We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Giardino dei Limoni B&B
Ranked #29 of 30 Ravello B&B and Inns
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sea views”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The views from this b&b are breathtaking and well worth the climb down the steps. The apartment itself was a decent size, a little shabby chic but very comfortable. The breakfast was left stocked in the kitchen so that you helped yourself during your stay. There was a very generous amount of food left for our 5 night stay and we didn't manage to eat it all.

It appears each apartment has its own balcony with the wonderful sea views across the coast. The area is very peaceful and relaxing and we ended up spending most of the time when it was too hot to go anywhere staying around the b&b. There is a newly built communal roof terrace among the lemon groves with a couple of sun loungers and a shower.

Its definitely a get away from it all place and there isn't much to do around the B&B, you need to walk into Ravello. As with all the other reviews beware of the number of steps to the town! The first time we did it we swore we would have to find a different location to stay but once you reach Ravello it all seems worth it. You need to take it steady and don't do it midday when its very hot!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowe&Dumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, SC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2008

We loved our stay here (3 nights). Yes, there are stairs up to the town of Ravello (very quiet in December), but there are also wonderful paths to Amalfi, etc. and a truly spectacular view. Our room had a great regular bed, excellent full tub, and kitchenette, with abundantly stocked breakfast items.

We ended up cooking simple pasta and soup dishes for evening meals, and enjoying the views, after days out exploring.

We had a car, but left it parked while hiking the Path of the Gods (highly recommended for hikers), took the bus to Amalfi, and return from Positano. Fabulous for an off-season base and the family was extremely nice and welcoming.

We had wireless internet access, as well, after asking, a plus!

  • Liked — Wonderful view!
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

This is a very cheap and cheerful B&B. The bed was a sofa bed but actually comfy. Great views from the balcony.
If you are looking for a cheap place to crash in Ravello, this is it. It's certainly not a 5* hotel, but for the price, it is by far the cheapest thing I found when booking.
Good for students/middle incomes. Not good for designer living!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The green hanging balcony divider
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County NY USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

My son and I stayed here last week and were well prepared for the steps by virtue of the previous reviews. It is just as people have described, very nice and comfortable with world-class, ever-changing (because of different cloud cover/time of day) views. Truly spectacular views over the bay and the coast. We counted 135 steps up to the nearest road (via della Repubblica) and 464 to the center of Ravello, as well as 764 down to Marmorata on the water. A charming location in the midst of lemon groves and grapevines. There's a non-touristy little bar about 200m up the road where you can get (delicious) sandwiches, drinks, and desserts if you don't want to walk all the way up to town. We didn't have a lot of interaction with the owners, but they were very helpful and friendly when we did.

The kitchen was stocked with breakfast basics but you'll want to supplement (there are enough pots, knives provided etc. to do cook simple dinners with, at least the way I cook). There are a couple of macellerias (butcher shops) in Ravello and one tiny but well-stocked grocery on the via Roma, along with a few more touristy olive oil/wine/etc shops, if you want more selection you'll have to go to Amalfi or Minori. We didn't find much fresh produce in the stores so it probably comes on a truck in the bus square through the tunnel. Eating on the terrace overlooking the view is a wonderful experience, although there were five kittens that kept coming around for handouts.

Unlike one previous reviewer, we did not find any English-language channels on the TV, though we enjoyed the Italian TV we did see. A couple of the channels had "interesting" programming such as Tele Capri.

The apartment itself is small but very clean and nice. A terrific deal at 60 euros/night.

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We booked in to stay here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding at Villa Cimbrone. The apartment was lovely and clean. Great comfortable bed, fridge, cooker. Yogurts and coffee/tea are provided. The view was amazing and overall it was great value at €60 / night. Our friends stayed in Hotel Parsifal and their room was tiny and cost €150 / night. The steps were not as bad as we thought and helped work off all the calories we consumed. Please be aware that there are a lot of steps to climb to get to the town square.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate_high_standards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Fantastic value apartments, although difficult to find by car. We were dropped off by a friend in a hire car and struggled to find it, (you can't actually see the Apartments from the road). You might see a small sign on the right as you go down the hill saying Via Casa Nova and then you'll have to go down about 100 or so steps from the road to the Apartment entrance, and with your cases, this can be a chore in the hot weather.

The Apartments were excellent though, very clean, with a comfortable bed, good air conditioning units, clean kitchen with water, yoghurts, fruit drinks, jams etc in the fridge, a powerful shower, a few English TV channels, and absolutely stunning views of the bay with your own private terrace with deck chairs, and table/chairs/umbrella for shade.

The owner, Grigorio, was very charming & helpful, and spoke good English.

The main thing to consider here is the amount of steps up into the main town square. About 420 so we were told. I tried to count them but decided that breathing was more important so gave up on this. The steps are tough but are by all means do-able, and certainly justifies eating a big dinner because you can burn it all off on the walk home.

Ravello Town Square is a lovely, quiet spot with a few good restaurants and bars, but really, not much else to see. If we had spent any more than 3 days in Ravello, we'd have been bored. Luckily we had a wedding to attend at Villa Cimbrone, which is a beautiful & peaceful place if you get the chance to visit/eat here.

If you're a lover of ceramics, you'll do well as there are plenty of these shops around, although strangely, we struggled to find anywhere that sold a good choice of food !!?

The alternative to walking into town is of course a 5 minute taxi ride, but we found that taxis were not always available, and some drivers weren't keen on driving such a short trip. Grigorio drove us into town once as he was unable to get us a taxi! If you can get a cab though, they cost 15 euros one way, but money well spent.

All in all, a very peaceful, relaxing place, and for the price of the room, and the beautiful views you get with it, it's well worth going up the steps.

  • Liked — Views, Clean Room
  • Disliked — Steps Up in to Town
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SnowflakeSwindonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

The most amazing location to view part of the Amalfi coast. The apartments are very clean and well maintained. The sofa beds are not the best but the location makes up for it.

The only problem are the steps to get anywhere! 417 of the things to climb up to ravello itself and more to go down to the coast. Ideally this apartment is suited to car drivers or reasonably fit walkers/ travellers. 15 Euros to get a taxi down from the bus stop or loads of walking with cases / packs.

Still amazingly beautiful and would go back !

  • Liked — Grapes in the garden
  • Disliked — Steps
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPhysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.4 mi away
Toro Hotel
Toro Hotel
#19 of 21 in Ravello
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo della Marra
Palazzo della Marra
#16 of 30 in Ravello
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ravello Rooms
Ravello Rooms
#1 of 30 in Ravello
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Casale
Villa Casale
#5 of 9 in Ravello
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
B & B I Limoni
B & B I Limoni
#28 of 30 in Ravello
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al Borgo Torello
Al Borgo Torello
#19 of 30 in Ravello
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino dei Limoni B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino dei Limoni B&B

Property: Giardino dei Limoni B&B
Address: Via Casanova 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Giardino dei Limoni B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Giardino dei Limoni B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Dei Limoni Bed And Breakfast
Giardino Dei Limoni Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing