We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Albergo Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Italia
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Reggello
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

very worried about the bad reviews before travelling but decided to make the best of it. Hotel was more or less what we expected for a 3 star. Our room was at the back and was quiet and kept very clean. The terraces were a lovely place to enjoy the evening sun and a glass of wine, which was reasonably priced. The bar man and the 2 waiting staff were cheerful and helpful.Our only problem was that the food was nearly always cold and always served on cold plates. For us ,we would have prefered to be in a larger town with more restaurants and shops and transport links to other towns so as we could have got around independantly.Excursions were to lovely places but rather too many churches for us.

..

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed a week as part of a Page & Moy tour. We were certainly lucky to have a room at the back as we were not bothered by noise from the cafe although we were woken by a brking dog about 4am on 2 occassions and the local rooster made himself known a few times but then this is rural Tuscany in a pretty little town.

Our room and bathroom were fine for size. It was clean with plenty of coathangers (which was a nice surprise) and, as mentioned by other reviwers, the towels were lovely.

Breakfasts were perfectly adequate alough with a limited choice. The tour party had mixed views on the evening meals but we (and quite a few others) enjoyed them, especially the pasta dishes.

The tourist information office is good and can point you to other resteraunts in nearby Cassia. unfortunatley we didn't find this out until after we had booked travel only to the resteraunt where the 2 optional meals were being held. We only did this because the manager told us it was 5 kilometres to the nearest alternative resteraunts which was untrue as they were about 1km away. Some, of our party got filled rolls made up in the local bakers and we found something between a roll and a panini in the nearby cafe.

The bar prices were very reasonable especially for wine and liqueurs where no measures were used - just by hand and eye and I reckon we got between a double and treble for 3.50 euro. All in all, for a 3 star small hotel we enjoyed ourselves and the friendly staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The good part of the hotel was the fact that there was a warm welcome, Our room at the front was large with a nice size bathroom, water plentiful and hot with an excellant shower and constant towel changes. Room was kept clean and tidy as expected. However although the hotel is situated at the top of the village in a square, part of the old town, it has a bar acoross thie small square from the hotel, which was lively to say the least. on several nights we were kept awake by youths talking and shouting loudly until 3am. The bedrooms were not air conditioned and the temperature during the day rose to 35 to 37. unfortunately due to the nosiy cafe you could not open the shutters at night. Towards the end of our stay the owner asked local police to keep an eye on the noise which actually worked with a very peaceful night. However the following nightthe bar was closed so no noise, and there was alos a car rally one night which must have taken said youth to another part of town.

The food was mediocre and breakfast was quite a narrow choice with ony scambled eggs and bacon being available as a hot alternative to yoghurt, cereal of mea tand cheese. On the plus side his wine and beer was very reasonably priced.

The area is definately pretty and was what was expected,however I have never known a town so bereft of cafes, restaurents etc. There was literally nowhere to eat out that we could find, on non excusrion days you were hard pressedto find a bar to get a filled role etc.for lunch., and the nights there were evening optional trips there was no fodd avaiable at the hotel, all staff being transported to a nother venue owned by the hotel, where the optional evening was being held.

The adjoining town Frigello, within four or five miles would have been a much better place as it had a good mix of cafes,bars anjd restaurants, also a railway station where services to main towns, Sienna, Florence and even Rome were frequent and very cheap.
Page and Moy have a good reputation but I willbe writing to them to express dissapointment in what was my first and probably last visit to Tuscany. This combined with a general stike at the end of the holiday and a 14hour wait for a flight home did not endear me to this part of Italy.

I am not difficult to please and have enjoyed some lovely holidays in Italy in Lake Garda and in the Dolomites, but we were somewhat dissapointed and would not return to this venue again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have read current reviews here, so I wont repeat info. about rooms etc...they pass while a bit on the small side. Credit side ..water alway hot, towels luxurious.The village, or part of it where the hotel is situated is delightful if you enjoy calm unpretentious village life around you and arcaded ancient houses...which we do!
The hotel has three terrazza's all are pretty well non stop in the sun...there are loungers, but no umbrellas which seems quite mad. Someone else has described the food and the odd extra course of vegetables all of which we thought dissapointing. We were on a Page & Moy tour and had had a very good experience with them in Puglia and so expected that level of cuisine. This wasn't really any sort of cuisine apart from the pasta which was always good. Breakfast was an unenthusiastic version of what you now get in most hotels abroad. The fruit salad from a tin etc and coffee won the prize for being awful (as someone else has said) in fact having complained we discovered that it wasn't coffee at all but Cafe D'orzo which is made from barley!!! Apparantly it is what they had to make do with after the war! Frankly disgusting and not what you expect for breakfast. Also NO croissants for those who don't want processed ham! We speak reasonable Italian and chatting in local cafe's we discovered that the hotel had recently changed hands and this seemed to us why the hotel hadn't got to grips with standards of cooking etc. and probably why Page and Moy maybe hadn't checked it. Pity, it could be a first rate hotel...but it isn't! Alberto ( a brother of the owner) was outstanding as the friendly face but there were too few staff altogether. Wine, between 8 and 10 euros was Ok (I suppose) but that was not enough. I have written to Page and Moy about this but have not received the courtesy of a reply. I don't think they should book it again until it improves. The only other people there apart from our tour appeared to be a small group of young men who appeared for dinner, but not apparantly staying.
As a situation for a hotel, it is perfect, sadly it needs to look to its laurels!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of a Page and Moy tour.

The rooms are basic (and the furniture a little tired) but very clean, towels and linen are spotless.

The rooms to the back are small but have lovely views of the mountains. Most of the rooms to the front look into a dark narrow lane, a few look over the town square. At first, these slightly bigger rooms at the front appear to be a great - until the wine bar on the square opens at night. The Italians sit and enjoy wine until the early hours and the noise in incredible night after night. If you are a light sleeper, request a room at the back.

The food is basic but good, a starter of pasta, risotto or soup followed by an extensive salad and vegetable buffet, then a meat course (mainly pork) and a light dessert. The breakfast is perfectly adequate, cereal, toast, cold meats, cheese etc. The wine prices are very reasonable and good quality, around 10 euros a bottle for very decent middle of the road wine.

The hotel has an indoor sitting area, a terrace and an upper terrace, which is ideal for sunbathing.

The village is very quaint but has limited facilities; there is only one café, there are a few other options 25-30 minutes walk away in the next village.

If you are on the tour then you really need to book the two optional meals, which, by the way, are provided by the hotel but just in a different location!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egglesbrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I booked a surprise honeymoon trip to tuscany for my new wife through travelsphere and the hotel italia was part of the trip.
Walter the owner came out to welcome us which was a good start.
The room that was allocated to us was small, basic but had everything we needed and was very clean.
TV, wardrobe, Safe, and in the bathroom was a shower,sink, bidet and toilet.
The only down side was it was a little cold. especially in the evening. heating hadn't been turned on.
Just before evening meal there was a knock at the door, It was Walter with a complimentery bottle of champagne, he had heard we had just got married and congratulated us.
Walter seems to do everything in the hotel he is up very early and goes to bed late, I still believe that he must have twin.
Before the trip i had done some reserch on Reggello and i was under the impression that restaurants and cafes were about, so i chose to go bed and breakfast so that my wife and i could explore and try different places to eat in the evening, however there was a couple of cafe's but no restaurants, the nearest resaurant was in the next town about a twenty min walk away, all down hill. so if you are booking choose to eat at the hotel. the food is lovely and varied each night.
The hotel has a sun terrace and a beautiful view which is great to sit and watch the sun go down.
We have said we will come back and will hope to stay again at the hotel italia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yanton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Reggello is a delightful small town full of character, situated up in the hills south east of Florence. It deserves to be explored in spite of the somewhat disparaging remarks in a previous review of this hotel.

The Hotel Italia is no doubt typical of other small family run hotels to be found in such a situation and therefore clients must not expect the 4-star treatment to be found in larger cities. The owner, Walter seeks conscientiously to provide a good service within his means and the hotel is spotless. A good selection of wines is available for drinking with the evening meal. There is free use of a computer in the lobby if you want to check emails or the weather etc. We had to porter our own luggage.

We were staying for a week as part of a Page & Moy Tuscany/Rome holiday and were made to feel very welcome. Our visit coincided with a local Festival and as the hotel is situated in the small main square, some of the entertainment was right outside the door, including a spectacular fireworks display. It was a chance to get a taste of real Italian life.

Although enjoyable, there were a few things which could have been better. Breakfasts were very good, but supplies ran out if an early tour had been arranged. Those left behind who came along later found a rather sad, cold or congealed offering. The breakfast coffee was simply awful. Food is generally served on cold plates and therefore is not always hot. Meals in the evening were certainly interesting and part of the Tuscany experience. Part of the evening meal was a buffet of vegetables and some of this often ran out before everyone had been served. Tap water is not served at table and bottled water has to be bought at the bar beforehand.

A big disadvantage is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and this seems to be common in Italy. You need to take a travelling kettle with you, mugs and supplies. We always take tea bags anyway.

The safe provided free in each room was so tiny as to be almost useless – it just about held 2 passports and two purses and a wallet.
If the weather is warm there are various pleasant roof terraces to sit out on with stunning views.

Most things in Italy seem to be rounded up to exact Euros which makes even small purchases seem very expensive especially drinks/snacks at pavement cafes.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reggello
2.2 mi away
Fattoria degli Usignoli
Fattoria degli Usignoli
#1 of 1 in San Donato Fronzano
306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Rigacci
Villa Rigacci
#1 of 12 in Reggello
350 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 12 in Reggello
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Agriturismo Le Buche di Viesca
4.7 mi away
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
#4 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
191 reviews
4.6 mi away
Il Palagio
Il Palagio
#1 of 2 in Rignano sull'Arno
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Italia

Property: Albergo Italia
Address: Piazza Potente 26, 50066, Reggello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Reggello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Reggello
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Albergo Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Italia Hotel Reggello
Albergo Italia Tuscany, Italy - Reggello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing