We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa San Michele
Nearby Hotels
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
$305
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$825
$718
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rufolo(Ravello)
$262
$253
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$571
$382
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$241
$233
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bonadies(Ravello)(Great Value!)
$190
$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ristorante Garden(Ravello)(Great Value!)
$240
$233
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
548
92
11
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
92
11
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardpastathe busthe cliffthe owner's wifeamalfi coastevery eveningswimming platformour honeymoonhis wifebreakfast and dinneron the rockswarm hospitalityitalian familythis family run hoteldirect access to the seasmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 663 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Villa San Michele was our Paradise for the last week of our Italy vacation. Nicola, Antonio and Rosa the awesome chef were all amazing.
We enjoyed a wonderful meal each night featuring fresh caught fish from the Sea, 2 pasta choices to choose from and dessert. Every evening different, delicious selections to choose from.

Our favorite day trip was to Ravello, great shopping, gardens and yes the 1,000 step steep trail back down to the Hotel Villa San Michelle.
Highly recommend this quaint hotel nestled in the rocky slopes of the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcamp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Villa San Michelle is a beautiful 12 room villa in a quiet corner of the Amalfi coast, but easily close enough to visit all the main towns nearby along this coast.
The pretty town of Atrani is 5 minutes walk and is a delight with a church, square and a small number of pizzerias.kids playing soccer, local ladies running the deli and beach shop, and has nothing like the sea of tourists that flock to towns such as Positano.
there is a small shop at the bus stop outside the villa which is perfect for a quick coffee, a few local beers, rolls for lunch, with local cheeses and preserved meats.
the bus stop nearby is also wonderful to catch the scary local bus to the other sites, Ravello being a stand out.
The care taken with the gardens , cleaning of the rooms and food served in the villa is done so with the extraordinary pride of the Italian family who own and run this beautiful villa

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank jez000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Even before we had arrived at Villa San Michele the customer service from Nichola and family was next to none. Arranging our transfers from Naples airport and a late night arrival all welcomed by a large plate of cold meats and cheese as well as drinks.

The next morning we awoke from the views we had missed the night before and wow... Opening the shutters to our balcony and revealing the open sea was nothing short of breathtaking. Most of the rooms share the same view and waking up to that everyday is alone worth the price per night.

There was some confusion over paying the bill as we assumed it would be on arrival however the money was left in a safe to pay the bill and tab at the end of the holiday.

Once we had settled in it was like a dream. Fresh sheets every day, breakfast served daily and the choice between lunch and dinner.

Most days we chose the dinner giving us chance to explore local Amalfi, Atrani and Ravello in the day. The food was always on the ball and worth more than the half board rate that was charged. 3 courses of the finest local cuisine (usually made by Nicola's wife) and ranging from fish in lemon sauce to octopus, chicken and pork with starters of pasta, lasagne and ravioli. For the 7 night stay we had no offers of the same meal and each day there is the choice of two starters, mains and dessert all of which we of high restaurant quality. (There we even people visiting the hotel on the evening just for the cuisine). in addition to the fine food is also the great local wine made in nearby Ravello.

Along with the food, the comfortable rooms and the impeccable views are the gardens that are so beautifully kept you will not notice the reams of steps you have to walk up and down on a daily basis.

We owe a fantastic honeymoon to Nicola and his family and would easily take the next opprtunity to return.

The location is also fantastic. It feels so isolated, perfect for a couples retreat and steps heading down to a platform and steps into the sea are perfect for a morning swim. A 5 minute walk to Atrani sees you walk past two beaches then a further ten minutes sees you in the glorious Amalfi. There are regular buses for Ravello, Sarento and Salerno with day passes costing 6.80 euro lasting a full 24 hours.

There's also a whole host of excursions including Capri and Pompeii which have pick up points at the hotel (including sea travel)

Any nights out were covered with the assistance of a local driver service used by the hotel which were even nice enough to drive us to the perfect view of Mt. Vesuvius en route back to the airport which was an amazing surprise.

So to Nicola, Emeliano, Antonio and the rest of family, a huge thank you for being so welcoming and attentive and to everyone else looking for the best hotel on the Amalfi coast, there is no questioning that Villa San Michele is the perfect place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view, you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MDWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I fell in love with the Amalfi Coast the second we stepped off our Ferry. I decided it was my favorite place I've ever been once we entered the incredible Villa San Michele. We actually cancelled our plans to visit Pasteum after arriving because we didn't want to spend any part of our three days away from the spectacular coastline. Stroll to Atrani in the morning, enjoy a sandwich and olives from the store across the street for lunch, read a good book in one of the beautiful gardens/terraces, take a dip in the Mediterranean, and finish the day with a deliciously homemade dinner. The perfect day. I only wish I could live it again and again. I would return here every summer if I could.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cass4587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights last week in June. What a fantastic little hotel this is. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, this is better. Yes there are a few little ruff edges. However the views from the rooms are stunning, food to die for and the hospitality of the owners is amazing. Great location between Amalfi & Ravello. Best part of the stay has to be the 3 Course Evening Meal. Traditional, home cooked Italian food, lovingly served with local wine. Better than any meal bought out. Highly Recommended Hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews