We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AnImcomparable Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AnImcomparable Hotel Experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

At 80 years of age, I have travelled extensively to Europe and elsewhere in the world. Without a doubt, the Caruso is one of the most extraordinary hotels where I had the good fortune of being a guest. The interior of the hotel, a former palace, is exquisite, as are the garden, and swimming pool. And the view over the Amalfi Coast is fantastic.

Equally as wonderful is the staff all of whom speak perfect English. They are friendly and willing to do everything possible to make your stay more enjoyable.

The Caruso is also in a perfect location for visiting the highlights of Ravello, which are many.

Whatever your expectations might be for a five star hotel, the Caruso will exceed them.

Max Pine
NYC

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all let me thank you for taking your time writing this comment on Tripadvisor.

We are really honoured to receive your words full of praise for us, even more since you are a frequent traveller who is used to visit hotels in the whole world.

Our objective is to offer constantly an excellent service and to make come true the wishes of our clients. We are more than glad that we could meet yours expectations.

Needless to say that we would be delighted to welcome you soon again at Belmond Hotel Caruso. Ravello is waiting for you!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    71
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
122
480
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Caruso, and I can honestly say - for overall experience, this has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I stayed in Amalfi with family a few years ago, and was so excited to return for my dream holiday this year with my boyfriend. I was a little nervous initially as the hotel is classically Italian, and probably a little "old fashioned" for both mine and my boyfriends tastes, but this actually only serves to enhances the overall "Italian" experience. From the moment you check in, the hotel staff literally cannot do enough for you - the level of service here surpasses anything I have ever experienced. The hotel itself is beautifully laid out, and our room was spacious and comfortable. (Slight negative point - the beds are very hard, and the TV/choice of TV channels is quite poor - not a deal breaker but if you're confined to your room for any reason it's a bit frustrating. Oh and and no soft close toilet seats!) The food at the hotel is top notch, particularly by the pool bar where the staff are amazing.. especially Tomas and Daniele, who were so wonderfully helpful and cheery every day, that our pool bar lunch was always the highlight of the day. Evenings in the beautiful piano bar was also something to look forward to, with probably the best cocktails I have ever tried being mixed up by Tomas nightly. Breakfast was also a highlight - with masses of choice, and a super smiley and ever-helpful team headed up by Giovanni - who was always there every morning to personally greet guests. Gennaro on the front desk is without a doubt the best concierge I have ever come across in my time (and I've come across a lot!) and is so helpful with recommendations for dinner, excursions and he really made our stay so enjoyable. There is no doubt this hotel is beautiful.. the food is amazing, the setting is stunning, the grounds and exquisite.. but what really makes this hotel exceptional is the staff and service. Yes it is very expensive (32 euros from some aftersun through room service - ouch) but you do get what you pay for, and the overall experience and feeling you get from staying here, is to me, worth every penny. I was hoping for my dream holiday and Hotel Caruso - you didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harriet1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Madam,

first of all I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write such an amazing review on TripAdvisor and for choosing the Belmond Hotel Caruso for your dream holiday.

I am flattered by your words and I am so proud of my staff; they are definitely and truly passionate about what they do and it makes me happy to read about your memorable stay.

I really hope to welcome you and your boyfriend at the Caruso soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

What can you say about a little piece of heaven!
This hotel is undoubtedly expensive but the service is excellent, the location is imcomparable with a view to lose the breath and with a pool that is an architectural masterpiece!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for taking your time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor.

Me and my staff are glad to read that you were satisfied with our services and with our hotel and that you have enjoyed our beautiful views.

We really hope to welcome you at the Belmond Hotel Caruso as soon as possible to enjoy once again our infinity pool and our atmosphere.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is expensive and we were unlucky with the weather so could not take full advantage of the pool, but we still had a great time, staying four nights. The Monday was marred by construction noise from outside the hotel but near the pool, which we had not been warned about. Beautiful view from our suite with balcony, and more storage than in other Italian hotels we had been in. Room 64.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 954Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Sirs,

I would like to take the chance to thank you for taking your time to leave your comment on TripAdvisor.

First of all I would like to apologize for the construction noise and let you know that we were not able to warn because we were also not aware of it.

Anyway, me and my entire staff are glad and happy to learn that you had a memorable stay and I hope that you will return soon to the Belmond Hotel Caruso to enjoy our Infinity Pool with nice weather and without any noise.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotswolds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a wonderful place the room was fantastic with very comfy bed and marshmallow pillows. The terrace had both loungers and two areas to sit either in the sun or sheltered if it rained. The views where breathtaking even during the evening at the lights from the town below gave a whole new aspect to the scene.
We had room 305 which was amazing we were welcomed with lemonade and also some Strawberrys to share in our room. The fridge was well stocked with alcoholic beverages and sweet treats.
The staff are very attentive being on hand when needed. Outstanding food and Choices throughout our stay. The only complaint would be that we had to come home!!!

Room Tip: Room 35 has beautiful views both day and night. very luxurious too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitchiker1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Sirs,

on behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for taking your time to write on TripAdvisor and for your beautiful words.

I really hope to welcome you at the Belmond Hotel Caruso as soon as possible to enjoy more time here with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for five days in May. We can truly say this is one of the most beautiful hotels in Italy . As other reviews have stated the views are magnificent . What's more important about the Caruso is the staff. From you arrival to departure, nothing is to difficult, reservations, transportation, suggestion for day trips or any of your needs will be taken care of. On the night before our departure, we ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was fantastic. We came back to our room and found a note on our safe advising us our safe was left open and to call to reception for our new access code. NOTHING was missing . At how many hotels would that happen . If you stay on the Amalfi coast and you love great hotels stay at the Caruso .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redmanfloridapvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for the time you took to write a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy and honored for your flattering words and we hope to welcome you soon here at the Belmond Hotel Caruso for a new memorable experience.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, UK
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We booked our week at the Caruso to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday and having read the reviews we were expecting it to be perfect. It is a beautiful hotel in a superb location and we had a super room with impressive views. The infinity pool and hotel grounds were stunning.

The restaurant had panoramic views and a very professional and personable Manager. We were very impressed with our meal on the first evening and thoroughly enjoyed the boat excursion the next day around the coast. We really did feel that we had made the right choice of hotel.

Unfortunately the cracks then began to appear. The second evening we went down for our evening meal and the menu was exactly the same, as it was every evening for the whole week that we were there. This certainly wasn't what we expected from this quality of hotel and it certainly did detract from the enjoyment. To be fair the Restaurant Manager Giovanni did suggest a main course not on the menu on the sixth night as he appreciated we had run out of options.

We had two lunches at the Poolside Restaurant which were poor - cold pasta & burnt pizza. On the second occasion, we did mention it and indeed had to leave the entire edge of both pizzas but nothing was made of it .

We did find some aspects of The Caruso a bit false & at times attempts by some staff to up-sell cocktails etc was bordering on embarrassing.

The hotel did give my wife a cake for her birthday which was very tasty but it was somewhat disappointing that she didn't get it until breakfast on the day after her birthday. (The waiter said he had tried to deliver to our room on the evening of her birthday but we had our do not disturb light on. However we had been in the restaurant as usual that evening).

I wouldn't say that we didn't enjoy our stay but it is expensive and we have stayed at several hotels in Switzerland which we would rate better at not much more than half of the Euro 1000 a day to stay at The Caruso. If you are getting a Taxi from Naples Airport (and don't feel the pressing need to be seen arriving in a limo) then we can recommend Salvatore & his white SEAT from Ravello Taxis who did an excellent job - including ferrying us around Pompeii & Herculaneum on the day of our return trip to the Airport - a good, professional, service & a really interesting guy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank XS-Baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you have selected our hotel and on behalf of the entire Team at Belmond Hotel Caruso I wish to thank you for your recent visit.

I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our restaurant menu as we have 22 different courses ( 6 Hors d’Oeuvres, 4 Pasta and Soups, 3 Vegetarian courses, 5 Fish and 4 Meats courses and a Menu of The Day, and my staff is always more than happy to offer alternatives not on the menu. Also the swimming pool menu is very rich with a Salad Bar, Pizzas and 20 different courses and I apologize for the inconvenience of the burnt pizza that I am sure occurred only once during your stay.

We ​take our Guest comments very seriously and we always strive to improve and​ I really hope to welcome you again at the Belmond Hotel Caruso and make everything right.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
732 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing