We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graal Hotel Ravello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Graal for four nights in October 2013 while on a Southern Italy tour. Our room on the second floor had an absolutely amazing view of the coast. The room was small though very suitable for our stay and was nicely decorated. There was a sizable private balony that we enjoyed for the wonderful sunrises and views. The rooms and bathrooms have been totally renovated. Their restaurant Moro was very nice with a great menu. Our only problem was WiFi in the room. Elsewhere in the hotel is worked fine. This hotel is just a short walk to the city center and we will stay here again if ever in Ravello. I highly recommend Hotel Graal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    166
    53
    25
    23
See reviews for
57
238
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Graal the last week of September after a week in Rome.
Train from Rome to Naples, then the Graal arranged convenient and personable car service to Ravello. Only very good things to say about Ravello; charming, and uncrowded. Spectacular location up on the cliffs. The Graal is perfectly situated for incredible, unobstructed views of the coast line. The hotel has fabulous views from every vantage point - rooms we saw all had nice balconies; basic, but comfortably furnished - some reminders of Danish modern from the l970's throughout the hotel. Desk service was okay, depending on which attendant was working - surprising minor language issues. Best points: pool - great view; very clean, plenty of loungers; irregular bar service, but available most of the day. Breakfast service was good, but relatively bland, with primarily sweet rolls, breads. Some special-order egg dishes available, but not necessarily advertised. We ate in the main restaurant one night - very good, and fairly reasonable, but small portions. Other good choices for dining around and near the square. Regular bus service available to surrounding areas about 100 yards from hotel door, but check schedules carefully for days of week.
Other observations: hotel has lots of steps; elevator service is available, but still some rooms require steps. Parts of the hotel could use some freshening up, but all public areas and rooms are clean and well-maintained. Would definitely consider returning to the Graal on a future trip.

Room Tip: Most or all rooms have balconies, although some have more space. Pool level seemed to be a good ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAFARER404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing holiday at the Graal Hotel in gorgeous Ravello. The Hotel is family run and feels a happy welcoming place and we were really pleased to discover that we had been upgraded to a junior suite, complete with private terrace where we could gaze at the most gorgeous view of the Amalfi coast, the views were stunning from just about everywhere in the hotel. The room was spotless, comfortable, serviced several times a day and very quiet. The location of the Graal is ideal right near bus stops for trips to other villages, we liked the open air tourist bus it was a lovely way of seeing the scenery which is simply fantastic. Breakfast was served between 7.30 and 10 am and in the main was a help yourself cold buffet, lots of choice and good quality, we were also able to order a choice of cooked egg dishes. The town of Ravello is really attractive, lots of stuff to see & do, we did lots of walking and really explored the area. The Graal Hotel's restaurant is extremely good, delicious well cooked food attentive staff and very good value, although we ate in several other places we couldn't find anywhere as good. There are some seriously posh looking Hotels in Ravello with restaurants open to non residents but we are not super rich and were very happy staying at the Graal and definitely hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

... well maybe you can if you pay three times the price to stay at the Caruso (same view, just higher up), but for those of us still counting the pennies, this hotel is a real treat.

It's a family run hotel, albeit quite a big one, and the staff are welcoming and helpful if not super attentive (they could probably use a few more.) It's a bit dated in a typical mediterranean way (trading off location...) but our room at least was clean and comfortable with a decent-sized bathroom and a lovely balcony to take in the vista. It's not the lap of luxury but you've probably figured that out from the price already.

The main shortcoming we noticed was at breakfast, where the staff seemed constantly overwhelmed despite the hotel only being about half full. Breakfast ends early (10am) which means if you get there at 9.50 like people on holiday tend to do, it's hard to get your order in before they close the kitchen!

On the upside the location is great (very convenient being right near the bus stop for trips to Amalfi etc.), there is a very good restaurant with aspirations of fine dining and a decent wine list, and the pool is nice and big with lots of sunbeds. Oh, and did I mention the view?

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view, but even on the lower level it's pretty spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Graal Hotel was a great value in Ravello. The view from the common areas, the bar, the pool and nearly all the rooms is stunning. The rooms were clean and although simply furnished, were comfortable. The bathrooms were modern and the towels large. They go out of their way to make wifi available in as many locations as possible, which isn't the easiest thing to do given the design of the hotel. But they have multiple routers on each floor and try very hard to give coverage. The staff is very friendly and competent. The breakfast is good, with friendly servers, a good selection of cereal, yogurt, breads, meat/cheese, pastries, and they will make you eggs to order. The breakfast room has that same amazing view. Our dinners at the Graal's restaurant were very good.

We would stay here again if visiting Ravello, which is a cute town, with nice shops good hotel restaurants, lovely villas to visit, and a good starting point for hikes in the area or bus rides to the other coastal towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window as well as a balcony door, or one with a double size sliding balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Unless you are a millionaire, this is the best bet for Ravello. And a fantastic restaurant with attentive and charming staff. View amazing from large restaurant terrace and most of the rooms, some of which have their own terrace. So go for a drink in one of the unbelieveably posh palace hotels and stay, swim and eat here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank debbieg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here with another couple and as mentioned the views from our rooms were magnificent. The rooms were clean and more than adequate. We stayed in room 221 and our friends next door, so were able to enjoy the wonderful views from our balcony while having dinner and bottle of wine (all purchased in the village). The pool area was lovely, unfortunately it did close at 6 which we didn't realize and were looking forward to a swim after a very warm day sightseeing. Staff were really friendly though and breakfast was more than adequate for what we needed. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KELLY040251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Property: Graal Hotel Ravello
Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing