We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
634
94
12
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
634
94
12
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board pasta the bus the cliff amalfi coast swimming platform every evening this small family run hotel breakfast and dinner home cooked half pension sound of the waves private access coastal road italian hospitality italian family local buses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 753 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

I’m so glad I did my research on Trip Advisor. This small family run hotel is an absolute gem! We managed to get the last room, the only one without a balcony but still with magnificent views over the sea.
There were all the basic amenities, the shower was a bit small but fine, the bed was comfy. What really makes this hotel are the staff. The two brothers are very helpful and answered our many questions. Antonio is adorable and serves in the restaurant. We ate every night in the restaurant and the food is delicious, real homemade cooking.
Every evening we had an aperitif in the garden and could not get enough of the views!!!
There is a small sunbathing platform with parasols which we used to swim in the sea.
You do have to be fairly fit as there are a lot of stairs to climb between the sea to your room and then more up to the restaurant and then up to reception but it keeps you fit!
The hotel is between Amalfi, which we walked to and Minori. There is a regular bus service to visit the coast.
We will definitely come back again and would like to thank everyone at Villa San Michele for a wonderful 5 days.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ingold4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

After driving through the tourist packed towns of Positano and Amalfi, Villa San Michele is an absolute joy of perfectly located quiet sophistication. The peaceful room with terrace and amazing views could not have been better - there are only 12 - and the family owners provide obvious pride in maintaining the traditional hospitality of the region. Whether lounging in the sun, dipping in the sea, hiking up the many walks (traditional step pathways) or simply hopping the local bus, which stops literally on the other side of the road - it was a perfect place for a 7 day break.

Room tip: Rooms with S East facing balconies will get the early sun,whereas those at the Amalfi end get later afternoon sun.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

My three generational family and I enjoyed 5 marvelous nights at this incredibly sweet slice of paradise. A piece of our hearts are still there... The family is incredibly warm, welcoming, and attentive. During our stay, we met wonderful guests that are return visitors. We hope to get back soon, as well. We parked our car there, drove to sights, taxi service was easily available if requested, we easily made a return to the hotel by bus, and we're able to arrange a boat ride/tour right from the hotel dock. Words can not capture nor convey the magical and heavenly time spent here. Breathtaking views, delicious food, relaxing and rejuvenating atmosphere...I am so glad we found this little jewel--

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jscoglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

San Michele is truly superb!

The location could not be better. Set on the idilyic coastline with a few steps down to a private platform for swimming in the brilliant turquoise waters and a short walk to Amalfi.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with amazing panoramic views.

The restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent. Small menu that changed daily was full of local produce, lovingly prepared. The local marinated anchovies were irresistible.

The staff, without exception, were superb. Check-in, moving luggage up and down stairs, service in the restaurant, organising local activities. The entire family team including Andrea, Francesco, Antonino (I’m sorry I have forgotten some) made our stay a complete joy.

This was a world class experience - we shall return.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DmacSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

I could not possibly rate this hotel any higher. The setting is stunningly beautiful and is exactly as pictured on their website. The staff is incredibly friendly and gracious and every meal was to die for. Their attention to detail is impeccable. I’m writing this as I’m sitting on the balcony of our room, so sad that we have to leave tomorrow. We visited Minori, Amalfi and Positano during our stay here, all easy with the bus stop right in front of the hotel. Book this place way in advance if you have to, it’s that good!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank up2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews