We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhh... Welcome to the Mediterranean!”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Having seen about enough of the made-for-tourists parts of Italy, Villa San
Michele was a very pleasant getaway from the business of the more
commonly visited parts. My wife and I visited the hotel for two
nights on our honeymoon in June. We had just stayed two nights in Positano at the luxurious Buca Di Bacco. Where the Buca was elegant and upscale,
San Michele was quaint and private, yet no less pristine and
beautiful.

The service was the friendliest we saw in all of Italy. We were
family. You are treated to a breakfast every morning, plus a lunch
in the early afternoon if your reservation includes it. There are not
many restaurants in walking distance, and they all require walking
along the famous Amalfi drive (quite perilous for pedestrians!), but
that is actually not a problem! The hotel's restaurant is more than
decent, and features hand-made pasta made from scratch daily by the
proprietor's wife as well as fresh fish caught right there in Ravello
every morning. The table wine is very reasonably priced and quite
delicious. Careful ordering the cappuccino in the morning, they will
serve you quite plentiful amounts!

The room itself was neither large nor replete with many of the
"extras" you find in fancier hotels, and the television offers only
one English channel, BBC World, which gets old fast. It will catch
you up on the latest news around the world, but what are you doing in
Ravello watching TV? There are too many beautiful villages and
beaches to explore!

If you want a modestly priced, relaxing, "at home" feel, this hotel is
it. We do not normally write reviews, but we had to make an exception
for this one. It definitely felt like the staff at Villa San Michelle was
going the extra mile for us :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasideReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 653 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2009

we have just had 5 nights and could have stayed longer a perfect place for a quiet time relaxing in the sun ,swimming in warm ,clear water and enjoying the natural beauty of the Amalfi coast but closer enough to visi Atrani for a drink ,t Ravello for lunch, Amalfi for lunch catch the ferry to Positano and Capri .you can then escape the crowds to this haven.
the staff are wonderful and nothing was too much trouble .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princess022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Forget any bad reviews(if any) that you might have read. Some people are NEVER happy no matter what! We had a four-night stay at Villa San Michele and it was the absolute highlight of our Italin tour. It's a little Gem in the most spectacular spot you could imagine. Nicola and Adrienne(?) were warm and friendly and the food was as good as any place we ate on our three week trip. I wish we'd been there in the summer to take advantage of the beautiful water. Next time! If you are very, very lucky you'll have the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hankmail505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Very beautiful villa on the Coast, with magnificent views of the sea wich is only a few steps away; it's quiet and comfortable and very relaxing- very very nice for two; excellent cuisine and the nicest people we have ever met in a vacation. You do a great job here, Nicola & the rest!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIRELACRISTIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Arriving very late after a long flight and drive from Naples we were greeted amiably and shown to our room down 150 steps! A ,lovely light dinner was provided. The room was very simple but the view was extraordinary! I cannot fault the service which was always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average - a couple of rolls and fresh juice...it would not be difficult to provide a larger choice and all the walking involved in the day ahead requires fuel in the morning! Dinner was included in the very reasonable price charged...one night was terrible and the other was acceptable. It is in a great position - walking distance to Amalfi and a 10min drive to Ravello.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilshandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Hotel Villa San Michele is nestled within a craggy mountainside of Ravello, simply one of the most stunningly beautiful spots along the Costiera Amalfitana. Our mornings began under trellesses groaning with lemons, walkways filled with geraniums, every hue of bouganville, and the sound of "Buon Giorno, Signora!" The warmth of the sun was only outdone by the caring staff of this small jewel of a hotel. We had 12 nights to luxuriate in this very special place. Even though we had signed out for half-board, we initially felt that we might want to explore other restaurants during our stay. However, as the days flew by, we found that returning to our hideaway was almost like coming home. We so enjoyed the food prepared by Signora Rosa, the wines served by Signor Nicola, and the ever-welcoming restaurant staff, especially Leopoldo our waiter, that it was like coming home every night to share our adventures with them.

Our accommodations were very spacious, impeccably clean, and the view from the balcony to die for. We fell asleep and awoke to the sound of waves lapping against rocks below. We spent many hours gazing out at the Mediterranean, trying to memorize the beauty that surrounded us. Best of all is the hotel's proximity to Amalfi. It is a brief and breathtaking walk to the harbor where ferries depart for all points along the coast. We soon learned that riding the waves was not only practical, inexpensive, and dazzlingly beautiful, but also more efficient than bus travel. And for those interested in the Ravello Music Festival, Villa San Michele is but a 5 minute bus ride up into town.

Of singular note is the expert advice and attention we were given by Emiliano, the hotel's concierge and chief administrator, who helped us plan out the details of our daily itineraries, so that we could see all the highlights of the area in the limited time that we have, without getting lost, and without blowing our budget. The personal service and the attention to detail that we received during our stay was truly remarkable. We felt that we were more like part of the family, as opposed to just guests staying at some hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank facciadrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This was only our second visit to Villa San Michele, but even so, we had the distinct feeling that we were going back to see good friends. Last year it was just the two of us, but this year we took our 21 year old daughter. It is quite well suited for either couples, or families.

The location in Ravello is truly incredible, with so many beautiful small towns and villages to visit, but what really stays in our memory is the relaxed, warm atmosphere at the Villa. Nicola, Emiliano, Rosa and Leopoldo could not be better hosts or any more accomodating. The evening dinners are homecooked Italian cuisine...fresh local ingredients, absolutely wonderful. While the dining room is set up with individual tables, somehow, after spending all day out and about, it feels as if you are coming home, and the strangers that you traveled with just two days before, find that they are moved to greet you as you come in, and you find yourself stopping to find out how their day was, before heading out to the terraced patios to relax after dessert.

The villa itself appears to be built into the base of the mountain, suspended just above the sea. The morning view of the Bay finds it filled with fishermen in the smallest of boats, pulling in their catch, aside sailboats, yachts, and maybe even a schooner. The mountains rise up, with the morning clouds still wrapped around their shoulders. Above and to either side of the villa are terraces of lemon and olive trees.

The picturesque artist's colony of Ravello is situated on the mountain top, well above the villa, and can be reached by taking a breathtaking : } walk up an estimated 1700 steps, or you can catch one of the buses that regularly make the trip :) Just around the corner from Villa San Michele, is the charming town of Amalfi. It is only a short walk away (or again, if you prefer, you can take the bus). and there you can take a ferry to Capri (we went last year and it was wonderful), or go all the way to Naples where you can visit the Museo Natzionale that contains so many of the beautiful frescos and the art work of Pompeii.

If you let Emiliano know your interests ahead of time, he can give you information on the many different possibilities, and help to begin planning excursions before you arrive; or you can wait until after your arrival, and see what seasonal opportunities are available.

Last year, we met wonderful folks on excursions to Pompeii/Herculaneum and this year, we made more friends, as we traveled to Paestum for a very informative, and interesting guided tour of the Greek Temples. A wonderful addition included a side trip to a dairy, where fresh buffalo mozzarella was made by hand, then to a working ranch with 900 Water Buffalo, and finally to a beautiful farmhouse for an incredibly delicious lunch.

Each time we have come to the villa, we have stayed longer, and still, we discover that we are reluctant to leave. That is just the kind of wonderful place that Villa San Michele is, thanks, of course, to the beautiful Italian coast, but more, to the warm and comfortable atmosphere that the entire staff so generously shares with us.

So.... even as we are heading home, with our minds filled with memories, it begins again - the planning for our return to Villa San Michele.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilbrndg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.8 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $145 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing