We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice little hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week last autumn. Had chosen it because of the location and the views. Overall we were very satisified with our stay. The room was ok, basic but nothing to complain about, view from the terrace was very beautiful. Lots of steps from the street, but that´s not a problem if you are ok with your feet. Finally dining was every night a wonderful experience. We still miss Nicola´s presentation of the night´s menu. " The first plate tonight is....and the second plate tonight is...." And the food cooked by his wife was every time just excellent. If only we coild, we would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foodlover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
91
418
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winchester Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed just 2 nights (sadly0 at the Villa San Michele in early Novmeber and fell in love with the place. This is a special place, not luxurious rooms but outstanding views, landscaping, and lots of character. The rooms are simple but clean and have nice colorful tiled floors. The balcony was fabulous - sitting there we did feel luxurious! There is also a nice large sunbathing terrace, and a small terrace at sea level where you can swim in the clear blue water. Even in early Nivemeber my husband was able to swim. There are wonderful details at every turn going down the many levels (and steps!) through gardens and terraces. As much as we loved exploring the Amalfi Coast towns, we made time to spend at the hotel each day, and it was one of the highlights of our trip.
We had the most contact with Emiliano and his service is first class, and he is warm and charming too. He was helpful, courteous, and patient, from the moment he magically appeared to help with our bags when we arrived.
Their restaurant had closed in Nov. so we didn't get to try the food everyone raves about. It is about a 15 minute walk to get to restaurants in Atrani (a small fishing village with a cozy square) but not a lot of choices there. Amalfi is about a 25 minute walk, but at night the road is even more treacherous, so we took the bus to dinner - a bit of a wild ride!
I do agree with a few other reviewers that the only small thing that could be improved is the breakfast. Great coffee and juice, and the rolls and croissants were good, but that's all that is served, and we felt having fresh fruit or fruit cups, and/or cereal and yogurt would have been nice.
The rates were very reasonable, and that only caps off the many reasons this is a wonderful place to stay. Can't wait to go back - really.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony large enough to sit on, especially one with room for table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The best way to describe how good our time was with Nicola & Emanuela and the Deppino family at Villa San Michele is to simply show you the reader the email I sent to them not long after we returned to the UK........needless to say we will return one day for sure.

Emiliano e Nicola,
It has been two weeks since my wife and I stayed with the Deppino family. We both wanted to let you know that we really did enjoy ourselves and thought Villa San Michele was the perfect base from which to explore the Amalfi coast. Your hospitality, local knowledge and your willingness to assist us in having a good holiday was always so courteous and forthcoming even if most of our questions we had were about the times of the bus and the ferry!! Thank you again for a wonderful stay.
Have a good Christmas season and we wish you all well in 2012.
Speriamo di rivedervi presto.
Grazie mille
Steven & Denise

Room Tip: Sea view - but you will need to climb 269 steps - though the breathtaking views during the day and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel is not in the centre of Ravello but on the actual Amalfi Coast road (5km down from the centre of Ravello town) so has wonderful views straight over the bay. It is possible to walk up into Ravello though using the 1000 or so steps. Very friendly, helpful owners/staff. We stayed the first week in November and had wonderful weather and so made good use of the sun deck and even swam. The hotel was shutting for the winter as we left and the restaurant was only open for our first 2 nights. Dinner was nice but a little expensive and not a lot of choice ( no menu - just a choice of 2 dishes). Our room was beautiful with fabulous balcony. It was great to have a mini bar/fridge in the room. The bathroom was fine but the shower was a bit neglected.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundwooddivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Hanging off a cliff face with views like i have never seen before; exhilarating stairway down to bathing platform, and food that adds to the stay. Plus i have never felt so welcomed by any hotel staff. This is a place i would love to return to if i have half a chance. All at a price that you would never expect all this for.

Room Tip: any room will give you a stunning mediterranean view as far as i can make out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickandjude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

..... was when i woke up this morning, my first morning at home, i'm waking up - sooooo sad and with tears in my eyes (seriously!) , because Nicola had told me, that i couldn't come back again. Ever!
I was in chock - but when i realised it was just a dream, i could breathe again. *pheewww*
So i stood up, ran to the computer, and i've just wrote an e-mail to Hotel VSM and Nicola, to book a room for next year ☺

That allmost says it all - doesn't it ♥
I too found my paradise here.
I simply and truly just love and adore this place. And the people!

Why do i not give the hotel VSM a 5 star rating then, you might ask...
And it's just simply because of the breakfast.
Me (and my tummy) are used to a lot more grained/wholemeal bread, so these whitebread rolls everyday, kind of stopped my stomack/digestion from working proberly...
I would love it, if there was just a little variation and as said, some wholemeal bread to choose.
Otherwise - absolutely perfetto!
The coffee is to die for, as well as the orange juice, which was so thick of pulp, that you almost have to chew it! ☺

And DON'T even get me started on the dinner!!!
OH-MY-GOD!!!!
I NEVER liked fish - but now i do!!!
I overcame myself, and ordered the fish more times than one - and i loved it!!!
And the pasta makes the angels sing, and when the dessert is being served, the angels are singing and getting the harpes!!!

I don't think i have to mention the view - you just have to look at the pic's, other people had uploadet to this page.
( i don't upload any, because of TA's policy - my pic's are mine and mine only!! )

I talked to some of the other guests - and several are coming back, year after year, after year. . . and now i am too ☺

Stesso tempo nello stempo posto! ☼

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoaMzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Amalfi Coast, Florence and Venice. We absolutely loved Villa San Michele which was recommended to us by our neighbors in Switzerland. The accomodation was lovely, the views were fantastic and the food was the best food we had on our entire vacation. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. You can not do better than Villa San Michele - close to Ravello, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, but just enough off the beaten path to feel like you have a quiet sanctuary away from the tourists and crowds. We swam off the rock of the Villa every morning, noon and evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caryschock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing