We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Italian family-run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Garden
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Having been thrashed within an inch of my life / guided (delete as applicable) by “she who must be obeyed” this review is resubmitted with a one notch increase in rating to 5*. Upon reflection she is, of course, correct.
…………………………………………

Unless you are after ultimate luxury this hotel really has to be high on any shortlist for Ravello, and that is no easy achievement as it is a beautiful resort with many nice hotels.

The position of this hotel is 2nd to none. Located on the downhill side of the main road into town, just before the tunnel to the main square, the aspect is shared by the very best luxury hotels such as palazzo avino, etc. However, they are sometimes affected by road noise echoing up the hill as they are above the road, whereas you don't hear anything on the downhill side. The view is almost identical to that classic ravello postcard shot taken from villa rufallo which is immediately next door.

Whilst not the longest menu in the world the food is varied, and of a very high standard.

The wine list is predominantly Italian (and why not) and is peppered with well known names at remarkably reasonable prices. This all the more notable as many of the wines are from "good" years, indeed even the best years of the last decade or so.

The family and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, going beyond the necessary.

The rooms are typical 3 star standard with all you need and decent wet room facs. All have a balcony enjoying "that" view. The beds are comfortable.

The one gripe is the noisy rooms. In this regards it is primarily that the dining rooms are on top of the bedrooms and each night / morning the scraping of chairs on the tiled floors above is noticeable. Depending on your sleeping habits this might intrude a bit. In our case it was notable but not intrusive. In all other respects this hotel is excellent in its class.

There is a small but nice pool and sun terraces, in the event that you think that the beauties of ravello are not a draw!

This hotel is highly recommended and I would suggest the reader is not put off by the "noise" that is mentioned above and by others. Just take an ear plug just in case - you probably won't need it.

PS: there are a few earlier reviews which complain about (sic) lack of concierge, a view of a roof (how anyone can complain about the view from this hotel is beyond me), etc. With respect to fellow reviewers, I cannot disagree more! If you need a concierge the family have lived here for 100 years and probably know where most things are / can be arranged. I have never met a more helpful group of owner-managers, particularly Anna, in 30 years of travelling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lesjackos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Nice hotel where all rooms have excellent views to the coast, mountains and sea. Stayed three nights in a small room with a small bathroom and a nice balcony. Not high room standard but OK. The extra bed was very uncomfortable but was changed on request after the first night. Great, functional swimmingpool with views.

Off course also breakfast is served on a terrace with excellent views. Breakfast quality better than the Italian average. Staff friendly and helpful, a little reserved. Did not get an opportunity to check the hotel bar as it closed early every afternoon due to private parties.

Ravello is touristic and more crowded than we expected, however less than Amalfi and Positano. High prices all over, even in the two small alimentari’s with the smallest fruit selection and highest fruit prices we have ever seen in Italy. Try “La Cucina di Sofi” in Via Roma: Great food and service, good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, near everything and easy to access You do not need to walk through narrow and steepy "vielas" to get to it. Great view of the amalfi coast. Clean, kind staff. xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxxx

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank 250Ayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lovely hotel-our room had great view over amalfi coast. Our sMall balcony would have been good- but it was quite cool when we were there in April. Lounge area equally good for sitting and taking in the view.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.
Location great for walking into village
Attached restaurant very good, although somewhat overpriced for the evening meal we had there

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MandC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, amazing view, very helpful staff, walking distance to all attractions, parking arrangements near by.
5 min. Walk to the town center.
Parking in the theatre near by for very cheap.
The woman at the desk was very helpful, gave us a map and explain where and when to go.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yuval_270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were made very welcome by Anna,nothing was too much trouble. Anna advised us on places to visit and bus info.The hotel is just a 2 minute walk through the tunnel into a lovely village square.You can walk and explore or sit with a coffee and watch the world go by. The views are simply stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I agree with dewy 123. As you come up the winding road to Ravello the hotel is right at the top. Just through the pedestrian tunnel full of posters of famous musicians you come out into the piazza with villa ruffolo on your left and beyond that, also on your left the path to villa cimbrone. -so it is really convenient. The rooms were ok though not big and the walls not super thick. Views were amazing! I thought it was fair value for the money. Didn't try the pool but the area looked nice. The restaurant makes money from the tour bus business but still had a nice area for guests. We only had the breakfast- plenty of options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hwattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Moresca
Hotel La Moresca
#9 of 21 in Ravello
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Garden

Address: Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ravello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#12 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $126 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Garden Hotel
Ristorante Garden Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing