We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in Ravello”
Review of Toro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toro Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Hotel Toro is a lovely quaint italian hotel that is about a dozen steps from the main piazza in ravello. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious, all seem to have beautiful views, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They have a lovely courtyard and garden which guests can enjoy - it's very italian and just gorgeous.

Breakfast was good, and hotel toro also arranged my transfer from ravello back to naples airport - which went smoothly and without a hitch, with the driver meeting me at my hotel at the staff's request so that I wouldn't have to carry my luggage to the meeting point (ravello main centre is closed off to traffic).

Recommend a fantastic little panini-coffee-wine bar right beside the church in the main piazza - you'll see straight away that the locals all support and frequent this tiny bar - and for good reason. Fantastic food, good value for money and the staff are a lot of fun and enjoy banter.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvyrlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 68 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2007

We had a bad experience with this hotel regarding a transfer they setup for us. To make a long story short, they made us pay for a taxi ride twice. I told them I would not pay for the redundant ride, and they threatened to call the police. So, being in a foreign land, I decided it would be best to pay for the redundant ride, and avoid an Italian prison. If this had not happened to us, this hotel would have been great. It is in a great location, and the town is beautiful. Unless you are cool with small towns, and not doing much during the day, I would recommend a short stay in Ravello, and a longer stay in Amalfi. The only advice I can give, is to not book transfer through this hotel. There are plenty of cab drivers in Naples or other train stations that know how to get you to Ravello. They will have set rates to get you to Ravello. If they try to shoot you a crazy price, ask to see the price sheet.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelmelton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

A quaint retreat a few steps from the main square, Hotel Toro was a relative bargain for our family of three at 110 euros. (Given the terrible exchange rate for US dollars, nothing is really a bargain anymore!) We were given a separate apartment down a few stairs from the main floor with windows overlooking the narrow street below. All was very clean and tasteful. The room was quite large by Italian standards. Breakfast was served indoors when we were there in late October, but there is an attractive courtyard and garden. Hotel staff were courteous.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank Montanatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Maggie from New Jersey
The Hotel Toro was a wonderful place to stay in Ravello! Most of the hotels are quite expensive here but The Toro was modestly priced, well run, clean and nicely situated near the piazza. I strongly recommend the hotel to anyone who would like to enjoy this beautiful town without spending a great deal! The breakfast was delicious - wonderful prosciutto, brioches and coffee!!

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank carobbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We arrived on a terribly wet evening in Ravello. Sheets of rain lashed the square and we arrived at the Toro. Its up a narrow street off the square, up a flight of steps. We were welcomed and found our room. It was a real old style place, real Italian and not a chain style hotel that could have been anywhere. The doors, windows, everything made you instantly feel you were in Italy. The room was very comfortable and well equiped as was the bathroom though the shower was a bit narrow but worked very well. Everything was clean and well tended. Breakfast was again lovely - nice fresh rolls, ham, cheese, yoghurt and served very politely and efficiently. Reception was helpful and friendly and overall, we could not fault this lovely hotel which blends in so beautifully with the lovely little town of Ravello. We ate at several really good restaurants - one opposite the little church of St. Maria to the right as you exit Toro, a little down the narrow street and another down the other road, parallel to the Toro street, again off the square on the same side. Food was generous, excellent quality and very well priced especially considering this town is small.

The view out the window of our room was spectacular. It was magic each morning (once the rain cleared) to open the window and look over the hills, with the bells of the cathedral ringing out. I highly recommend the Toro if you want a small, friendly genuine Italian experience in Ravello.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

Jane and I stayed at the Toro and remember this as one of our most memorable and enjoyable Hoildays. Outdoor concerts, walking the lovely crazy pavements of Ravello. The shp making and selling lemon products was delightful. The local people are friendly and in tune with their wonderful surroundings, We enjoyed fireworks and community processions from the cathedral. Coffee in the square is enjoyable and relaxing.

The Hotel is quaint and staffed by the most friendly people. The food was lovely and are we glad that we turned down a long stay at the expensive Saso and elected for a longer stay at the Toro.
It might not have a pool, but then they are mostly too cold anyway, but it has views accross to La Scala.

We walked and travaled further afield by the little Cita busses down to malfi and ventured further afeild by the bigger buses.
You will be amazed at how far and how cheaply you can travel. We found a lovely little papermaker in an old fashioned works hop in the top part of Amalfi when we walked down one day.
The old gentleman was so kind he offered jane some of his snack lunch and we bought some lovely handmade paper from him. Excursions from the balcony by coach can be booked and we enjoyed everyone!

Thank you Toro hotel and the lovely family who run it.

Jane and Mark Harriman

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Norfolkdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

This is the second time that we have stopped at the Toro and it's the most wondeful place to stay - the staff couldn't be more welcoming and friendly and helpful and it's a pleasure to be there. The rooms are lovely and big with plenty of room and it's right in the centre of Ravello - a minutes walk from the Duomo.
There's a garden that you can sit in and have a drink from the Hotel bar and look over at the neighbouring town of Scala. The continental breakfast is served in a well-lit reception room.
The hotel can arrange a pick up from Naples airport which is 110 euros but well worth it - you will be in Ravello about an hour after landing. I'm sure the Palazzo Sasso and Caruso are very nice but this hotel is a home from home and if you want a relaxing stay in Ravello the Toro is the place to go for a very good price!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RichieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Moresca
Hotel La Moresca
#7 of 21 in Ravello
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Salvatore
Hotel Da Salvatore
#18 of 21 in Ravello
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Garden
Hotel Ristorante Garden
#8 of 21 in Ravello
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Hotel

Address: Via Roma 16, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range: $135 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toro Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing