We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar Cycling Experience on the Adriatic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dory
Ranked #6 of 290 Hotels in Riccione
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stellar Cycling Experience on the Adriatic”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Imagine cycling along the Adriatic, turning inland, following a fabuloso guide (who is not hard to look at!) up (and up) past castles on hilltops, through villages, on roads with sweeping vistas, to the Most Serene Republic of San Marino. Then, after cappucino and gelato, flying down those hills, the Adriatic in the distance, with complete joy and abandon. One day you end up at the country house of Stephano, the Hotel Dory's owner and spectacular host, where tables are set out and sausages are grilling and wine is flowing. The French sing their national anthem. We Vermonters top them with ours. Or one day you meet near the end of a ride at a vineyard to sample wines and olive oil, with breads and prosciutto, cheese and dessert, and try not to drink too much to ride the 10 miles back to the hotel (flat miles, thank heavens). You know that a perfecto buffet meal will greet you--fresh vegetables and salads, two kinds of pasta, at least two meats and one fish, desserts galore. Best of all, you're riding with people of your own level (5 levels to choose from), so each day is nothing but fun. Well, hard work and fun, rewarded with free wine and beer at dinner, excellent breakfasts that fuel your ride, great lunches to come back to, and lots of new friends from all over the world. Our suite was lovely, my bike was better than mine at home. We were back from our daily rides by 2, in time for lunch and then a swim in the Adriatic on the beautiful beach a block from the Dory. If I'm raving, it's because this was the perfect holiday. My husband could ride with the Limoncinos (crazy cyclists), I could ride with Cappucino Lights, we each were challenged and happy and could come together with our friends at the end of a great day. The Dory a superbly run cycling center. We are going back next year with even more friends. Bravo, Hotel Dory! Can't wait until September!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel behind the hotel and on an upper floor--you'll be able to see the Ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vtwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    347
    54
    19
    13
See reviews for
670
368
63
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed at the Dory nearly a dozen times, and it has become my favourite 'off season' place in the world - a mini paradise! I tell all my friends about it and those that go, come back with the same huge smile on their face and ready to go back anytime.

In addition to comfortable rooms and surroundings, every detail is considered for the cyclist, not the least is the nutritional aspect of the foods prepared especially for endurance athletes. The afternoon 'snack' when we return from a day of hard pedalling is replete with just the right choice of foods to recover for the next day's outing. The riding routes are spectacular - hey, it's Italia, the motherland of cycling! - and having skilled guides to shepherd us around on any level of training or touring route that we desire is a blessing, (especially considering the chaos of the Italian road system).

As well, having a specialized 'team' mechanic on staff with a fully stocked tool shop is a comfort should anything go awry, and of course, the area has at least 4 excellent bike shops to serve any purchase need. I usually travel with my own bike, but lately I've used the excellent rental bikes on offer at the Dory. They fit me well and work perfectly, and for about the same cost as the supplemental baggage fee from the airlines! so why suffer the hassle.

In short, I give the Dory my highest recommendation - that's a '12' on a scale of 1 to 10.. and although I have seen some of the other bike hotels, will never go anywhere else..!!

Bravo to Stefano, the guides and staff for a wonderful experience every time!! See you again soon.

Ciao, Norbert (from Canada)

Room Tip: I enjoyed the suites in the adjacent 'Savioli' but it was a short walk to the main hotel.. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigborb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alacati-izmir
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our group.It was our second, our group's first time. Even it is a summer destination hotel and we stayed in winter, they are really so well prepared for all the sevices. All the personnel are so friendly and helpful. Especially Miss Nadia was always so helpful for all our needs. The atmosphere is like a family atmosphere. In the restaurant, Rimi and Marta are working like bees always with a smile on their faces. The hotel is clean.The owner is always there to see if everything goes well.
We highly recommend you to try this hotel and we are sure you will not choose any other hotels later after you feel yourselves a part of this big family.
This hotel deserves all the compliments..

Room Tip: We stayed at D-900. It is really amazing with its nice decoration and inside jacuzi .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurabiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Unimaginative apartments , modern , with a nice lobby , which was promising in design , but when you go to the rooms , the designer suddenly had no inspiration left.
Just for holiday makers who are not much demanding in respect of their accommodation.

Room Tip: Lobby looks the best, rooms only decent , guess they differ a little one from another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Holidays can be memorable for lots of reasons. Maybe it is the location, or the hotel room, the food, or perhaps the just the fun things you did there. Hotel Dory in Riccionne was memorable for me for all those reasons, but one thing stood out for me above everything, and that was the passion of the staff for making all the guests at the hotel, whether cyclists or not, feel relaxed, comfortable and enjoy their holiday. Their friendliness and attention to detail was outstanding. This is no ordinary hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essex_Duo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We first visited the Hotel Dory in 2007, and have returned at least once a year thereafter, the attraction for us is the warm welcome that you receive from the Dory Family which extends to the ever accommodating staff, this coupled together with the excellent amenities and all the facilities that you would ever want in having a relaxing family holiday in a great Italian location. We enjoyed the Dory that much that in 2011 we decided to use this as our wedding hotel. Again the Dory family and staff made our day the best that we could ever have imagined and gave our 60 guests a day they could never forget. So if you are on the look out for a wedding location or just a fantastic holiday we would recommend Riccione and the Dory as a perfect match!

Room Tip: For large families we would recommend the D-Place which is attached to the hotel Dory which is perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porepunkah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I first stayed at the Dory in 2005 and enjoy being there so much that we have been back another five times! For us it strikes the perfect balance ; rides that are not only scenic but challenging enough, wonderful food, very helpful staff and group ride leaders, close to the sea and hills, bike storage, washing for cycling clothing and on site vehicle parking. We have encouraged many of our friends to join us there and they too have all experienced the same hospitality as us. We have made friends with people from the U.K., Germany, Sweden and Switzerland. It is wonderful when we return to the Dory and meet up again to share a drink or two and ride some of the climbs of the area. It goes without saying that we love the Italian way of life and the friends we have at the Hotel Dory. Keep up the great work Stefano.
Garry M

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrymeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riccione hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Augustus Riccione
Hotel Augustus Riccione
#3 of 290 in Riccione
1,830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
#13 of 290 in Riccione
1,793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Love Boat
Hotel Love Boat
#4 of 290 in Riccione
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
#10 of 290 in Riccione
1,180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#21 of 290 in Riccione
1,143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#11 of 290 in Riccione
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dory

Property: Hotel Dory
Address: Viale Giacomo Puccini 4, 47838 Riccione, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Riccione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riccione
#3 Spa Hotel in Riccione
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Riccione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riccione
#14 Business Hotel in Riccione
#14 Family Hotel in Riccione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dory 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years our main objective has been to make every guest feel right at home, surrounding them with warmth and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dory Hotel Riccione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing