We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok property though off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agriturismo Savernano
Ranked #2 of 12 Reggello B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok property though off the beaten path”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in early October on the recommendation of friends. The property is difficult to locate (up a long narrow driveway. The location is quiet, and on a warm summer evening would have been great to sit outside and enjoy the country. The weather didn't cooperate however, so we missed the pool and deck experience, although did catch some of the scenery in between showers. Tried to find lunch nearby and discovered most villages were closed on Saturday afternoon, so ended up with Gelato for lunch. Had 2 dinners and they were OK, breakfast was average for Itaiian breakfasts. Would recommend in the summer, or as a base but if I was to return again would stay closer to the Chianti's to explore Tuscany's smaller towns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidreggello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Savernano, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to write a review of our property on Tripadvisor.com.
As I sure you discovered on your recent trip, Tuscany has many beautiful hills and that what makes it original in the world, in order to see the beautiful panorama, however, it's necessary to climb those hills and see the view from the top. As I'm sure you noticed, most all important buildings; monestaries, castles, churches and hill towns were built on top of the hills, I would think for this reason.

In October, we harvest the grapes and the high summer season has come to a close. Of course the swimming pool is open, however the weather conditions (cool at night, even though it can get warm during the day) make it difficult, if not impossible to swim in the pool as well as dine on the terrace, during this time.

Perhaps it was not possibile for you to travel during the summer months, and for this I am sorry, because unfortunatly it does rain in the fall in Tuscany. This rain is neccessary for the last push of the olives in order to have a good harvest in November.

In my opinion, and of many visitors who come to this area, the fall is really a beautiful time to come to visit Tuscany because it isn't too hot, you can walk around the cities and towns better, and there are still the beautiful warm October days, if the sun comes out. If you had wanted 35 degrees C - summer weather, it's much better to come in July and August (but there are also thunderstorms in those months as well)

All of the pizzerias and restaurants are open most everyday (each one has it's own "day of rest"), but in Tuscany lunch is generally served between 12pm and 2pm, and dinner is served from 7pm until about 9:30/10pm - the other times the restaurants are closed, outside of those hours it is normal that the only places open are ice cream shops and coffee bars (that normally serve some kind of small sandwiches)

We hope you will give Tuscany another chance, visiting also the other villiages around the Chianti area, here's hoping that it won't rain.

All the best,
Regards,
Agriturismo Savernano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
151
249
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We had the most wonderful 4 days here in the countryside of regello. Surrounded by gorgeous views, olive trees, vineyards and animals ... We had a huge room and bathroom opening into a courtyard. We are here 3 nights which was lovely as it was home cooked delicious food! Breakfast could have a bit more choice but enough to get you going! The owners are delightful with some English to help guide you. They have the cutest little dog I've ever seen and an aviary a outside the front door. Sadly the pool was closed when we got there but it was probably too cold anyway! Stay here if you can it is gorgeous!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freyjabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My sister and I traveled all over the Tuscan region and for two nights stayed at the Agriturismo Savernano. I wish we would have stayed there the entire time. It was the only place we stayed on our entire trip where we got good sleep. The location is peaceful and quiet, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were dark and spacious.
David is an excellent host. He is funny and welcoming and obviously very talented and hardworking - he built this amazing place. The breakfast was delicious, plenty of choices, and David makes a perfect omelette with eggs from his own chickens. I was feeling a little under the weather the second night I was there and asked for some hot lemon honey water and David went outside and picked a lemon from one of his trees.
This place is amazing. The view is unbelievable - you are on top of a large hill with olive trees, a vineyard, farmland, and mountains surrounding you. Unfortunately it was too cold to swim, but the pool is beautiful and inviting. The location is perfect for day trips to anywhere in that area - super close to Florence, Siena, Pienza, Lucca, Pisa.
Like I said before, if I was able to plan our trip again I would have planned to stay here the entire time. The minute we started driving away, my sister and I started talking about when we can come back.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were 13 in all, booking 7 of the available rooms for 6 nights, Sept 6 through 11, 2013. David and Eva were gracious hosts, rooms were all quiet, clean and spacious. Most of us chose to stay all 6 nights for dinner on the terrace. A couple of times we were even able to make the meat choice, wild boar one night and steak florentine on the open outside fire. The pasta dishes and other fresh foods were all excellent. Our group had 5 cars at our disposal and did different day trips but always looking forward to pool time and the dinner together back at the farmhouse and, of course the sunsets. We will definitely be returning for another visit and highly recommend the same for anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

perfect stay,amazing location great hospitality and excellent food.15 minutes drive to the top designers outlet...regreat I did not join the grapes harvest early morning,planing to come again and take all rooms for a family get together

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

All I can say is that our stay was absolutely perfect and we will be sure to return. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms cozy and spotless but the best part was that David and his family treated us like royalty ensuring that we realized our dream vacation in Tuscany! We dined on the terrace every night because the food and ambiance was so perfect (all homemade and from the gardens/vineyards) that there was no need to venture further. The location is perfect for day trips to Florence or hill-top towns. I would recommend that you have a car at your disposal so that you can venture out and explore during the day, come back and enjoy the grounds and meals at night. Thanks David!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debraann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

There, after much thought-we were able to find one thing (see title) that could be improved upon at this amazing agriturismo. The meals were delicious and servings plentiful each night, we looked forward to 7:30 pm each day while exploring Tuscany. The Chianti is quite good and we certainly took full advantage of the 5 Euro/bottle price. David was the most gracious and accommodating host we've seen at any Italian agriturismo or luxury European hotel. We felt like family and were treated as such. Our 3 kids loved exploring the property: exotic birds, peacocks, swans, chickens, donkeys, pony, 3 pigs, 2 goats, endless Sangiovese vineyards, olive trees, etc. The owner restored a 200 yr old farmhouse to it's current magnificent and modern (yet still seemingly rustic Tuscan architecture) condition. The wine production facility below the house is amazing too, what a place. We stayed 4 nights and hated to leave. You'll need a car, it's a hike from town (10 minutes) but situated perfect for exploring Firenze and the Tuscan hill towns to the South and East. We utilized the Figline Valderno train Stazione to go into Florence-very easy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reggello
0.5 mi away
Villa Rigacci
Villa Rigacci
#1 of 12 in Reggello
350 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fattoria degli Usignoli
Fattoria degli Usignoli
#1 of 1 in San Donato Fronzano
306 reviews
13.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
842 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Terrazza Di Reggello
La Terrazza Di Reggello
#1 of 12 in Reggello
182 reviews
12.4 mi away
Agriturismo Petrognano
Agriturismo Petrognano
#58 of 305 in Florence
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Savernano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Savernano

Property: Agriturismo Savernano
Address: Loc. Savernano, 50066, Reggello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Reggello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Reggello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Agriturismo Savernano 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our farm holiday real estate (Agriturismo) is located at the center of the triangle between three of the most beautiful art-cities of Tuscany: Florence, Arezzo and Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Agriturismo Savernano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Savernano Hotel Reggello
Agriturismo Savernano Tuscany, Italy - Reggello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing