We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended if in Reggio Emilia”
Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Reggio Emilia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a recent business trip, and can recommend Hotel Posta without reservation. It is located in an ideal spot in the center of town, putting the key sites and restaurants within walking distance. It is not a 5 star, faceless hotel, but is a comfortable hotel with real local character. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chi-twn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rooms are old style decor and nothing flashy, but large, lots of character and quite nice. Our balcony and view over the Piazza was great. Air conditioning was blessing - not particularly strong, but enough to take the edge off which was very important given the outside temperatures were near 40. Staff was very helpful. We stayed in 9 different hotels during our 3 week European vacation, and this was the most economical - very good value. My wife stayed here on business a few years earlier which was how we came to choose this hotel. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend it to others.

To the individual who commented on the rooms being "ugly", perhaps a Holiday Inn might be more up your alley. Maybe check out posted photos next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hotel Posta in the centre of Reggio Emilia is fab. At about Aust$100 a night (for the annexe in the next street) you're right at the heart of a wonderful old city centre with great cafes, food & wine, architecture and 'well to do' people. The hotel is old world but with all mod cons and helpful staff.
They organise trips to an amazing local Parmigiano Reggiano cheese making factory (free and very personal) and a great balsamic vinegar making business in the hills, where one can sit and look over the beautiful countryside and have an amazing meal.
The piazzas in Reggio had bands and entertainment; there are local markets and an excellent museum with huge collections of so many interesting things. Our grandchildren were overawed. A massive aquatic centre with canals and rubber rings, waterfalls, multiple slides, double rafts etc., (and only a short bus ride away) helped cool us down midsummer.

Room Tip: Our room was large and could accommodate 2 children on a drop down sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for only one night on our way to Tuscany, it was so charming, a beautiful building and we wanted to stay right in the main square of a town, this was definitely a great choice, unfortunately it was a Sunday, hard to find some lunch and a lot of places were closed for the day. We found a very pleasant street after touring the town to have a cappuccino and relax and the returned later for dinner which was very nice, we love to sit and enjoy the local ambience and this was definitely great. Our room was very nice to enjoy the local flavor and a great value. Their breakfast was the best we had in our three weeks of traveling through Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel had very ugly rooms. I tried 2 "apartments", and both were very old-fashioned and hardly as big as a normal room (25 sqm, maybe not even). The windows faced courts and ugly roofs: not nice.
The gym was really small (maybe 12 sqm?), just a tapis roulant and a multitask apparel; no window and the television was out of order.
The breakfast was not bad, but it was quite poor. Very good ham and cheese, though. However, I was asked to pay separately for a fresh orange juice: in a 4 stars hotel, I would have expected it to be included, especially in my case, as I stayed there for 3 weeks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Posta, Reggio Emilia before. That probably says it all! It is a great hotel, the only one right in the heart of this gorgeous market town! The staff speak excellent English and are very welcoming! the only negative I could mention is that their single lift can't quite cope with the busy checkout time at 9am ish! Maybe they should avoid using it for breakfast clear up at this time?!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Reggio Emilia is not too touristy, so a great place to visit! Hotel Posta is very historic and perfectly situated. Our first room was non-smoking and smelled like fresh cigarettes (oh, really? asked the front desk). They moved us to another nice room with a great view of the square. We were happy enough and like the city. There's great shopping and fantastic resaurants - some with no English on the menu (but isn't that really fun!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room change - get what you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77,027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reggio Emilia hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria
0.1 mi away
Albergo delle Notarie
Albergo delle Notarie
#5 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reggio Emilia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Morandi
Albergo Morandi
#6 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Reggio
Albergo Reggio
#16 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Address: Piazza del Monte 2, 42121, Reggio Emilia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Reggio Emilia > Reggio Emilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reggio Emilia
#4 Business Hotel in Reggio Emilia
Price Range: $97 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Posta 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Posta is one of the most ancient hotels in Italy. located in the hearth of the town of Reggio Emilia it is a four star hotel with 38 rooms. the meeting room with frescoes from the XIII century are famous and very well known. Breakfast room in liberty style, all rooms are different, gym, bikes, wi fi internet in all areas. Parking space inside the building. perfect location to tour the area between Piacenza and Bologna. the owners have also a farmhouse - cavazzone - in the countryside at 10 miles from the city centre where they produce the famous balsamic vinegar. tours are free of charge for guests that stay for two nights or for guests that will stop for dinner in the farmhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Reggio Emilia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing