We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of La Cucina di Sofi

La Cucina di Sofi
Ranked #26 of 41 Restaurants in Ravello
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Was looking for a casual light lunch so stopped by to try Sofi's. We had a sandwich and some kind of dough ball with eggplant and some cold rice. The sandwich was all dough and almost no filling, the eggplant dish was also mostly dough. The rice was average but was the only thing I could eat. Pretty disappointing. Maybe we ordered the wrong things.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provino m, Direttore at La Cucina di Sofi, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Customer,
I am very sorry of his dissatisfaction, the invitation to return as our guest
to better advise them what to eat, because his explanation is very confusing. Greetings Milo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    51
    23
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sofi”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just arrived in Ravello and was looking for some authentic Neapolitan food. How lucky was I to wander down the street running off the main Piazza and find "la Cucina Di Sofi" run by Ilaria and her husband. Can't miss it withe picture of Sophie Loren on the board! They have only opened their trattoria since April. Okay, no sea views but a little lane way, tables out front, watching locals and others walk past. Opposite is a high fence with a magnificent tree and birds were singing on this beautiful balmy night. I ordered a pizzaa Ravello with endives, black olives, cheese, anchovies on the best base! A nice half bottle of rose. Who needs fancy cutlery! Sometimes you just want good, honest well priced food especially given you are on the Amalfi! Ilaria tells me that they do fish wrapped in lemon leaves. I will be back to try that! Ilaria was lovely to talk to and made me feel so welcome. So well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic take-away food!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I ate at Sofi for lunch on my last day in Ravello. A friend and I shared several things on the menu: the fried pizza (amazing!); pepper stuffed with rice, capers and anchovy (my favorite of the 4); a filled pizza with egglplant, olives and mozzarella; and pizza-type food with artichoke and cheese. We shared some white wine, sat outside in the sunshine and enjoyed a really nice casual lunch for about 20 euros. Can't beat that!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMamaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Management”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a small cafe with a bench table indoors and 3 tables outside. Not flash but the home cooking is wonderful, local, freshly cooked and cheap! We had a slap up meal on paper plates; stuffed pepper, aubergine with tomatoes and cheese, fresh red pizza, potato & cheese croquettes and fresh black coffee for under 15 euros! The new team have been in 1 week. 2 brothers; one in the kitchen and one out front. You can buy soft drinks or beer/wine to wash down your meal if you wish. It was so good we went back to get take away for dinner!
Cooking runs in the family; grandfather was a professional chef at some of the top villas for very high profile people. Give it a try - they are a fantastic team.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank franniehammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina di Sofi also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Cucina di Sofi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing