We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Montegiorgio, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for three nights in a room with a Juliet balcony and a private terrace both of which overlooked the sea. The location is, without doubt, breathtaking. The hotel clings to the side of the cliff and from everywhere the views are stunning.

The plus points are the staff, who are very sweet and helpful. The location - perfectly situated for visits to Ravello and Amalfi. (You can reach Amalfi easily on foot if you don't want to take the bus.) Breakfast was typically Italian, ie cornetti and rolls but having freshly squeezed orange juice was lovely. Staying in April meant that we didn't need the air con unit and could fall asleep to the sound of the sea through the open French doors.

The 'I'm going to be picky for a minute' points are that the food, although there are some rave reviews, was, in our opinion, simply adequate. We enjoyed the pasta/risotto dishes but the mains were teeny and nothing to write home about and the desserts were also just OK. I wish the wardrobe in our room (118) changed places with the chairs so that it was against the bathroom wall and then you could sit and look out over the sea and I would have had an uninterrupted view through the French doors from the bed - I said I was being picky!

There aren't any real negatives. Having to park the car half a mile away was a drag but we didn't need to use it while we were there so it wasn't really an issue. There didn't seem to be any kind of drinks list with prices so our final bar bill was a surprise.

Just in case you have mobility issues there are over 150 outside steps from the road to the rooms on the second floor where ours was and about 100 back up to the restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
91
415
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel villa San Michele embodies the essence of Italy for us - fine food, great conversation and great hospitality. It would be virtually impossible for any hotel to duplicate what Villa San Michele offers in terms of setting, food, location and value. This was our second visit, which we enjoyed as much as our first. We hope Nicola and the gang will continue to run this hotel for many more years.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheersfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great views, good food, and nice weather are the perfect setting for a great vacation. But the interaction with the people may make it go beyond great. This review is about the people running Villa San Michele. Nicola, the owner and manager, said to us when we arrived: "You have arrived in Paradise, now you can relax", and set us all in the right mood for our vacation. No request, however big or small, was a problem for him. Emiliano refused to be tipped for carrying our luggage, although it was over a 100 steps from the reception to the room; he gave us good recommendations for nearby restaurants and economic parking locations. Antonio, the restaurant waiter, remembered by heart the specific breakfast requests of each of us already from the second breakfast ("chocolate per la signorina"...), and was always kind and pleasant to start the day with. They all contributed to a perfect holiday in the Costiera Amalfitana.
Besides that, Villa San Michele is perfectly located in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, a short driving distance from Maiori and Minori and walking distance to Atrani and Amalfi. Dinner at the Restaurant (served from April 10) offered a fixed menu with high-end dishes, and was changing each day based on the "fish of the day" that Nicola found in the fishermen stores, so it was always a surprise.
Bottom line: rewarding, relaxing, and enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

From the incredibly warm staff to the breathtaking scenery, gorgeous rooms and great location make San Michele the best spot to stay along the coast. It's location between Maiori, Minori and Atrani, Amalfi makes it perfect for a stroll down to the next town. The bus stop across the street is perfect for hopping on a bus to Ravello, and the alimentari is handy for a quick caffe and some snacks. We can't wait to travel back and stay with Emiliano, Nicola & everyone working at the villa. Mille mille grazie San Michele!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

One of the most beautiful and quirky hotels I have ever stayed at - with an incredible friendly welcoming staff at all times. You need a little stamina to cope with the steps up and down the lovely cliff side terraces between rooms, restaurant and reception - but every stop for a rest has such a lovely view that this is no problem. Our room had a big balcony overlooking the sea, and the 'view from the loo' was as stunning, with a big window in our bathroom as well. Food choices were interesting, local, and limited to two for each course (maybe the time of year?). The shrimp risotto was our favourite. My only criticism (which would not stop me from returning) was the rather plain breakfasts (croissants, rolls, cereal, yoghurt). Having said that, every item was good quality and tasty. And as base for exploring the Amalfi coast, it was fantastic. I km pleasant walk to Amalfi, from where boats took us to Sorrento, Salerno, Positano. and the delights of Ravello, 1200 feet above, were only a bus trip or exciting climb of 1000+ steps through Italian countryside away.
Don't be put off by seeing it is on the main coast road. As others have said, when you drop down to the terraces, rooms etc you cannot hear a thing!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyjaneCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of a whirlwind tour of Italy. It was the perfect spot from which to relax for a couple of days before heading off to Rome. The location is absolutely spectacular. We didn't want to leave our balcony which overlooked the crystal blue sea. As the spring season was just gearing up there was quite a bit of maintenance happening but I can't hold that against them as we were there at the tale end of the low season. Our room was a tad shabby around the edges but for the price, it had everything we could have needed and included a delicious breakfast in a stunning dining room. The staff was also super helpful and accommodating, lugging our massive and heavy bags up and down the (MANY) steps to and from our rooms and making wonderful meal suggestions. We'd absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a balcony, but if not, make sure you get one that does. The view is what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenamechlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My cousin and I made this our home base for the Amalfi Coast part of our trip in May 2013. This was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, and by far, had the best food of any hotel ever. We didn't want to leave. It was ideally located on the coast highway, just up the road from Amalfi on the way to Ravello. There is a bus stop right across the street, but most days we chose to walk the 15-20 mins or so into Amalfi. They served a three course dinner every night. The menu was always different and always delicious. Because they had two options for each course, we stopped having them tell us the menu and just asked them to bring us one of each, so we could share. We were never disappointed. Our room had a balcony with a gorgeous view (of course it was gorgeous, it's the Amalfi coast) and the staff and owners were lovely, warm, and welcoming. It was truly a magical place. Leaving was the hardest part of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 395RachelB395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
5.0 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing