We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family-run hotel on the Amalfi coast”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It would be difficult to exaggerate the appeal of this family-run hotel built into the cliffs between Amalfi and Ravello. It combines simplicity with absolute pleasure. No request is too difficult for the owners and staff. We stayed a week and after a day felt like part of the family, from Nicola showing our 2-year old the permanent nativity scene while we were having dinner, to the grandparents insisting on time with Daniel every time we passed through reception, to Emiliano carting our luggage up and down the vertiginous steps. The recommendations for local restaurants and arrangements for things like a motorboat to Capri for the day were all spot-on. The rooms are simple, but comfortable - with nothing but a balcony and a couple of deck chairs between you and the sea far below, you don't need a lot of interior design. The food is wonderful, with a true sense of its place. Amalfi itself and its beach is a 10 minute walk away and busses serving the coast road (much easier than our rented car) stop right outside the hotel. We would easily return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APP817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Villa San Michele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 644 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is built right on the cliff of the Amalfi coast, below the town of Ravello. The reception area is one staircase down from street level and the rooms are all about 150 steps further down to sea level. The view from the room is nothing but sea and sailboats. The hotel has a small sea diving area at the very bottom of the property where the transparent clear water ranges from turquoise to navy blue. Service is great and a scrumptious and copious breakfast is included. Absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just returned after a 4 nights stay at the Villa and had the most wonderful and relaxing time.
I do not have much to add to the other reviews, just that it is a very charming little (12 rooms) hotel with an extraordinary location. The food was wonderful. The breakfast was... well... Italian.
I highly recommend this hotel if you want to visit the gorgeous Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We picked this hotel because of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We were two couples travelling together and were picked up by Claudio from Naples Airport. It is an absolutely beautiful setting run by the fantastic Nicola and Emiliano. Very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing. Nicola's wife, Rosa, prepared three course meals that were delicious. Everything was perfect. Antonio was a delight and helped make each meal very special. Could not recommend highly enough. Sure there are stairs but you need them to walk off the food! We would go back tomorrow if we could. Thanks to all the staff at San Michele!

Room Tip: All rooms have superb views
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at Villa San Michele for 6 nights and it was amazing. The views from the property over the Mediterranean Sea are breathtaking. Yes, if you read other reviews everyone talks about the stairs! Welcome to the Amalfi Coast! There are a lot of stairs. If you have mobility problems, this might not be the property for you. But if you don't mind a little walking, it is worth it.
There is no beach here, just a swimming platform from which you can dive into the water. Breakfast is a typical Italian selection, with yogurt, croissants, cereal and coffee.
The lunch and dinner, prepared by the owner's wife are delicious, made from local fresh ingredients. There is a choice between a fish or meat main course. Nicola the owner, is always around to help with your wine selection, again focusing on local winemakers.
The rooms are simple, but comfortable and clean, with postcard views.
You are 1 km from Amalfi and 5 km from Ravello, so it is a great base to visit the coast from.
I myself would prefer to just sit by the water and take in the beauty of the sea!
Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxy-rooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is an incredible hotel which exceeds expectations from the moment you arrive. The staff is super friendly and go out of their way to assist. The hotel is better then on the pictures. The food is really really good and diverse. I would definitely recommend going for the sea facing rooms so you can wake up with the view of the Mediterranean and fall asleep seeing the moonlight over the sea. Corny but true. The only down side is that the rooms are a bit old and could do with a sprucing up and the hotel is 1km from Amalfi so you have to walk to experience the nightlife. Ravello is 5km away and you need to take a bus because it is really high up. Overall top notch hotel for romantic get always.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room it's worth it
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $147 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing