We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Scarpariello Relais
Ranked #7 of 31 Ravello B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful old norman castle that has the most incredible setting.
We were very well looked after by Dominique and Paulo.
It is great value for what is essentially a bed and breakfast hotel (with basic rooms) - but this suited us.
Ignore any complaints about the stairs, they carry all your luggage for you and the minimal exercise keeps the guests young and fit. It really is not an issue.
We loved the access to the sea and the feeling that the hotel was a private villa.
Would highly recommend this as a launch pad to experience the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    27
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
105
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We loved this place - but beware you must be fit! Many steps link the property from the road down to the sea with terraces for reception, breakfast, drinks, pool and finally the sea! We stayed in the Regina Suite. The view from our bed and terrace was stunning. A fort-like structure literally perched over the sea. It was breathtaking! Reception was great, organising us cars to Ravello, a concert in Scala (and tickets) and recommending wonderful restaurants - mainly in Attrani. We walked to both Amalfi and Attrani for meals (a bit death defying along the coast road), which were great (two in particular in Attrani - Ristorante Savo and A Paranza - delicious fresh seafood!). They also organised a motor boat for us for the day - it was perfect (complete with ladder so you could just drop anchor and go for a swim). We made it as far as Li Galli Islands. All in all a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagellanEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The highest praise I can give Villa Scarpariello is that we keep returning! The views were, of course, spectacular and the ocean swims were perfect. Because there are few apartments/rooms, the guests don't feel overcrowded or rushed. Andrea and Carlo welcomed us back and took us to our apartment which was perfect for our needs (2 bedrooms with kitchen and porch overlooking the sea). Dominic and the lovely ladies on the terrace greeted us each morning with a simple yet delicious breakfast. (Our son was thrilled with his special mix of hot chocolate and coffee made special for him each morning.) Nicola, who owns Hotel Villa San Michele up the street, served outstanding plates each evening for dinner. His wife, Rosa, is the chef and she knows how to bring out the best flavors of the region in her cooking! Pier Paolo, Nicola's nephew, was wonderful to see as well. If you are ever in Bologna, check out his families places, La Mela and Il Duca D'Amalfi. We plan to visit there soon!
This place is the perfect location to explore the coast of Amalfi and be away from the crowds of tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalakcaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I travelled to the Amalfi coast in June to celebrate an anniversary. The gardens and layout of the Villa Scarpariello are lovely. And of course you have the wonderful views over the water. But I was quite disappointed in the quality of the interior of our rooms..It felt quite depressing to be honest and since we were there for our anniversary we ended up leaving and heading up to Ravello to stay at the Caruso (which is out of this world).

It is a good option if you are on a budget, definitely good value for money. The walk into town felt a bit exhausting but the bus stop is nearby and is very cheap. I didn't fancy driving on the roads but a car would be useful especially for getting supplies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gf0rce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been to many cities and countries all over the world but this villa is by far is one I will return to many times. You don't really need a car we walked to Amalfi and the other towns every evening for the 10 or so nights we were there. And while some say a car is necessary a car does not allow you to appriciate the views you get when you walk, every evening was a different experience. It is only a 30 or 40 minute walk (mostly down hill and if you take a taxi back (only 15 to 20 Euro) the experience is fantastic.
We had rain the first day after that it was great sun in the day and cool evenings for walking and picture taking. I took three hundred or so pictures just during our walks.
The staff was just fantastic, the steps were a bit much but worth the climb. the staff is more then willing to carry your bags both when youo arrive and depart so there is no problem there.
The history of the property is well known in all the towns, just tell someone in a resturant where you are staying and they can provide a story and if those stories are not enough Dominic can give you plenty or colorful stories about the property.
The rooms may be dated however that only adds to the charm of the experience. We had a great little kitchen and dining area overlooking the med.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a true taste of Italy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Villa Scarpariello is a superb destination. Why? The building, the history, the views, but more than the location, the hospitality of the people are stupendous! My father and I stayed at the Scarpariello for one week. Upon arrival to Amalfi, we had journeyed from Napoli by train to Sorrento, then took a bus to Amalfi, we then had to walk up a winding narrow road to the Villa. Our weary legs and tired eyes were warmly enlightened by the beauty of the views from the Villa, and the wonderful, cheerful welcome from the staff - particularly Andrea and Dominique! They quickly made reservations for us down the street at the San Michele restaurant, where there are fresh fish, and pasta dishes prepared daily by a husband and wife. Andrea worked tirelessly to assure guest satisfaction. I had made a mistake when scheduling my trip, and unfortunately we were in need of a room for our last night on the coast. Andrea quickly dialed the numbers of all his associates and found us a room within an hour! Great job Andrea, and thank you for your efforts! The Italian culture is personified around the Villa Scarpriello.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawmerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I've never been more selfishly tempted not to write a review on TripAdvisor, because this place is a hidden gem that I'd love to keep to myself. Many of the other reviews mention its good points: stunning setting, beautifully historic architecture, excellent staff, and the best breakfasts we enjoyed during our stay on the Amalfi Coast, with no hint of an additional charge. Don't stay if you'd struggle to climb the stairs in a typical three storey building, otherwise they're not an issue. (I suspect the nationality of those who warn against them to be American, with all the weight-related issues that brings.)
I would highly recommend to have your own transport to hand, or hire a scooter at reception. The buses are infrequent and rammed in summer. Other than that, this place is a romantic, charming, and picturesque paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
732 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#1 of 21 in Ravello
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Scarpariello Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scarpariello Relais

Property: Villa Scarpariello Relais
Address: Via Carusiello 32 | Localita Marmorata, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Scarpariello Relais is a bed and breakfast with charm and history built in 1533 by the University of Ravello as part of the coastal fortifications for the Amalfi villages against the invasion of pirates.A destination with breathtaking seaview suites, apartments and rooms for your ultimate vacation on the Amalfi Coast. Villa Scarpariello Relais is in the heart of the coast, strategically located in Ravello off the main road to Amalfi. An enchanting and scenic natural seaside setting overlooking the mediterrean sea.Entering the Villa you step into the past leaving the road behind you to stroll among perfumed lemon groves, magnificent terraces and colorful gardens. You find precious antiques statues and columns of the period. Villa Scarpariello Relais makes you breathe the authentic and charming atmosphere while you relax and absorbe the tranquilty of the moment. The Villa has witnessed many historical events and hosted famous guests. Today as in the past, the owners of this unique location accomodate couples, friends and families, combining local style, hospitality and elegance. This fifteenth century gem on the Amalfi Coast is characterised by its patios overlooking the mediterrean sea, a salt water swimming pool on the cliff face, sun lounging decks with private access to the sea and a private parking lot. Villa Scarpariello Relais is a perfect settings for special events, weddings, symbolic ceremonies and romantic getaways.This gorgeous location and the exclusive identity of this medieval tower represent a magical spot from the past brought to a modern day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Scarpariello Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing