We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely time here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Hotel Parsifal is a lovely place - a small hotel run by 3 brothers. It was an old convent dating back to 1288? The gardens are beautiful and its lovely to sit there in the afternoon and enjoy the stunning view. When we arrived after a long day travelling we were greeted warmly and since it was quite late in the day decided to have a drink on the terrace. They specially did some bruschetta for us. We had dinner on the same terrace later and the meal was delicious. They also have a dining room where we had breakfast each morning. The breakfasts were great as well - a good selection. Some of the rooms are a really good size - ours was a little smaller but still adequate. Our bathroom was okay but the shower was quite tiny. Our friends' room was much bigger and the bathroom was a good size. Both rooms had a lovely view of either the mountain and valley or ours looked out over the beautiful garden and villas scattered up the hill. The brothers were so friendly and helpful. Especially when our friend had a problem with something he had bought in another town. Antonio offered to ring the shop for him and sort it out in Italian which was much easier. The other 2 brothers Luciano and Leonardo were lovely as well. They have plans to renovate the hotel soon which will be great. It is simply decorated but its excellent value for somewhere like Ravello. The position is good - just a little walk from the main piazza and not steep. We loved it here and would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaGiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 622 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our top reasons for staying at the Parsifal:
1) Fantastic staff that couldn't be more helpful, friendly, welcoming and down right brilliant.
2) If you want a taste of Italian style rather than a plastic corporate hotel, then this is it. Everything you imagine an Italian home to be, the architecture and ambience are spot on.
3) The views.
4) The food.
5) The communication before and during your stay to ensure that everything can be exactly as YOU want it.
6) Ravello!

The reason we think this, my wife and I were married in ravello in June this year and our family and friends filled the hotel for 3 days. Antonio, Leonado, Rafael and the other staff at the hotel made each and everyone of our party feel like they were the most important people in the world. As with any wedding, the organisation can be quite stressful, but not with these guys. Antonio co-ordinated everything perfectly, he even made the rain go away with his constant belief and re-assurance! Antonio and his team have been at the Parsifal for some years and their local knowledge not only of the places, but of the people who locally will arrange, help, provide or perform miracles to make you stay whatever you want it to be is second to none.

But don't take my word for it, book a stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great here, and the majority have a view and/or balcony
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our family had an 11-day trip in Italy planned that was going to take us from Rome to the Amalfi coast, up to Pisa and then to Lake Como. We arrived at Hotel Parsifal after four days in Rome and we never left. Five minutes (literally) after our arrival at the hotel we requested to extend our stay for the remainder of our vacation. It was the exact place we really needed: beautiful, quiet, accommodating, great food, exemplary service and local advice. I've never seen a group of just a few individuals work so hard; these guys were there from sun-up to midnight running the hotel and restaurant. Anthony, the hotelier, and the rest of the staff were so solicitous of our little daughter: they fixed her special "kid-friendly" pasta dishes for dinner, moved a small bed into our room for her, let her feed the goldfish, and even arranged a babysitter one night so we could go out as a couple. Anthony helped arrange several excursions and event tickets for us. We left with every intention now of returning many times. It was also immaculate. The price is an unbelievable value. Forgo the expensive, impersonal hotels in Ravello and enjoy the true experience of this exquisite place by staying at the Parsifal.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 29 with a sea view. Perfection!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is the place my daughter and I always visit when we can. The views, the owners and staff, the food..all make this hotel one of the most spectacular destinations on the Amalfi Coast. I can't praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Many thanks to Antonio and the team for a truly memorable stay in the best hotel we have stayed in. Why the best? Because it feels immediately welcoming, is unpretentious but with an extremely high standard of guest care. We stayed in the newly refurbished room 29, which provided everything needed for a comfortable stay, esp. aircon (which was quiet and very effective)! The balcony was an indulgence, but an unmissable luxury. You have to see the view for yourself - it is quite breathtaking.
We ate in the hotel every night bar one in the gorgeous terrace restaurant, with a different special (and the same wine) every night. We had tried to find variation in Ravello, but each time were disappointed with the cost or the location compared to "home". Getting the bus to Amalfi was certainly an option, but staying to dine at Parsifal was a no-brainer.
The only slightly negative point was perhaps a lack of imagination with the breakfast, but this was hugely outweighed by the service and location. When the refurbishment programme is completed it will be hard to find a better small hotel in the world.
And a tip? Get the taxi transfer the hotel offers from the airport, and don't under any circumstances hire a car. You will never be able to park it roadside anywhere on the coast, and the Sita buses are cheap and frequent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We loved our stay at the Raffaello Hotel. We were running very late on our first day and phoned ahead to let the hotel know. When we finally arrived we were warmly greeted outside by name by the manager and we were taken straight to our room.
The room we had been given was excellent and looked like it had recently been renovated. Most importantly, it had wonderful views. For our entire stay of two nights the staff were polite and extremely helpful. We asked for salt for a picnic and were lent a salt cellar without a qualm.
I highly recommend this hotel. The room and grounds were lovely, but it was the superb staff and management that really made our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharpasamarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel is really special. It is simple, provides all that you really need with no frills and provides value that I didn't think was possible on the Amalfi Coast. The hotel sits next to the uber expensive Hotel Caruso and provides views that are probably the best in Ravello. (the views are not obstructed by the stage) The back patio where dinner is served is modest but the food was wonderful and so reasonably priced. Antonio, our host, made us feel welcomed and was extremely helpful in advising us not only on wine, but how to navigate the somewhat complicated ferry system in our efforts for a daytrip to Capri.

This is a property that I will definitely visit again. It just doesn't make sense to pay the other Ravello hotels 2-3X the money for memories that are largely identical. (especially since the Sasso and the Caruso will allow you to stop by for a drink if you are really interested in "window shopping")

Room Tip: Develop an email diologue with Antonio prior to arrival. He is good at responding and you'll fe...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kinginfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $129 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing