We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Maybe best view for a room and breakfast in Ravello” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graal Hotel Ravello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Maybe best view for a room and breakfast in Ravello”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is located with a wonderful view of the Amalfi coast, whether on your patio, at breakfast or on the pool deck. We watched sunrises and great big full-moon-rises over the mountain.
The staff were helpful and pleasant, with the owner making rounds on a regular basis to check on the needs of the guests.
Buffet breakfast provided a good range of choices and after 8:30 you could order bacon and eggs if you needed your protein reserves topped up. With few people eating when we did, the staff attention was good. We ate at the onsite restaurant 2 nights for dinner and both nights the food was very good and the entertainment was lively and enjoyable. Be careful about some of the rooms and their condition - it took us 3 before we got one that was acceptable. Even changing rooms, the a/c was not great and the bed (two singles pushed together) each had deep canyons in the middle ensuring we each stayed on our sides.
Great stay in Ravello and easy to hop the Sita bus (stop was just a short walk up from the hotel front door) to move along the Amalfi coast in both directions.

Room Tip: Higher negative numbers (floors go downward) - 1 give better views; however some rooms 555 are on ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    143
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
52
211
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I were a bit wary of what to expect from reading other reviews on TripAdvisor, but we were pleasantly surprised. Whilst I would agree that the rooms need some attention and updating, they were clean and well appointed. We had a lovely view of the Amalfi coast from our bedroom, which was lovely to wake up to every morning. The pool area is lovely and also clean. The views are astounding from there and the only downside was the water was cold – but a lovely area to chill and sunbathe in. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and if we were to return to the area we would definitely consider Hotel Graal again.

You need to really explore Ravello and go up all the little side streets to find the lovely places as it’s not that well signed. Villa Rufulo in the square is lovely and worth a visit. Stunning views and gardens are also to be found at Villa Cimborne. We found this place (which is a posh hotel) by accident when out exploring and really pleased we did! You will also find a Limoncello factory up one of the side streets too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloowarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at the Graal for a week this October and will sum it up simply - beautiful location with stupendous views, value for money and great friendly service.

We had planned to visit the Amalfi Coast and had specifically wanted to stay in Ravello for this. Ravello is high up above the coast and as a result the views are absolutely amazing in all directions. We chose the Graal based on its location and access to these vistas from just about all private and public rooms , the relative cost to stay there, and the reviews of previous visitors. As another visitor has stated unless you have very deep pockets you have the same view here as at say other more expensive options in Ravello.

We stayed in Room 235. It appeared that the room had not long been redecorated - simply but pleasant, with what appeared to be a new bathroom with shower. The new paintwork was scuffed in places, but the overall cleanliness was great. The room was a decent size with a small separate dressing table area and a good sized private balcony which we spent many an hour appreciating the views. From there every single morning we had the most wonderful sunrises. We arrived late at night - and saved the very first morning to savour the morning sunrise across the mountains and coast.

Breakfast was typical of an Italian breakfast with cereals, fresh fruit, jams, bread, sweet cakes and eggs. All the staff that we encountered were friendly and welcoming. We also had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious, again affording the same wonderful views which you have from just about anywhere in the hotel.

There is a nice sized pool with sun loungers and the location and views afforded from here are fabulous.

As other reviewers have commented there is Wifi at the hotel but it is intermittent, and can depend on what part of the hotel or your room you are in as to whether you receive. Ours was generally ok, but whilst great reception in our bathroom not as great in the room!

The hotel is in a great location to get around both in Ravello and further around the Amalfi Coast. It is also a great place to start some fantastic walks around the area. A few minutes and you are in the Piazza Duomo in Ravello and just about 100 yards from the hotel is the bus stop at which you can take a bus down to Amalfi which is at this time of year about a 15 minute journey (probably a lot longer in busier times of the year when more traffic). Be careful when checking timetables, and make sure you are certain of the times of buses back particularly later in the evening. We also found that all the buses were earlier than stated - so don't arrive late for buses!

During the day Ravello was bustly with visitors who arrived on the coaches to visit the area and the Villas of Cimbrone and Ruffolo, but by early evening they had mostly left and the place was much quieter and very pleasant. As well as a good restaurant at the hotel, there are plentiful places to suit all budgets to eat in Ravello.

If we returned to Ravello would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanddarrenHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Graal for four nights in October 2013 while on a Southern Italy tour. Our room on the second floor had an absolutely amazing view of the coast. The room was small though very suitable for our stay and was nicely decorated. There was a sizable private balony that we enjoyed for the wonderful sunrises and views. The rooms and bathrooms have been totally renovated. Their restaurant Moro was very nice with a great menu. Our only problem was WiFi in the room. Elsewhere in the hotel is worked fine. This hotel is just a short walk to the city center and we will stay here again if ever in Ravello. I highly recommend Hotel Graal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Graal the last week of September after a week in Rome.
Train from Rome to Naples, then the Graal arranged convenient and personable car service to Ravello. Only very good things to say about Ravello; charming, and uncrowded. Spectacular location up on the cliffs. The Graal is perfectly situated for incredible, unobstructed views of the coast line. The hotel has fabulous views from every vantage point - rooms we saw all had nice balconies; basic, but comfortably furnished - some reminders of Danish modern from the l970's throughout the hotel. Desk service was okay, depending on which attendant was working - surprising minor language issues. Best points: pool - great view; very clean, plenty of loungers; irregular bar service, but available most of the day. Breakfast service was good, but relatively bland, with primarily sweet rolls, breads. Some special-order egg dishes available, but not necessarily advertised. We ate in the main restaurant one night - very good, and fairly reasonable, but small portions. Other good choices for dining around and near the square. Regular bus service available to surrounding areas about 100 yards from hotel door, but check schedules carefully for days of week.
Other observations: hotel has lots of steps; elevator service is available, but still some rooms require steps. Parts of the hotel could use some freshening up, but all public areas and rooms are clean and well-maintained. Would definitely consider returning to the Graal on a future trip.

Room Tip: Most or all rooms have balconies, although some have more space. Pool level seemed to be a good ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAFARER404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing holiday at the Graal Hotel in gorgeous Ravello. The Hotel is family run and feels a happy welcoming place and we were really pleased to discover that we had been upgraded to a junior suite, complete with private terrace where we could gaze at the most gorgeous view of the Amalfi coast, the views were stunning from just about everywhere in the hotel. The room was spotless, comfortable, serviced several times a day and very quiet. The location of the Graal is ideal right near bus stops for trips to other villages, we liked the open air tourist bus it was a lovely way of seeing the scenery which is simply fantastic. Breakfast was served between 7.30 and 10 am and in the main was a help yourself cold buffet, lots of choice and good quality, we were also able to order a choice of cooked egg dishes. The town of Ravello is really attractive, lots of stuff to see & do, we did lots of walking and really explored the area. The Graal Hotel's restaurant is extremely good, delicious well cooked food attentive staff and very good value, although we ate in several other places we couldn't find anywhere as good. There are some seriously posh looking Hotels in Ravello with restaurants open to non residents but we are not super rich and were very happy staying at the Graal and definitely hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

... well maybe you can if you pay three times the price to stay at the Caruso (same view, just higher up), but for those of us still counting the pennies, this hotel is a real treat.

It's a family run hotel, albeit quite a big one, and the staff are welcoming and helpful if not super attentive (they could probably use a few more.) It's a bit dated in a typical mediterranean way (trading off location...) but our room at least was clean and comfortable with a decent-sized bathroom and a lovely balcony to take in the vista. It's not the lap of luxury but you've probably figured that out from the price already.

The main shortcoming we noticed was at breakfast, where the staff seemed constantly overwhelmed despite the hotel only being about half full. Breakfast ends early (10am) which means if you get there at 9.50 like people on holiday tend to do, it's hard to get your order in before they close the kitchen!

On the upside the location is great (very convenient being right near the bus stop for trips to Amalfi etc.), there is a very good restaurant with aspirations of fine dining and a decent wine list, and the pool is nice and big with lots of sunbeds. Oh, and did I mention the view?

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view, but even on the lower level it's pretty spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 22 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#15 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Property: Graal Hotel Ravello
Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing