We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”
Review of Hotel Dory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dory
Ranked #8 of 290 Hotels in Riccione
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The best choice for holiday ever! It was our first time to have this kind of sporty holiday and choosing Hotel Dory Riccione was definitely spot on. We had all inclusive package for cyclists and they really offered that. All you needed to do was landing to Italy, relax and enjoy cycling and eating. Everything was arranged. Ok, yes its kind of pricy but once you are there you can appreciate the effort hotel and its staff has done for its guests. Trips were amazing and so well organized. We had fun. I really pushed myself to go an extra mile on bike. Never had so good time cycling uphill nearly 50 km, well best was going same length downhill :D. We made lots of new friends and decided to come again on next year but this time stay longer, hopefully for 2 weeks. This was good for our relationship and great for my health. Can recommend. Thank you. Been thinking of this trip ever since. I miss it.

Room Tip: The room facing front entrance was great. Can recommend the suite. And higher the better you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariJarvenkyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    352
    56
    20
    14
See reviews for
686
377
64
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soderhamn, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Absolutely everthing was perfect! The cycling tours were beautiful and gave a good training. Back at the hotell we got a good lunch with the cycle clodes on, not embarasing at all since all guests were in the same "condition". A fabulous dinner, exactly according to the reputation about the Italian kitchen! The perfect idea with different speed for the groups is nice for a family or a club travelling to this nice camp. On top of all I will mention the good service with clode washing and help from the personnel at the front disk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

While the Dory is far from rustic, we call our wonderful week there last fall "bike camp" because we felt as though we were kids at a summer camp, eating together and riding together with friends, old and new. In fairness, Dory's food was excellent, as was our room with its modern look and fabulous bathroom. The combination of the great biking, with knowledgeable and friendly guides I must add, great food food and the whole spirit of the place (driven by owner Stephano's cheerful encouragement throughout the entire week) meant every morning we woke up excited for what the day had in store. We'll go back for sure and recommend others give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VimySon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our third visit to the Hotel Dory. If you are looking for a "biking hotel", it cannot be matched for value and quality. My husband and I, and several friends through the years, have ridden in a variety of the biking groups. It is important to know your level of experience and fitness when you choose your group. Except for the bikeness/tourist group, the emphasis is on biking in this hilly and beautiful part of Italy. Not to worry, though, you can change groups each day based on the terrain and distance to be covered and no one is left behind. A wonderful addition to the biking program has been the bikeness/tourist group. This allows those who might not arrive with a higher level of training to enjoy biking combined with a little more opportunities to stop and sightsee. A tip of the hat to the biking guides! Accompanying companions who choose not to bike will have many activities that will also please them. Of course, there is always the sea, the promenade, and the markets of Rimin and Riccione to help to pass the time in a most pleasant way. I left my comments on the accommodation, meals and staff until the end of this review to highlight their importance in making this such a special hotel. At this hotel, the focus is on service and this has been consistent with every visit that we have made. From the meals prepared by the chef and his crew, to Drelli, our beloved bike technician, to the front staff, serving and housekeeping staff- there was never a "miss". Stefano and his team are to be commended. It is always with pleasure that we look to return to the Hotel Dory.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building for convenient access to the dining-room and the bike room. This suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prest0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our fourth stay. We were in the D place suites again which provides plenty of room for a family of 5 with two bedrooms and a sofa bed in the kitchen dinning room. I enjoyed the cycling even more than in previous years. Wet weather meant we lost one of the five possible cycling days. Rain is a possibility at the end of October but we also had some lovely sunny days and were able to have the BBQ lunch in the country. The food was better than ever this year and the many of the staff were familiar from our previous visits. All requests for assistance are dealt with in a positive manner. We had an early departure and were provided with a coffee and croissant by the night porter prior to our transfer to Bologna airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyboyaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel was beautifully refurbished and served excellent, fresh and varied food every evening, including delicious snacks at the bar.The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, especially the cycle guides who were very patient with different cycling abilities within each group.
Apart from the cycling, the activities such as olive picking, bread making and food and wine tasting made the trip memorable.
Thank you, Hotel Dory!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Hotel Dory bike tour was outstanding. Everything from the daily bike tours, bikes, staff, food and accommodations were excellent. Riccione is a great setting as a base and wonderful to come back to after a great days ride. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riccione hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Augustus Riccione
Hotel Augustus Riccione
#2 of 290 in Riccione
1,944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
#12 of 290 in Riccione
1,843 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Love Boat
Hotel Love Boat
#4 of 290 in Riccione
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
#11 of 290 in Riccione
1,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#15 of 290 in Riccione
940 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#21 of 290 in Riccione
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dory

Property: Hotel Dory
Address: Viale Giacomo Puccini 4, 47838 Riccione, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Riccione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riccione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riccione
#4 Spa Hotel in Riccione
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Riccione
#14 Family Hotel in Riccione
#14 Business Hotel in Riccione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dory 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years our main objective has been to make every guest feel right at home, surrounding them with warmth and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dory Hotel Riccione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing