We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary hotel in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo delle Notarie
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Reggio Emilia
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Extraordinary hotel in a lovely location”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Albergo delle Notarie is an extraordinary hotel in a remarkable city.

It is housed in an unprepossessing building on a corner in the Old Town sector of Reggio Emilia. It is very handy to the local shops off the Piazza Prampolini and surrounding areas.

The Old Town is a charming introduction to Italian piazza life – taking in the sun over an espresso, watching everyone ride their bicycles (young, old, and in-between – no car bullying or lycra macho / aggro here), socialising, gathering for weddings at the town hall. Well worth just sitting and watching – as my wife & I did for a considerable time over luncheons and dinners over our 6-day work visit.

The hotel compliments this very well. It is a short stroll from the main piazza (Prampolini) and the little shops that run off that piazza. No traffic noise (no cars, except your taxi to the hotel door) in this part of town – just the sounds of people in the neighbourhood. (I think that there might be parking exemptions for hotel guests, but I am not sure.)

The hotel is exceptionally comfortable – a large and airy room, especially welcome after a gruelling 33-hour haul from Australia. It also has a very friendly and obliging team in place. Everyone – the front desk folk, the porters, the restaurant staff, the housekeepers – all without exception were very obliging and friendly.

The restaurant has a deserved reputation as one of the best in this city.

There are many nearby eating-out options, ranging from local cafes to small food shops for do-it-yourself ingredients stored in your hotel fridge. You should be aware that the shops have the very civilised practice of closing for an afternoon break before re-opening in the evening – so you should plan your shopping accordingly.

The “newer” part of Reggio Emilia – around the railway station – is about a 15-or-so-minute walk away (or a quick taxi ride from the hotel door).

Wi fi access was a bit patchy, although the staff worked hard to resolve it. It is provided by an external provider – you have to buy a scratchie card for a log-in. I was worried about calling the Help Desk for help (my Italian is very rustic and probably unintentionally hilarious) but Daniel of the front desk called up for me and worked through the issues.

All in all, a marvellous stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lysurgis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    50
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
25
5
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

From all hotels I stayed in this was the No 2 after Posta. Service is good rooms are nice but not 100% clean in 2 different stays. Restaurant is also ok. Beautiful historical building in the city center. Next to the best Galeteria K2.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for business with a small group of colleagues and we couldn't say enough great things about this hotel! Albergo Notarie is located within the city center next to Piazza Prampolini - everything was in within walking distance. My group was doing work at the Loris Malaguzzi Center and although the hotel would happily call for a taxi if needed - we were able to easily walk there on the nice days. As other reviewers previously stated, the hotel is a little bit like a maze but that didn't bother us one bit -- I will run down the major pros and cons for ease:

Pros:
- The staff was consistently friendly and provided us with EVERYTHING we needed! Daniel, Marco and all of the lovely ladies at the front desk had great recommendations on where to eat and always provided us with a map and accurate directions as well as called taxis whenever we needed. I had needed an electric converter and they gave us one with no problem at all. My colleague wanted pizza for room service and although they do no provide pizza - they went out and got it for her :)
- Our room was very large with a large bathroom and shower. I have found that traveling in Italy many of the showers are so very small and this shower was large enough for two people. Our toiletries were always replaced and the room was immaculate
- The restaurant was delicious and again, the staff here went out of their way to make our dinner as enjoyable as possible. The food was amazing, as was the wine.
- Beautiful and quiet sitting areas, excellent location!

Cons:
- One of my male colleagues had a room on the top floor and the ceilings were a little low - especially in the shower. For a person that's a bit taller, showering was impossible unless you knelt down. I am only 5ft 1in and I just fit standing up! We laughed about this but he did find the shower a little small!

If you ever travel to Reggio Emilia, I would highly recommend the Albergo delle Notarie - it was honestly like our home away from home! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlthng3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Had a great single room; fantastic bathroom; located near one of the main squares of the city; easily walkable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernardine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Beautiful hotel, with winding hallways and lovely decor. Located directly in the city centre next to Piazza Prampolini. Make sure to go to K2, the gelato place next door, at least every day! The people at this hotel and restaurant are very attentive. The food is unbelievable- most locals will begin their dinner at 8:30 or so. Beds are tiny, but part of the European experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St_Johns_Girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I stayed here with a small group. The ambience was still that of a palace - a private residence... although finding it and parking were not so easy, (our hearts went out to our driver), it is truly in the historic center. My room was quite large and the amenities were excellent. Loved the bathroom! It is a bit of a maze finding one's way through... but that adds to the charm, doesn't it? Situated on a quiet cross street just steps from the main piazza - you are immersed in the heart of this lovely little town.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VillaVita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reggio Emilia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#2 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reggio Emilia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Classic Hotel
Best Western Classic Hotel
#8 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Morandi
Albergo Morandi
#6 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Remilia
Hotel Remilia
#7 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo delle Notarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo delle Notarie

Property: Albergo delle Notarie
Address: Via Palazzolo 5, 42121, Reggio Emilia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Reggio Emilia > Reggio Emilia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Reggio Emilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo delle Notarie 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Albergo delle Notarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing