We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful residence on the Amalfi coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Scarpariello Relais
Ranked #7 of 30 Ravello B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fläsch
2 reviews
“wonderful residence on the Amalfi coast”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in appartment 9. Rooms are nice: the faint sound of the surf makes sleep very relaxing. The view is spectacular: wonderful from dawn to dusk. The park is very relaxing with pool and access to the sea. Our stay topped of a wonderful 10 days in southern Italy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    27
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
99
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

First, I am Karen, not Dick but that being said we both stayed in the Apartment Emmanuel in Sept. There were a lot of steps but it was worth it. What a stunning location. The gardens and grounds are stunning. I can't think of a more beautiful spot. Dominique was especially helpful in guiding us to spots to see and places to shop. We self catered but usually ate one meal out a day. This spot is so lovely you are better off doing one off property exploration per day and spend the rest of your time in this paradise. The grounds and views are unparalleled. The cooking facilities were a bit dated but it was worth it to stay in such an amazing historic spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently brought 30 guests to Italy to celebrate my Birthday. We rented the entire Villa, which is simply Wonderful!! The rooms, the staff (Paulo, Domenico, Rafaelina, Marina), the location and the atmosphere were just perfection. It took me a year of working with Emiliano (Who is also wonderful) to produce the perfect experience for my family and friends. I highly suggest that if you are planning a trip to paradise, run don't walk to the Villa Scarpariello, you will not be sorry. Grazie, Grazie, Grazie!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDominijanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A piece of heaven on the Amalfi coast. The views and the resort take my breath away. It is very hard to capture the comfort and beauty in a picture. You must visit. There is a quaint village, Minori, very close by for eating and to walk around.

Room Tip: be ready to clime stairs. It is part of the charm. every level has a surprise. for fitness, clime t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is an amazing place in an amazing setting. We were welcomed by Paulo on our first day and treated as very special people. Domenica is a fountain of knowledge and seems to be on duty 24 hours a day!
The rooms are quite dated and the bed was not the most comfortable. We had rain coming under the window on our first night and had to resort to putting bath towels on the floor to mop up the water - it was impossible to close the shutters - they didn't fit properly and we got wet trying.
The toilet seat was broken and a balcony light was not working - both reported on our first day but nothing done about it during our seven day stay.
Breakfast was usual continental although for extra cost you could have a cooked breakfast. Although not arriving late at breakfast often fruit/fruit juice (not freshly squeezed by the way - bought in bulk) had diminished. On our last day a swarm of wasps had settled under the napkin covering the croissants - bit scary!
Remember there is no footpath on the road so you take your chances with the traffic and be prepared for climbing a lot of steps. Not great if you are not very fit.

Room Tip: Our room looked straight out to sea - no near neighbours and wonderful views from the balcony along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Words can't describe this magical place. But, I will try to explain why everyone who loves the sea should visit Villa Scarpariello. I am always most impressed when the owners and staff take pride in their property. Every person we met was friendly, cheerful, and happy to assist us with our every need. Pier Paolo and Andrea (son to Nicola who owns San Michele which is the main villa up the road) greeted us at the entrance to Villa Scarpariello and welcomed us to our room. The views were truly breath taking. The room was spacious and very clean with beautiful tiled floors, and views of the sea out every window. We lunched on one of the patios enjoying fresh fruit, pasta and a bottle of delicious white wine. The afternoon was spent swimming in the salt water pool and diving from the cliff into the sea. We walked up to San Michele for dinner where Nicola and his wife had prepared the perfect menu. The first and second plates were incredibly fresh and we enjoyed every morsel. The fish must have been caught that day and the pasta made that afternoon by Nicola's wife! The desserts greatly pleased our son (especially the melon and mint ice cream) and we enjoyed wine from Ravello as well as lemoncello after dinner. The next morning, breakfast was perfect. Dominic (who keeps meticulous care of the grounds and gardens) brought us fresh figs and Marina made delicious cappuccino and hot chocolate for our son. (Carlo made us delicious cappuccino later as well!) This is the perfect spot to visit Ravello (a beautiful town high on the cliff) or other towns in the area. We will visit again and again, having found a heavenly place on the coast.
(We will also visit the family's restaurants in Bologna, "La Mela" and "Il Duca Di Amalfi"!)
Thank you to everyone at Villa Scarpariello and Villa San Michele for the perfect retreat. oxox

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalakcaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This place is incredible, it's like staying in a palace, it's so grand but rustic,

The beds are a bit uncomfortable need changing, but that's my only complaint the rest is pure heaven and veiws and fabulous service from Paulo and Domenica, they treat you like family it's wonderful.

It's a castle on the beach amazing veiws the best I've ever seen, I felt so happy here, we would have stayed all day and night in the villa if they had a bar or snack place to have food that would be a great addition to this heaven,

I'm going back, I don't think I can wait till next year, I'm going back very soon..

I loved, loved, loved it

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franklynlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#3 of 21 in Ravello
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Scarpariello Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scarpariello Relais

Property: Villa Scarpariello Relais
Address: Via Carusiello 32 | Localita Marmorata, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Scarpariello Relais is a bed and breakfast with charm and history built in 1533 by the University of Ravello as part of the coastal fortifications for the Amalfi villages against the invasion of pirates.A destination with breathtaking seaview suites, apartments and rooms for your ultimate vacation on the Amalfi Coast. Villa Scarpariello Relais is in the heart of the coast, strategically located in Ravello off the main road to Amalfi. An enchanting and scenic natural seaside setting overlooking the mediterrean sea.Entering the Villa you step into the past leaving the road behind you to stroll among perfumed lemon groves, magnificent terraces and colorful gardens. You find precious antiques statues and columns of the period. Villa Scarpariello Relais makes you breathe the authentic and charming atmosphere while you relax and absorbe the tranquilty of the moment. The Villa has witnessed many historical events and hosted famous guests. Today as in the past, the owners of this unique location accomodate couples, friends and families, combining local style, hospitality and elegance. This fifteenth century gem on the Amalfi Coast is characterised by its patios overlooking the mediterrean sea, a salt water swimming pool on the cliff face, sun lounging decks with private access to the sea and a private parking lot. Villa Scarpariello Relais is a perfect settings for special events, weddings, symbolic ceremonies and romantic getaways.This gorgeous location and the exclusive identity of this medieval tower represent a magical spot from the past brought to a modern day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Scarpariello Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing