We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Splendid Holiday at the Parsifal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Splendid Holiday at the Parsifal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

When we decided to use Ravello as our base town for visiting the Amalfi Coast, we spent some time researching hotels, and Parsifal got our vote. We were not disappointed. We had booked a suite with an ocean view, which we received. The room was recently renovated, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated with many modern amenities.

While Parsifal would not be considered a "luxury" hotel, it's charm, beauty, cleanliness, staff, and attention to detail make it an absolute delight. Breakfast and one meal are typically included in the price, and the dinners "al fresco" on the terrace overlooking the bay make for a truly romantic evening. The food is fresh and well prepared, and we basically ate at the hotel each evening to enjoy the view at candlelight. Leonardo, Raffaele, and Antonio manage the place, and are exemplary in their being accommodating, helpful, and pleasant to deal with. They're all fluent in Italian, English, and probably a few more languages, and a pleasure to talk to.

Parsifal is a gem of an hotel in a gem of a town. These are places that take your breath away and that have given us priceless memories. If you want to share in the beauty and the romance of Ravello, make Parsifal your home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurizio_and_Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    110
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
95
349
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

After coming off of three days at a disappointing five star hotel on Capri we found Parsifal a pure delight. The service was prompt and courteous, the food excellent in all aspects and the accommodations were exactly what we were looking for.

Before starting our trip we were looking for a family atmosphere to experience the real Italy. While at Parsifal we meet two of three brothers who put their heart and soul into welcoming and caring for their customers. Antonio, Leonardo, and Luciano are three brothers from the area of Ravello that work to help you experience the tastes, sights and sounds of what Ravello has to offer.

Quiet and affordable accommodations over looking one of the most picturesque vistas imaginable. The whole experience was a pure delight.

Venturous individuals take to the hiking trails and experience the elevation and what is was like in the past to travel without roads. Many of the towns are connected by these trails. Within these towns you will find piazza's that give you opportunity to taste, hear and join in the culture. We especially enjoyed a day at the beach in Atrani.

Also, check out the restaurant campa cusimo in ravello, another delightful experience.

Overall, when visiting hotel parsifal, expect a charming, understated, unpretentious and truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debportbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed for two nights and wish we had more time to stay another few nights, we will most definitely be going back. Lovely quiet hotel, with a great view. The staff are all part of a family and you can feel the warmth in how they make you feel welcome. The food was excellent, the fish I had on the second night was the best meal I had in the 12 nights we spent in Italy. A great base to explore the coast if you want to stay away from busier towns and it is still easy to get around. The beach is still just a 30 minute walk and the buses are frequent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMcBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

It had been 20 years since my wife and I visited Ravello and the Hotel Parsifal - without kids and counting our lira. This time we arrived with our two teenagers and our very closest friends, who had heard all our exultations about Ravello and the Hotel Parsifal. It was then, and still remains, our favorite hotel in our favorite town in Italy. Hotel Parsifal's hillside perched location, its rooms, its restaurant and its common terrace areas and the views from them looking out over onto Maiori and Minori, the hills and and the Tyranean sea are enchanting all on their own. Our large vaulted ceiling room # 31 housed the four of us and gave us access to our private terrace with table, and to a rooftop lawn area for lounging and for sunbathing on lawnchairs. Our friends room, #23, was also unique in that their room opened directly onto their own private vaulted and arched terrace balcony with the most amazing view. The six of us would gather there in the evenings to enjoy Parsifal wine, limoncello, and even fireworks from Maiori for ferragosto. In two very important aspects since our last trip, Hotel Parsifal excels even more- the knowledgeable and professional owners and staff and the restaurant food. The Mansi family, led by Antonio, made us feel special! Not only were they attentive to our needs, they seemed to anticipate them during our stay. From our wonderful dinner upon our very late arrival, to our mapped out paths down to Atrani and then to Minori, to an al fresco birthday dinner, and to an arranged transport to Praiano, Antonio and staff took care of everything very efficiently and graciously--an extremely smooth and impressive operation. The other notable difference was the food served. I had warned our friends about the 1/2 board required either at lunch or dinner and how it was just "ok" 20 years ago. However, it is quite evident from our excellent meals at the Hotel Parsifal this time, that Antonio is striving to make the Parsifal restaurant a superb dining destination in its own right. Already won over by their extensive breakfast, the lunch and dinners were exceptional! We are still talking about the fresh fish dishes and that fabulous dark chocolate and eggplant desert! My wife and I have vowed not to wait another 20 years to come back to Ravello, and when we do come back, it will most definitely be a return to the Hotel Parsifal!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nationalparkguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Ravello in general is breathtaking! Our room did not have AC, although weather is nice even in August. The bathroom had a bathtub with no shower, so be ready to soap, then rinse. Rooms are OK, nothing special. Every member of the staff is attentive and helpful, this is a big plus here, made a big difference.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Parsifal for six nights in May for our wedding. From the minute we arrived, we were treated better than we have ever been anywhere in the world. The entire Mansi family--in particular Antonio, Leonardo and Rafaelo--looked after all our needs, and they well and truly went above and beyond for us. We were upgraded when we arrived to a gorgeous room with it's own garden overlooking the most amazing view in the world of the stunning Amalfi Coast. On our wedding night, we arrived home to a bottle of sparkling in our room, and they bought snacks to our wedding party as we sat in the courtyard even though the restaurant had closed. We had problems with the GPS in our hire car, and they spent so much time calling the car provider to try and have it fixed or replaced. The restaurant was also fantastic--freshly baked croissants and breadrolls every morning, with a great deal more than the usual coffee and breadroll you get at many Italian hotels. Here, you had the choice of cereals, salami, cheeses, olives, fresh fruit and pastries, plus freshly made coffee. And dinner was always superb. They use local produce and every night the three course menu is different, but always features local cuisine. When it was time to leave, we simply didn't want to go. We have never felt so welcome as we did at Hotel Parsifal. Fortunately for us, we were married in Ravello, so we will be returning regularly over the coming years, and we will never consider staying anywhere else. We simply can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I stayed here the week I was gettin married in May and Antonio and his staff were the most accommodating and professional I have met anywhere, and I worked in travel for 11 years. There was a party of five of us staying in Hotel Parsifal and on the last night my brother fell and cut his head on the way home. We were a little drunk, and the night manager was straight into action with his first aid kit. The guys couldn't do enough for us. This hotel has a lot of class. It is elegant and rustic in parts, and that's the beauty of it. The setting is unbelievable, a real taste of Italy, and the view is stunning. You won't be let down by this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#1 of 22 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
2.0 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 22 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Property: Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing