We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility and comfort”
Review of Hotel Rufolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rufolo
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I, together with our 12 year old son, decided to celebrate our 25th anniversary in Ravello and chose to return to the Albergo Rufolo. We were not disappointed! The view from the restaurant, terraces and pool must be the best in Ravello and since our last visit 5 years ago the pool and surrounding area had been completely overhauled, which was a very welcome surprise.
The public areas were immaculate, including the restrooms, and without exception we found the staff to be welcoming, friendly and extremely attentive. The service in the restaurant was professional but not intrusive and the food we enjoyed was really first class.
On the weekend of our visit a huge wedding party had taken most of the available rooms in hotels throughout the village, the Rufolo however remained an oasis of calm and tranquillity. On one evening, the staff recommended a restaurant on the other side of the mountain so that we could take full advantage of the best available view for watching the fireworks organised by the family of the newlyweds, a truly spectacular sight.
It is often the case nowadays that every big hotel in a spectacular setting is part of a chain or publicly owned group, and therefore there is often a sense of monotonous uniformity in the decor and overall atmosphere and service. The Rufolo does not suffer from this blandness: from its beautiful hand painted tiles in the bedrooms and public areas to the variety of different outdoor seating areas (tiled, grassed, intimate garden arbour), the feeling of family-run cosiness and attention to detail is a real treat. It is also the case that prestigious hotels in such wonderful settings have no need to rely on good reviews but just trade on their superb geographical situation, which is why we felt it important to write our review because for special occasions it isn’t just the view that counts. We warmly recommend the Rufolo to any traveller to the Amalfi coast and will continue to return in the future for special celebrations.

Room Tip: If your budget will stretch to a room with a balcony and view of the Amalfi coast then go for it - y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

I traveled solo with a backpack up and down the coast of Italy with no reservations. After finishing Amalfi, I wanted to go to Ravello. I was fortunate enough to get one room and had the most amazing time. Small room, but with the best possible view of the Rufolo villa and gardens. The front desk was very helpful and considerate. I had a wonderful massage in the hotel. The location is absolutely perfect and i found this place to be very charming. Overall, just a great place in a magical town.

Room Tip: see if you can face Rufolo Villa - breathtaking view of the villa and the trees and coastline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stopped at Hotel Rufolo for one night on our honeymoon. We had not prebooked and arrived in Ravello and found this hotel. Although the rooms were on the pricey side, the staff were polite and helpful. The free parking was a great benefit as we found that we had to constantly pay to park our vehicle, even if it was just for 30 minutes. The hotel was clean and we had a large room, ensuite with bath and shower and a balcony. The bath was larger than average and the shower nice and powerful. My husband swam in the small pool and we sunbathed for a short while. We would have stayed a further night if the weather had remained warmer and made the most of the pool and sunbathing but the weather became very overcast so we moved on. On the whole we felt that there was not a lot to occupy us in Ravello and were surprised by the lack of restaurants. The one negative about this hotel was that we found the breakfast to be a bit disappointing. Ravello is a very quaint place and on the whole is worth visiting. Throughout our stay in Italy, we generally found the Italians to be quite rude, but the service at Hotel Rufolo was faultless, added with wonderful views and an immaculate room made for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from Italy and the Hotel Rufolo was one of our stops.
We had a very large suite with a balcony overlooking the Rufolo villa and gardens. This accommodation was very good. One evening we sat out and watched a magnificent fireworks display. The front desk reminded us that this was going to happen.
The pool looks very inviting until you realise it is too cold to enter.
We ate at their restaurant and can honestly say the food was delicious. Unfortunately we were the only couple in the dining room along with a large party of around 20 persons.
When they departed we realised that the room was very impersonal and cold. It definitely needs some designer touches.
At breakfast the first day we were not made to feel very welcome by the young girl who barely said a word.
The next morning she offered us a choice of coffees which was the only time she did so.
A somewhat disappointing attitude. This property has potential but it is lacking the small touches.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent three nights here. I would not have chosen such an expensive place, but we booked at last minute and had few options. Getting to the hotel in the car was an adventure. Out GPS took us to the main square in Ravello and I could not believe we could go any further. The hotel is up a very narrow street lined with tourist shops, then you have to drive through a tunnel which is hardly wider than the car. Beautiful location, nice remodeled air conditioned room on the second floor with a balcony with a magnificant view. Friendly staff. Decent, but not great breakfast.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an updated, remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel Rufolo has a great location in the heart of Ravello. Beautiful views and clean, comfortable rooms, albeit a bit outdated and on the expensive side, although most hotels in the Amalfi coast area are pricey. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the front desk staff is a bit cold, but I didn’t find them so unfriendly that we wouldn’t stay here again. This hotel has free parking, which is a great plus, especially for Ravello. We had a hard time finding the hotel once we got to Ravello, even though we had a navigation system. Here’s a tip if you are driving: Keep going after you go through the tunnel and it looks like you are driving on a pedestrian street. You are not. You are forced to take a left and drive down and even narrower street and through another small, extremely narrow tunnel with walls lined with the local pottery (hanging from wire hangers) from a shop nearby. It does not look like you should be driving there but it is the way to the hotel’s parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rexmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the promise of a spectacular view, and we were not disappointed. However, the first room they placed us in had mold on the wall near the door. Whether that was due to heavy rains and high humidity or simply neglect I am not sure. We immediately requested a different room which was accommodated and had a better view as well! The hotel is an easy walk to the town for shopping and dining & we chased down the local gelato put-put truck which I strongly recommend. During the late evening we were treated to a spectacular lighting and thunder storm which made the view even more memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cojavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
748 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rufolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rufolo

Address: Via San Francesco 1, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $205 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rufolo 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a commanding view of the sea the Hotel Rufolo, surrounded by the green of pine trees of the near Villa Rufolo and several towers and belfries, is just in the historic centre of Ravello, a charming ,quiet and unspoiled town, perched high above the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rufolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufolo Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing