We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Rio sul Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rio sul Mare
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rio Marina
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The owners of the hotel were very nice. But, the hotel is over rated, and the claims are somewhat dishonest. Unless you want to sit in the lobby, right next to the main desk, NO, they do not have Internet!!! The town of Rio Marina offeres free internet, but, it is weka, they want you to send some sort of tect message to set up log in... in Italian, and if not, it will constantly log you out. It is very slow, also. The breakfast was Ok by European standards,, but I do not like to be gaurded while I eat and that is how ther staff made me feel. In fact, it was bad enough to be there alone, but when I ventured down to breakfast the first day and set up my cafe , I was told that because I was only one person,, I had to go to a different table. She moved my cafe and plate, but I just wanted to leave... and,. the dining room was only half full. My room was a single , which is fine, except that the shower was simply a drain inn the floor beside the toilet. The shower curatinn pulled in around it and itf you did it right, the TP would not get wet. However, after 3 monutes the entire floor filled up with water because the frain was slow, so I felt I was taking a shower standing toilet water. I was able to hand my netbook out the window and sit on top of a desk, leaning way out, to check my email. But, I could not view Google maps to plan where I wanted to go take photos, etc. The hotel has to know that we are prisoners there as we have pre- paid for our ferry and I got a deal on the hotel for 5 days,so I was stuck. I wondered if that was how Napoleaon felt, too.
The hotel is right beside a bar on the water front,, an outdoor bar. They palyed loud music constantly. The town had some live music going on in the harbor which I preferred, right beside the bar, but the bar just kept thier music going. It was hot, but I had to close the windows, turn on a fan on high and use earplugs to sleep. Like most cheap mattre4sses in italy,, the bed is very hard. The free beach very near is a little depressing if you have ever been to a real beach like we expect in the USA, however the water is beautiful and warm, the harbor is beautiful, with lots of activity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneChico_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rio sul Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 193 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were so looking forward to our trip to Elba and booked this hotel mainly because of the reasonably good reviews on TA, unfortunately however the whole experience was a massive disappointment and we managed one night on the island before seeking solace back on the mainland.
Although we booked and paid for a night in the Hotel MIS-E-RIO, we turned on our heel and left (well reversing, as it was so small). The mono-syllabic, unfriendly receptionist in the soulless lobby was probably a clue and the room followed suit; cramped, cell-like, no air-con (sweltering), hard unwelcoming out-dated furniture and on and on; awful. My boyfriend said “maybe if I was on day release from prison, it might be acceptable”….
We told the receptionist we couldn’t stay in this room and her response was “you’re already paid” – sums it up really.
Rio Marina was a tired slightly depressing place, maybe it was due to end of season fatigue but nothing about the place compelled us to stay.
Arrivederci Elba. We won’t be back.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AmoraItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Don't do it. It's awful...Unless you've just got out of prison or are looking for work on the ferries in which case it's just ok. Honestly, the town is terrible too. Beyond dreary. Better off staying on the mainland.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnygoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Hotel is near the port and near everything. Breakfast included the price. First time in Italy coffee was bad. It was weak like tea. With extra pay (1,30 EUR) you could get real coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Consiglio le camere comfort
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FabioB_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marzia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Marina
5.3 mi away
Resort le Picchiaie
Resort le Picchiaie
#19 of 25 in Portoferraio
56 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Etrusco
Hotel Etrusco
#6 of 10 in Rio Marina
176 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Hotel Villa Mare
Residence Hotel Villa Mare
#17 of 25 in Portoferraio
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
9.6 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
442 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#1 of 25 in Portoferraio
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio sul Mare

Address: Via Palestro, 31, 57038, Rio Marina, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Rio Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rio Marina
Price Range: $72 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio sul Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rio sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sul Mare Marina
Rio Sul Mare Hotel
Hotel Rio Sul Mare Elba Island/Rio Marina, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing