We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find! We'll be back!”
Review of Villa Rigacci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Rigacci
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Reggello
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find! We'll be back!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Travelling as a family with 2 young children we were initially a little concerned that there may not be enough to keep the ilttle ones amused and as such not achieve our summer holiday objective of memorable quality time.....how wrong we were!
The hotel is atmospheric - stunning views, tranquil setting, relaxed atmosphere...perfect! The staff were nothing but attentive, personable and wonderful with the children...couldn't do enough for us.
The pool was perfect - especially after a day of visiting other local sites and, for the kids, the table tennis and Max the dog kept them amused!!
Food was just what was needed - nothing too fancy but all very well done...even offered the children their own minimal type (eat to live!) food which they adored!
We had a birthday whilst there and the cake made for us to help celebrate was gorgeous and I'm hoping the recipe will be sent on shortly!
As such our objective was achieved and we've all returned home looking forward to the day we return and fully relaxed having thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Rigacci.
Anyone considering should go otherwise you're missing out!
Perfect!

Room Tip: We had a family room which was perfect for 4 of us - very spacious and thoroughly clean every day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuschierim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    91
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
122
154
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Highly overrated and overpriced hotel (EUR140 per night). Bad value for money, we've stayed for the same price in Italy in marvelous luxury 4-star hotel. If the price maybe was half, then it would be worth swallowing.The room we got was so small, it felt like returning to a prison room, the bed's mattress was hard causing back pain and my friend who is 1.80m didnt fit into it! I think it was a maid's room from the 15th century. The manager when we told him, was acting as if we were fabricating non-sense, and showed us another small room that was even more depressing with one "prison" window.

The surroundings are very pretty, in the middle of Tuscan countryside, downside is that you are forced to have dinner at their restaurant. We ordered a pasta, where the taste was overruled by the cheap mushrooms that were from cans. Luckily it got scrapped from the bill at least. The risotto tasted like supermarket on-the-go rice. The salmon pasta was better, but the amount of salmon so thin. Stingy is the good word. While the prices are similar to any restaurant in big cities such as Florence. The staff in the restaurant were all from Africa (Egypt and Tunisia) and India, working horrible long hours, and not understanding much about wine or food. I don't blame them with the slave salary they get from Villa Rigacci. But i guess the crown of the trip, was when we wanted to shorten our stay, we got treated as if we were criminals, we got shouted at and even threatened. The ego was so big, and all sense of reality was lost. We were not happy, and instead of respecting us, and showing understanding for our complaints, they were obsessed with the $$$ that it would cost them if we left earlier. We stayed 2 nights, and we had to pay for 3 nights, we felt so humiliated that paying more just to leave was not a problem anymore.

All in all, horrible experience, I recommend any person not to pay more than EUR70 for this hotel (only reason for staying is the swimming pool + surroundings), and remember my words when you see the "fake" smile from the owners, the "family style" attitude is all fake. When it comes to their $$$, they have zero decency. You are better off staying at a professional chain hotel, where there are clear policies for cancellations and staff is trained to deal with complaints much more professionally, and not emotionally. We've seen the real face of this "family", and it was very ugly...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thalita007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Villa Rigacci was a one of a kind place. Gracious owners & amazing friendly staff. We stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for more, we had a lovely room with a small balcony overlooking the Tuscany hillside, the pool was lovely and clean and very welcoming after a hot day of touring around. The breakfast was excellent with Italian meats, cheeses and breads as well as fruit and cereals, dinner was also fabulous. Great location with a car as it is easily accessible to visit small towns in Tuscany and enjoy the scenic drives. Will definitely be back one day!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAP_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

“My Italian husband’s Uncle Emiddio asked us to visit him and his beautiful Florentine wife, Gilda, in Florence. Gilda being very ill, Emiddio booked a room at the hotel he reserves for family celebrations. If an Italian gentleman took his own family there, we knew it would be special.

Delayed into Pisa Airport, caro Emiddio patiently waited, depositing us in the small hours at the ancient stone entrance of Villa Regacci, amid the perfumed trees of this stunning 15C country house. To my delight a silky sheepdog shyly slinked to sit on my feet, smiling adoring up at me. My husband, only appreciative of animals if thinly sliced and lightly sautéed, took a step backward. Immediately a low voice called, the pooch silently retreating as gracefully as she had arrived.

Il Patron, Signore Pierazzi, led us through an ancient flagstoned hall, a green and yellow Florentine flag unfurled by an aged blackened olive press, up worn stone steps to reception, red carpet all the way - to each side sitting rooms opened, lined with books, easy chairs, bottles of wine on the antique tables and writing desks, open fireplaces - how comforting on a winter’s night. Il Patron explained he had two nice bedrooms, which would we prefer! Both were lovely – dark yew amoires and hulking beamed ceilings, white curtained four posters, large and comfortable, cool with crisp white cotton sheets and sumptuous, heavy silken coverlets. In the morning we woke to beams of sunlight and scents flooding in from the hotel’s flower filled gardens through a mullioned window. The nights are cool and comfortable in Tuscany even in June.

The dining rooms were beautifully set, but this being early summer we chose to breakfast under a tiled gazebo in the garden, overlooking lawns and a rose terraced pool sparkling blue in the morning sun, heavily wooded hills all round – the classic Tuscan landscape. No traffic, all we could hear were the swifts’ songs (rondellini, Emiddio said) as they hunted for their babies’ breakfasts, and a distant energetic cockrell - a million miles away from commutes and the city.

Breakfasts were relaxed and extensive. A selection of healthy chilled fruits and yoghurt, cereals, local charcuterie, pate, cheeses, rustic breads and focaccia - but the flaky croissant and devilishly delicious home made cakes finished off any good intentions on our part. Our charming waitress brought fresh coffee or juice as required. Half the day could have melted away, just reading over greedy breakfasts in this idyllic setting but, wanting to be with Zio Emiddio and Gilda, we did not stay for meals. However the luncheon and dinner menus of Villa Regacci’s restaurant “Le Vieux Pressoir” offered classic Florentine dishes and wines to tempt any, an la carte selection to cater for all.

Service was immaculate and totally unobtrusive, our room spotlessly clean and refreshed daily with crisp white linens and abundant soft white towels. The high level of comfort and standards throughout Villa Regacci is first class.

For those unable to break free of city life, all today’s vital facilities are available in the rooms. It’s situation is idyllically rural in the heart of the Chianti region, with Florence, Sienna, Pisa and Arezzo easily accessible. Driving standards being far higher here than in other regions of Italy, a hire car would open all of Tuscany for exploration. We were fortunate to be with Uncle Emiddio, an expert in Tuscany, it’s history and art. He guided us throughout this beautiful region - over the Palio course in Siena, pre-booking tickets for the Ufizi in Florence (imperative), local restaurants and gelaterie, driving us to the high, cool Vallombrosa forests with its timeless Monastery, explaining the mind boggling Florentine sport of “Calcio in Costumi” – villainous Mediaeval football literally in costume!.

The relaxed and peaceful atmosphere that pervades this enchanting country house and its grounds is a balm to those stressed and strained by 21C life. Il Patron is a gracious and genial host, gently offering his beautiful and stylish establishment to his guests. Italian style and panache can rarely be bettered, but at Villa Regacci, all comforts appear effortlessly at hand in a classically beautiful, rural setting. So subtle and unassuming is the service and carefully laid out the hotel, we were amazed to learn later it actually offers 28 bedrooms. We now say not if we go back, but when we go back.

Jane Cristiano
25.06.12”

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

One of its kind!
We loved this hotel, although we got the last available room, due to our late booking.
Very clean, comfy, cozy, well-equipped. Staff very friendly, helpful. Food is excellent (had my best ever t-bone steak here - 1 kg...).
We will definitely go back there to enjoy the lovely, cozy, lazy atmosphere for a longer time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gergoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A wonderful experience.....every time! We have stayed there several times with our dogs and always go back to stay there. The owners are lovely. The breakfast is great and so is the dinner. The staff is very friendly. Max the dog is an added bonus!
Would highly recommend the villa. Most things close by. Rooms are nice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keesha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. We'd booked a superior room and it was very nice indeed, with views over the gardens and hills, and furnished in keeping with the character of the hotel as a Tuscan villa. The room was spotlessly clean, and kept so throughout our stay.

The hotel has a very relaxed and informal atmosphere, and we were welcomed and treated as friends by the owner and his staff.

The grounds are extensive and very pleasant.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and were genuinely sorry when it was time to leave, and would certainly hope to stay there again some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stwffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reggello
4.4 mi away
Fattoria degli Usignoli
Fattoria degli Usignoli
#1 of 1 in San Donato Fronzano
306 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,257 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
403 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
#4 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
191 reviews
4.7 mi away
Relais Villa Belpoggio
Relais Villa Belpoggio
#1 of 2 in Loro Ciuffenna
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rigacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rigacci

Property: Villa Rigacci
Address: Localita Rigacci 75 | Loc. Vaggio, 50066, Reggello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Reggello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Reggello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rigacci 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 25 bedrooms, the Villa Rigacci Hotel Reggello is a 'home from home' for many discerning Tuscan visitors looking for a Tuscan hotel with personality and charm. This luxury countryside hotel offers bedrooms each individually designed to please customers with an eye for detail and a love of beautiful things. Discover the world-famous places as Florence, Siena, Pisa, the Chianti Area and the nearby outlets for stylish shopping and the perfect stage for exciting events. Plan your break at Villa Rigacci Hotel Reggello in Tuscany with great deals on accommodation, travel advice and a variety of things to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Villa Rigacci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rigacci Hotel Reggello
Villa Rigacci Tuscany, Italy - Reggello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing