We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay at San Michele, as always”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unforgettable stay at San Michele, as always”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

It is 3rd time we are staying there, 2nd time with extended family.This hotel is one of the best places we have ever visited - and we have visited a lot. What makes this place special is the friendly family running the hotel, the unique location and spectacular views of the Salerno bay. The experience of sitting the private terrace enjoying the view of the coast is magical and magically relaxing. Same goes for the evening dinner served by Emilian and Nicola in wonderful small restaurant, true Neapolitan style meals, freshly prepared. This hotel serves as an excellent starting point for daily hikes - to Ravello, Amalfi, Atrani and the hills beyond the coast. If you are looking for relaxing, cozy and friendly place look no further.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomjgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
93
420
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
whitefish, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This was our second visit to the Villa. The stay was just over two weeks. Unique to the experience is the way Emillio, Nicola, Rosa and Leo adopt you while you're there. The facilities speak for themselves... they are beautiful and exceedingly well kept.

The unique location makes the adventure of local transport to nearby Amalfi towns easy and fun. The Villa is not just a wonderful place to stay it's a second home and family for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glacierfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed here last October and we have been drawn back to this wonderful hotel as if by a magnet. The hotel is negotiated by terraces, one has lemons growing, one has pomegranates growing and all have wonderful flowers in abundance. The bedrooms look directly over the sea so the sunrise is absolutely wonderful - literally a golden orb rises majestically over an azure sea. There is no beach at this point of the coast by a sun terrace and a swimming jetty enables you to enjoy the wonderful sea and sun. The town of Amalfi is only a walk away and the hilltop resort of Ravello is just an exciting bus ride away. The Villa San Micelle is a family run hotel that is a real home from home but with the beauty of Italy on your doorstep. The Time Out guide wrote that it was the one to choose if you didn’t want to burn your credit card. What if failed to say was that the value for money is superb.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Certss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster BC
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Villa San Michele is one of our favorite hotels in Italy. That says a lot as we travel on a regular basis and this was our 19th visit in some 22 years. We have stayed at the Villa San Michele three other times, each time, we vow to return as soon as we can. We have stayed in other hotels in Amalfi but now have decided that if we cannot get into the San Michele, then we will pick another destination. We found that at other hotels we were comparing what it would have been like, had we been at the San Michele.

Nicola, Rosa, Emilano, Leo and Anna Maria have all gone out of their way to make our stays here as memorable as they can be. Rosa, in charge of the kitchen, turns out meals to be remembered. There is always a choice for your Primi and Secondi dish, and the meals are very good.

The rooms are clean and all look out to the sea many with a patio on the sea. The hotel hangs on the cliffs above the water, and below the road. That gives the hotel a peaceful setting. The jetty down by the water is great for swimming. Chairs are on the jetty and more sun bed on an upper level make it easy to relax.

The location is excellent. Outside the hotel is the bus stop for buses from Amalfi to Ravello, or Salerno. The small store across the hotel is also a real plus. Amalfi is a 15-20 minute walk so walking into the center is very doable.

Villa San Michele... we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed at the villa for 3 nights on the beginning of October. After reading the reviews we weren't sure what to expect, since on one hand the majority of the reviews were excellent, but those who thought it to be less than perfect seemed to have repeating issues with the hotel's service, rooms and food. we were also surprised to read owner Nicola's response to everyone who wrote less than perfect reviews - he sounded almost agree at his guests instead of thinking how could he have made their stay better.
Lets start by saying the location is perfect - right on the Amalfi road, with easy access to Amalfi, Ravello and the area. the hotel's public areas are beautiful, including a solarium and a ladder into the water, all filled with beautiful flowers and plants.
The downside, was consisted of 3:
1. The rooms - although having great sea view and terrace, the rooms (we were in 2 of them, since we had to move for the 3rd night, knowingly) are pretty basic - equipped with two beds put together, rather than one king bed, very small shower and a toilet positioned right next to the shower, leaving almost no room for the legs. the room's maintenance could be better, included burned lamp near the bed and slightly mold signs on top of the shower ceiling in one of the rooms.
2. The food - the stay was on a half-board basis, since they stated they do not work on a BB basis at this period. unfortunately, the dinner at the restaurant didn't live up to our expectations, and to our wonderful dining experiences through italy during our trip. the pastas and the warm vegetable side dishes were good but the meat & fish were medioker, also there was no salad or antipasti to start with, which we missed a lot.
We did not like the fact that beverages were not included in the meal's price - not even water - meaning although we paid half board, we had to pay extra for water, wine and coffee every evening.
3. The service - the hotel is family run, but does not have a warm feeling. the son Emiliano is nice and helpful, but the overall feeling is that the staff will not get out of its way to help you. we had to switch a room for our 3rd night (which was OK, we agreed to it before we came) but we were asked us to leave the room by 10:30, although the new room wasn't supposed to be ready till noon - what was supposed to leave us without a room for a few hours, even though we were not checking out. we were also asked to pay 6 Euros for exttra towels we asked for, even though the reason we asked for them was that water was running out of the shower to the floor. in both cases, after explaining the owners why it is not exceptable (nor to leave the room before getting a new one, or to pay for extra towels) they understood and corrected themselves, but the whole approach is not very service oriented.
After all - we had a nice time, but not excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PitzIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amalfi, Concierge at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your review about your stay at Villa San Michele!

As you probably expected us to answer (because of our previous responses), here we are to do it!

Today we found three reviews about us and two of them were good. We don’t find much sense in commenting something very positive for us, but glad to clarify a couple of things with you and to try to get the positive aspects from your words in order to get better in what we do.

We’re sorry we did not realize you had a burned lamp in the bedroom. If you pointed it and the other things to us, we could immediately replace the lamp and take care of the other aspects to make your stay better.

Nicola and his wife work in the restaurant business since twenty years and know very well you can try your best, but will never please everybody. Drinks are always extra with the half board treatment (unless it’s an all inclusive plan) and in your case were added to the final bill.

Upon request and paying extra, it’s possible to have some appetizers. Asking for them to be included in the 26,00 Euro of the half board plan seems a bit too pretentious. Maybe you will reconsider this and some other aspects if you visit other hotels/restaurants in our area.

We really respect your point of view, but reading 138 on 151 reviews we’ve got, it seems to emerge that we’re really friendly and oriented to treat the customers as members of our family.

Thank you again for your time, for the good and not so good words about us!
We apologize we did not meet your expectations.

Ciao and all the best,
Emiliano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The reviews were right; lovely staff, great food, spectacular views, spotless rooms, masses of steps!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Wonderful Italian experience on the Amalfi Coast. Emiliano, Nicola and the rest of the staff were wonderful to us. Waking each morning (and falling asleep) to the sound of the sea.The rooms were well appointed, and our room had a lovely terrace to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. It is easier to take half board and have dinner at the Villa. Menu changes every night, and the food was very good (and interesting). Easy access to the rest of the Amalfi Coast.
Lots and lots of steps (so be prepared). All in all a wonderful place to spend your time on the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#9 of 21 in Ravello
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing