We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cycling hotel ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dory
Ranked #5 of 290 Hotels in Riccione
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cycling hotel ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed 1 week at Hotel Dory for a cycling holiday. We have done many other cycling holidays accross Southern Europe, but this one was easily the best.

We experienced top-notch service at the hotel, very friendly staff, modern and comfortable rooms.

The hotel offers Scott carbon road bikes (rental) and well organized (guided) bike tours in scenery landscape. You can choose between different groups depending on your training-level.

Hotel Dory has a fantastic food selection for dinner, breakfast and lunch, both when it comes to quality and variety.
We also enjoyed the barbeque evening in the country side (only during the summer).

The special "bike packages" that the hotel offers are certainly value for money.

Plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    345
    54
    19
    13
See reviews for
667
365
63
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have returned to Riccione for the first time in eight years, and for the first time stayed at the Hotel Dory, but it certainly won't be our last time! From the start of the holiday, with a very efficient transfer from Bologna airport, we could not fault the service offered by Stefano and his team.

My husband had a week of perfect cycling with Silvano and Bartolo as his guides in the Cappucino group. But the hotel caters for all cyclists with moderate levels of fitness, sending out up to four different groups (depending on ability) each day.

On returning from the days ride, a substantial buffet lunch was provided for the cyclists and accompanying guests, which contained all of the right foods for the cyclists recovery. This was included in the "Super half-board" tariff, and certainly took the worry out of having to find a suitable lunch outside of the hotel, after riding.

The hotel presents excellent value for money, with all soft drinks, draught beer from the bar, and wine with dinner all included in the Style formula.

We were in a Superior room, which was tastefully decorated in a modern style, while our teenage daughter was in a Standard room (decorated in an older style but still very comfortable).

As part of the package my daughter and I were able to learn how to cook gnocci and piadina, and were treated to a BBQ at Stefano's family farm in the countryside just outside of Riccione. Also for a small fee (Euro 8 per person), we were also able to visit San Marino.

On the last evening, the photoshow from the weeks rides, showed that should Stefano ever wish to give up the hotel business, he could easily persue a career in light entertainment! A highly amusing evening, which was more like being with a group of friends we had known for sometime, rather than with people we had only met one week before.

Even on our last morning, when we had to leave (before breakfast) for an early morning flight, the overnight staff were able to provide us with very good coffee and warm pastries before we left.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Hotel Dory for a cycling holiday, or indeed for a family holiday due to it close proximity to the beach, and the facilities offered for children.

We will certainly be looking soon to book our next holiday there.

Grazie Mille Stefano and the Dory Style team.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are on floors 2,3 & 4 in the main hotel, with standard rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregsWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Due to a job change it was not possible to visit hotel Dory in 2013 like the last 4 years. So I miss those rides through the nice area of Emilia-Romagna, the very good food in hotel dory, the good icecream at "Panna e Cioccolato" and the relaxed atmosphere at the Dory bar...
I hope to have the possibility to visit hotel Dory soon again to ride the strada panoramico or to Urbino again!!!

Room Tip: Also a good stay to go for the nove colli race!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The great hotel, the friendly and helpful staff, the beautiful selection of food, the excellent guides, the challenging but amazing rides, the new friends we made, the fantastic Scott road bikes, we had the best week here. If you love your cycling then this is the hotel for you. We will be back, just awesome! Thanks Stefano & staff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coatsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my 4th & best trip to Italy. My first stay at the Dory 3rd time in Riccione. In their own review they ask if any of the staff stand out & to be fair no. Everyone of the staff are hard working friendly & eager to please. I stayed for 2 weeks & was not ready to go home. I rented one of there bikes for this trip, the Scott CR-1. It rode great with no problems. I met people from all over the world & they all were some of the nicest people I've ever meet & I truly mean that ! The dinning was also super. A little better table is about the only area that could be improved. Stefano goes the extra mile everyday to talk with everyone making sure you are having no problems & enjoying your time there.

Room Tip: don't for get your power plug adapters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Set up and organized for the cyclist in mind no matter what your ability you cannot do much better then Hotel Dory. Excellent and challenging I would, and have, recommend Hotel Dory to anyone looking for a cycling holiday in Italy , enough said!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth road ,ontario,canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our first trip to Hotel Dory in Riccione and definitely won't be our last. Stefano and his staff treated us like royalty and went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable. The cycling guides were superb. Our only criticism would be the large size of the cycling groups .... Smaller groups would be better. The wine-tasting ride and the BBQ ride are not to be missed. The beach is a block away and local shopping is right around the corner. Weather you are a recreational cyclist or a serious racer, you can't go wrong with a week at Hotel Dory.

Room Tip: Book your stay early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riccione hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Augustus Riccione
Hotel Augustus Riccione
#3 of 290 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
#11 of 290 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
#12 of 290 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Love Boat
Hotel Love Boat
#4 of 290 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#21 of 290 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#15 of 290 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dory

Property: Hotel Dory
Address: Viale Giacomo Puccini 4, 47838 Riccione, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Riccione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riccione
#3 Spa Hotel in Riccione
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Riccione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riccione
#14 Business Hotel in Riccione
#14 Family Hotel in Riccione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dory 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years our main objective has been to make every guest feel right at home, surrounding them with warmth and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dory Hotel Riccione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing