We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Infested with Fleas and Lice” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graal Hotel Ravello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted,England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Infested with Fleas and Lice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The only thing this hotel has to offer was great views and it stops there. For a 4 star hotel its basic - it might be 4 start by Italian standards but certainly not on a global scale. I'd say this struggles to be a 3 star by UK standards. Its family run and they are very nice people. We stayed here for 3 nights as we are planning a wedding here later in the year. We were only offered breads and coffee for 'breakfast' and the kitchen was closed in the evening. I appreciate that it was out of season but they should have stated this at time of booking. We were bitten to death by fleas and bed lice and still had scars 2 weeks later. The bathroom was also very poor quality with limescale all over the shower units. Not what you'd expect for booking a superior room in a '4*' hotel. We have advised all of our 100 guests not to stay here and we advise that you stay away as far as you can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravellers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    167
    53
    25
    23
See reviews for
57
241
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Superb view from the room, but what a disappointment for a 4 star hotel. I know March is still off season (we were the only guests on 2 of the 3 nights) but we felt we were intruding on a private family. Water only tepid in the evening and even when we asked there was barely enough hot water for one shallow bath. Breakfast very meagre. Some people would not like having to step over the family dog lying in the lounge. Room fittings dilapidated - sink plug didn't work and one bedside light had failed bulb. Garage parking very welcome for Ravello but we felt 11 euros a night was expensive and we couldn't access the car ourselves. Restaurant was shut. Go to the one recommended in Lonely Planet etc as that was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGodfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rarely is Ravello a winter destination, but for me it was. The Graal is family run like a five star. Breathtaking views, a family you wish was yours. Took care of every need, question and serves a breakfast specialty that I won't mention for fear it's winter only. Loved the hotel, family, staff, food, fireplace, and come June 1 will be back for a much longer stay!

Room Tip: Fitness and Spa weren't available because of the winter weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just left Ravello from our stay at the Hotel Graal. While the Amalfi Coast is breathtaking in general, I have to say that the view from our standard room was nothing short of spectacular. Seriously. We walked into the room and our jaws hit the floor, it was like being perched on a cloud over the bluest water and sky you've ever seen. In short, you cannot beat the views.

As for the room... it was spacious enough. Very clean though not so modern. But again... whose looking at the pattern on the sheets when one all of your room is a full view of the Amalfi Coast? For all that... the balcony was a little dilapidated and could have used some TLC BUT THERE was plenty of room for a table and chairs... Breakfast, glass of wine in the sunset.... whatever you like. The bathroom was the biggest I 've seen thus far in Italy. There was a tub that I actually FIT in (note I am 5`11")!

One issue was the the temperature in the room, with a massive picture sliding glass door, I'm sure insulation on top of a mountain is difficult, but out room was FREEZING... when we called the front desk, someone can me promptly, but just fiddled with the air conditioner and said it was fixed... it was not. Eventually we got someone to take care of it though.

Breakfast was good...but they charge you for it without you knowing. The restaurant was nice as well but far too expensive. Also, it may have just been my husband stomach not used to the type of seafood here, but he was definitely sick all night following our dinner at the Hotel.

All in all... it was a decent experience with a spectacular view at a middle price for Ravello.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel Graal in October 2012. It is in a great location, just a short five minute walk to the Piazza Il Duomo at the center of the beautiful town of Ravello. The view of the Almafi coast from our room and balcony was spectacular. The hotel is beautifully designed and very stylish. Our room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was good and substantial. We were particularly impressed with the first rate hotel staff. They were very willing, friendly, courteous, and helpful in providing advice on visiting the sights in the area, obtaining tickets for two musical performances, and making restaurant reservations.

The reason I did not rate the room "excellent" is because at one time, for a short period of about 15 minutes, I could hear muffled voices from outside the room that sounded like they were coming from the bathroom vent. Since this only happened once and did not disturb us, it did not spoil our otherwise wonderful stay at Graal Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The view from our balcony was awesome! The room(for 3) was very large and very nice. Bathrooms were very clean and had nice amenities. Service was wonderful throughout the hotel-- from the manager to the front desk. We were only going to stay one night and ended up staying for two nights. The balcony has enough room for a table and chairs(to sit and sip wine!). The pool is so great-- the view when sitting in the lounge chairs is beautiful. Ravello is up on a cliff and you can hike down old paths to several towns nearby-- highly recommended! The town has a lovely square with several places to sit and have a drink or lunch. You can also attend concerts and visit several villas in the town.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a view of the water-- worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pointspeaksandpasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Graal Hotel is really good. Its location is perfect because it is really close to the center of the town (Piazza Il Duomo) and it has an amazing view over the coast of Amalfi). We stayed six nights in the junior suite room to celebrate our honey moon. All the rooms have an incredible view from the balcony, you can enjoy the beauty of the Amalfi coast, and the towns of Minori and Maiori.

The hotel is rally clean, any issue that you have with your room is taken care of quickly, it has spots where you can connect to the internet for free and at the reception, they provide the guests with a laptop. Your room is always clean and they come to fix it twice a day. There is a pool with a great view and you can buy drinks at the pool bar. It is a real treat to have a pool in your hotel because not too many hotels in Ravello have one.

The hotel have an excellent restaurant (Al Ristoro del Moro) with a very good chef. The food is delicious and most of the ingredients are from the hotel's garden. The breakfast is excellent too. All the jams and pastries are made by one of the chef at the hotel and you can enjoy the sunrise over the Amalfi coast while you eat. We found all the staff really friendly specially the waiters are the breakfast room and the guy at the reception during the night shift. Not so much the ladies at the reception in the morning shift.

Overall, we had a great time and we would recommend this hotel to anyone who is up for an experience of a life time. The only issue we had was that since you don't pay at the pool bar (the drinks are charged to your room number) there was a mistake and some drinks were charged to our room. The ladies are the reception were upset by this and did not even say bye to us after spending six nights there.

Room Tip: You might think the hotel is expensive but its location and views are priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orestes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Property: Graal Hotel Ravello
Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing