We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A must for all!

The best way to spend the day on the Amalfi coast. Not only will you have the most delicious meal... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
jaclynepbernstein
,
Boston, Massachusetts
via mobile
Our family of 5 agreed; It was the highlight of our holiday!

We visited Mamma Agata's beautiful home and cooking class as a family of 5. We had a wonderful... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Dorothy S
,
Massachusetts
Read all 438 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ravello
from $76.67
More Info
from $43.16
More Info
from $53.25
More Info
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
428
5
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
428
5
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemon cake cooking school her daughter the kitchen hidden treasure at home eggplant parmigiana highlight of our trip food and wine other guests amalfi coast red wine learned how old friends amazing experience tomato sauce our honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 438 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

We had a magical day at Mamma Agata's. We made an instant connection with Chiara and her family. Their love of food and sharing how to prepare it was evident from the moment we arrived. In Mamma's kitchen, she took us on a delicious culinary journey from the first pan on the stove to our last bite. Gennaro provided excellent wine parings and was happy to share his in-depth knowledge as a sommelier. We felt at home strolling the grounds while taking in the breath taking scenery. Our day ended with hugs and tears as strangers had become family. This experience is a must!!

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Scottgordon1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2016

Mamma Agata's cooking class is an amazing experience and if you are traveling the Amalfi Coast it is a definite highlight and a memory to be stored away and treasured. Chiara welcomes the class with open arms and is absolutely the "hidden treasure". The class accommodates all food issues and is going to add a "gluten free" section in their next cookbook. I loved being there and being included in their lifestyle. A "must do" if you are traveling the Amalfi Coast.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Spending the day at Mamma Agata's is as close to living "old school Italy" as possible. Step back in time and spend the day with a great family leaving all the secrets of great Italian cooking. The best day of our trip.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank 77Ricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

When we decided a year ago to visit the Amalfi Coast, the first thing we saw on TripAdvisor (our source for all vacation choices) was rave reviews about Mamma Agata's cooking school. We made our reservations a year in advance (literally) and built our trip around this event. Quite honestly, we wondered if it could live up to all the glowing comments here on TA. Good news: It did. And then some.

I won't repeat all of the food and scenery comments made by other (accurate) reviewers. I'll simply note that the star of the show--and I say "show" in the most positive tenor possible--is Chiara. She is a fun-loving, passionate, affable entrepreneur who parlayed her mother's cooking and recipes into a charming business venture. The food was great, the cooking tips wonderful, and the scenery breathtaking--but what made this day extraordinary was Chiara's hospitality and boundless energy. She learned all of our names when we walked in the door and she used them all day--even creating running gags for each of us. It was delightful.

If you're wondering if this daylong event (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.) is worth the significant cost, I pledge to you that it is worth every penny.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank docproc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016

From the moment the front door opened off the street, we were treated as long-lost friends by Chiara and her family. The family might do this presentation every day every week, but each person is treated as mighty special and as though you are the only people who have ever attended the cooking course. A great skill in presentation, knowledge, information, self-deprecation(!), and getting everyone involved all day long. By the end of the day, we were tired, fed, exhausted, but rewarded with an amazing experience, never considered before, but we would definitely return with other friends, to enjoy Chiara's, Gennaro's and Mamma Agata's hospitality and friendship.
Thank you!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews