We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but terribly run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is family run hotel with the family hovering every where, very discomforting especially if you end up in room 554 which is the top floor but in the family wing of accommodation. There are 5 rooms in this wing and 4 of them have family members with their doors open. Great location with brilliant views but terribly run down. This hotel needs a serious facelift. The staff or family were not that helpful with questions that's needed to be addressed. "Do you have any bus time tables or local area maps" the response was " go the tourist information they can help you" . The bloke on breakfast - the son or grandson just grunted when you arrived and was half shaven like he is doing you a favour. The room was pleasant, the breakfast was fine, the views to die for, the pool brilliant. The wifi non existent in the rooms. This should be rerated to a 3 star not 4.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the family wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 471 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

The views are beautiful but the hotel is awful. It is badly need of a facelift. The heat was off and it 40 degrees and raining. We had to request heat multiple times a day. The family use the public space as their living room (fireplace, TV) and made us feel we were invading their space. To top it all they couldn't get the bill straight. Check your bill before you checkout!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank agh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Great view is the only positive. We stayed in March and the hotel should not have opened - they had to be begged to turn on the heat and hall lights, and the restaurant was closed. We were there with two other couples and lucked out. We all paid the same price but the rooms varied - one had no shower. Worst of all, the owners and family did not make us feel welcome. They and their child were living in the hotel and invaded the public spaces. They had almost zero tourist information (not even a map) spotty WiFi, and no interest in helping us have a pleasant stay in rainy Ravello. Beware the Family Growl.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jaycee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It's probably best not to go to this hotel at all but it is imperative to avoid it out of season. It feels like you are disturbing a family being here. There is no welcome or hospitality at all, then they expect you to pay!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I checked-in late at night and I've been here for only that night and the service was really good, quick and efficient. Premises is high quality. ROom was very comfortable. But the best surprise is waiting you just out of the window of your room the monring after. I opened it and the entire gulf view shocked me. Amazing view of the sea and the entire coast. Good morning.Perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This beautiful little hotel has an incredible view, a wonderful breakfast and the best staff. The restaurant is one of our favorites in Ravello. We have stayed here two times and would happily return again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sturgeon145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is located with a wonderful view of the Amalfi coast, whether on your patio, at breakfast or on the pool deck. We watched sunrises and great big full-moon-rises over the mountain.
The staff were helpful and pleasant, with the owner making rounds on a regular basis to check on the needs of the guests.
Buffet breakfast provided a good range of choices and after 8:30 you could order bacon and eggs if you needed your protein reserves topped up. With few people eating when we did, the staff attention was good. We ate at the onsite restaurant 2 nights for dinner and both nights the food was very good and the entertainment was lively and enjoyable. Be careful about some of the rooms and their condition - it took us 3 before we got one that was acceptable. Even changing rooms, the a/c was not great and the bed (two singles pushed together) each had deep canyons in the middle ensuring we each stayed on our sides.
Great stay in Ravello and easy to hop the Sita bus (stop was just a short walk up from the hotel front door) to move along the Amalfi coast in both directions.

Room Tip: Higher negative numbers (floors go downward) - 1 give better views; however some rooms 555 are on ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: $126 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing