th floor room (not that being on the 5th floor would really have made much difference). The staff were very nice and tried to be helpful but they could not offer us the same room higher up. They tried to get us a better room but could not for the 8 days that we would be there. They gave us the option to have a higher room in a smaller room – we checked out the rooms but declined. Eventually we decided to stay in our room and the staff offered us 20euros per night off and a free meal in their restaurant. We thought this was generous. We returned to our room and opened the lovely bottle of prosecco that comes with the junior suite (also a bowl of fresh fruit).
We decided to check out the skypool. This was the main reason my wife had decided she wanted this hotel. As we came out of the lift on the roof we were amazed at the beautiful view to the north of Riva down the valley with the little castle perched on top of the hill in the distance. This was nothing compared to the view that greeted us as we turned the corner to the front of the skypool where the pool and bar are. Our jaws hit the ground in amazement. The view towards the lake is absolutely stunning. Without doubt the most beautiful view either of us had ever seen. The pictures on the website are just how it is. No camera trickery at all. Instantly, all the complaining we had made about not being on the 5th floor seemed ridiculous.
The skypool was where we would spend a lot of time over the next 8 days. It is a stunning place to sit and chill. The views of the mountain cliffs spilling into the lake, the mountains stretching off into the distance, the glistening blue of the lake, is something that we never got bored of. There are plenty of sun-loungers and it’s not necessary to worry about trying to get one (despite the number of Germans). The bar staff are so very friendly and funny. It was a wonderful experience to sunbathe for a few hours and then take a dip in the pool whist being surrounded by the incredible scenary.
Food wise, the Krystal Palace cannot be faulted. On our first night there we turned up for our free meal. We were guided to a cosy table that had been prepared in a romantic fashion. There were candles, ribbons, cute rolled up individual menus and even a present on our table (presumably because we were on our honeymoon). The meal was incredible and we decided to eat there another 2 times during our stay. We will need to decide whether or not to go full-board next time we go. The restaurant is very clean and modern with a really relaxed atmosphere. Each meal begins with an amuse bouche (or whatever the Italian term for it is) for example salmon wrapped in cream. There is a small menu that changes everyday. My wife is a very fussy eater but could always find something on the menu to her liking. Starters included pasta dishes and soups. Between starter and main course you are invited to go to the salad buffet for a salad course. This was very extensive and had lots of different food. Mains included beef in a beer sauce, pork with apple jus, veal, salmon and other beautifully presented meals. . Desserts included yet more beautifully artistic creations including crème caramel, chocolate tarts and, of course, ice cream. The chefs and staff at this restaurant are excellent and deserve praise. Thank you. Northern Italy just happens to produce our favourite wines so we were really happen with the choices. Lovely, crisp tasting whites. Whilst eating your meal there is live music by a pianist (no singing). This gave a really nice ambiance to the restaurant.
The piano player (Yari) after finishing his set in the restaurant goes up to the skypool and spends a few hours playing and singing more modern songs in a really chilled out, soulful style. Listening to Yari sing, whilst sitting at the skypool as the sun goes down and you’re sipping a cocktail (long island ice tea for me, some creamy Baileys one for the mrs) was a perfect way to end each evening.
Another few points to mention. Breakfast can be taken either in the restaurant (where there is more choice and hot food) or, at a slightly later time, on the skypool. We opted for the skypol breakfast. Sitting in the sun at 9am each morning, sipping coffee or fresh orange juice, eating pastries and fresh fruit, looking out onto the lake, was amazing. The reception staff were very helpful. Helping me with the internet and with my questions about visiting local places and helping book me a taxi to the airport. The lake itself is about 4 or 5 minutes walk. We walked there once but preferred to spend the day at the skypool unless we were going on a trip. There is an excellent gelataria about a minute away, and a few good restaurants for lunch within a couple of minutes walk. A supermarket and ATM are close too. Better restaurants for an evening meal are a bit further away. The skypool has gym equipment if you’re into that sort of thing. My wife says she’ll use it next time we go to prevent her putting on too much weight (instead of just laying off the creamy baileys cocktails) – I’ll believe that when I see it.
We absolutely loved this hotel and cannot wait to go back there. Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeandSuzanneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    94
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
509
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel itself was modern and luxurious. The room was large with a super king size comfortable bed. Bathroom was modern. We went half board and ate well every night. The food was excellent with great variety as was the breakfast with some mornings including complementary prosecco. Over dinner you had a live pianist which we loved. The service at both front of house, the kitchen and everywhere in the hotel was faultless. You can borrow bikes to make best of the local cycle paths and you are a small walk from Riva itself. Bus service comes right out the front of the hotel and we found this the best way of getting round Lake Gada. The pool was of a high standard and being on top of the hotel had a great view of Lake Gada. I would have liked the option of buying drinks from the bar with cash rather than on tab but that is just getting picky.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
1,017 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is not bad, I have no complains but they said the hotel is a 4 star "S" and believe me, I've stayed in plenty hotels in Europe with lesser stars and with better results. What should be improved? The staff is always helpful but the are not one step ahead (you know what I mean?), the bath toiletteries are very cheap, you can hear your neighbors cause the ventilation is not isolated... Why pay for a 4 stars "S" when actually it's at least 1 star less. This place is far far away comparing with the only 5 star hotel in Garda...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonelliHotels, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review at TripAdvisor. We are sorry to learn you were not satisfied.

As you write our staff is very helpful, it means everyone is trying to fulfill the wishes of our guests. We can't fulfill all kinds of expectations or read in the guest's mind. We guess this is what you mean with “one step ahead”.

About our courtesy set, we selected top quality toiletries, for delicate skin care.

The isolation of the rooms isn't perfect, so, please, accept our apologies. We know we have to improve and we are indeed working on it.

Anyway we are up to the 4 stars S standards and we are not a 5 stars hotel, wich is also much more expensive than the Kristal Palace.
Once again thank you for staying with us and providing feedback.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The "Kristal Palace" is an elegant 4*hotel with an excellent service, high-quality interior in a very stylish kind that let you feel to be in a modern exclusive hotspot.
The rooftop is an extraordinary place to be.
The relaxing couches of the spacious terrace of our "Panorama Suite" let us feel like home with an stunning view of the lake Garda and its surrounding mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reibeisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked this hotel after previously staying at the nearby Hotel Splendid Palace. We were not disappointed. A superb hotel, clean, very comfortable. The service in every respect, except the bar, was perfect. Food was well cooked and presented, plenty of choice every morning and evening. Desserts to die for. You could actually SEE you meal being prepared,cooked and plated. The pool area was spotless, plenty of sun beds all with clean towels on them. ( put there by the staff NOT other guests ) The views from the pool were fantastic. Now we come the bar service. This really let the hotel down. There was a bar in the reception area (ground floor) which well equipped but only open if it was raining. Otherwise you have to use the pool bar ( 6th Floor) as there is only one barman. This is fine IF you like loud music to accompany you.
All in all this is a very nice hotel and well up to the Tonelli family standards. We will return to the hotel in the future. Riva is a lovely town with lots of shops,bars or restaurants. The walk from the hotel along the lake path to Riva is wonderful, although it could take some time, as you will be sitting on a bench to admire the views most of the time. That's why we like Riva and Tonelli hotels.
Bellissimo and Ciao.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a great holiday in RIVA in june,We stayed in hotel Kristal Palace and we could not fault it.The hotel is modern and luxurious and kept perfectly by the very friendly and helpful staff.We stayed half board and all our meals were exceptional with a nice choice of menu that changed every day.The rooftop pool and bar are fantastic with amazing views of the mountains and lake.The 10 minute stroll to RIVA town centre is very scenic and a really nice walk along the lake shore.There is plenty to do around the area from day trips to adventure sports such as mountain biking and canyoning which are a great buzz.For anyone looking for that special hotel in RIVA HOTEL KRISTAL PALACE has got to be it.We would highly recomend RIVA for a top quality relaxing holiday on beautiful LAKE GARDA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband & I are just back from Honeymoon; we spent 5 nights at this hotel & couldn't have imagined a more perfect stay. As it was a special occasion we stayed in the Panoramic Suite, and it was definitely worth it - the room was fantastic, views breathtaking and I loved that there were two separate sections to the bathroom so we could both get ready separately. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, better than our one at home!

Staff were so friendly and on our first night they arranged candles for our table & a 'present' from the staff. They printed out maps & directions for any day trips we took (definitely recommend Verona).

Drinks in the hotel were extremely reasonable, especially during happy hour.

The food was exceptional; we looked forward to dinner as every night was something different.

The hotel's unique selling point is definitely the Sky Pool; the views were fantastic, you were away from any noise and traffic and it was lovely just to relax with a cocktail with those fantastic views.

The location was perfect; its 5 mins away from the lake, 15 minutes leisurely stroll into the town and 2 mins away from the bus stop for any day trips you want to take. It was right beside most of the major hotels, so distance-wise it was comparable to any other in the area.

Riva itself was my favourite town surrounding the Lake, it wasn't tacky but was bustling enough that you could be entertained in the evening.

I don't understand why this Hotel isn't a 5 star, it deserves to be! We will be back...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank soue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels

Property: Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
Address: Via Confalonieri, 8 | Via Confalonieri, 8, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing