We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wow what a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
greenville, nc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow what a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We visited this property the first week of October and still wish we had stayed longer.Upon entering we were greeted with the scent of fresh star gazer lilies, which happen to be our favorite. The staff from doorman to manager to room attendants were beyond excellent and ready to please at a moments notice. Now to the restaurant.....The manager Giovanni Frusciante, what an absolute gem, nothing was out of reach for him. his whole day revolved around pleasing guests. We were able to get him to join us after dinner and he returned the favor by singing a few songs for the guests in the piano room.. Please see the hotel advertisements on the web and you can get a glimpse of his personality.. The food was excellent and the staff was unforgettable. highly recommend this hotel as one of the best in Italy. John and Martha Moore

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seandsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    60
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
109
440
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful amalfi coast hotel for 5 great nights in September.

We had a wonderful room with a roof terrace which was amazing. The weather was great in September. The swimming pool is an amazing infinity pool with an amazing view. The food from breakfast, lunch and dinner was always great. The service was always faultless and the staff always remembered what we liked so the personal touch was certainly evident.

The only shame for our trip was that due to the time of the year the wasps were around when anyone was eating and a few people myself included were a bit jumpy. The hotel staff did their best to limit the wasps which was good.

The surrounding area is beautiful and the village of Ravello is well worth exploring and some interesting authentic Italian restaurants to sample. The hotel also lays on a complementary boat trip along the Amalfi coast which must be tried.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel in this part f Italy this hotel and the village of Ravello can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Fantastic room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonpope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed in a number of Orient-Express Hotels around the world and we have now found the very best. We stayed for a week and were given what seemed to be a whole villa for our stay! It even had a second lounge/TV room/Office area overlooking the Bay of Salerno. The entire experience was luxurious - the bath even had a head rest and the perfumed Bulgari bath salts were an added touch! Breakfast overlooking the sea with the sun shining in was very special and dinner equally so. We danced in the piano bar to our favourite songs after dinner. Giovanni and the restaurant staff were outstanding. Their attention, knowledge and suggestions were unparalleled. Once again, service to each of the staff members in this hotel truly comes from the heart. Then .... there's the endless swimming pool, which is someting you usually only dream about. The view is extraordinary, it's heated and spotlessly clean. Have lunch at the pool-side restaurant and let Daniel treat you to the best pizzza you've ever tasted or a fantastic pasta. We want to be back there right now, but may have to wait until next year! The hotel offers free shuttles to Amalfi and Positano and also boat trips along the coast. Make sure you avail yourself of these, as its safer to have their driver negotiate the roads than to try and do it yourself. Take in a piano concert at the Villa Rufolo while you're in Ravello. While we were there, there was a wedding taking place almost every day, which just shows how romantic and special the hotel is. It may seem to be expensive, but it is well worth every Euro, Dollar, or Pound!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 52!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a 4 night stay, but with an early inbound and late outbound flight we got almost 5 full days. Superior double room very comfortable with terrace of almost same size overlooking valley. Breakfast on restaurant terrace overlooking coast, food and view brilliant. If you're on a budget don't eat at hotel, but as a 5 star L you have to expect prices to be on the steep side! Infinity pool with views down the coast was great. Very peaceful, main sound was a braying donkey every so often across the valley. Complimentary shuttle to Amalfi and Positano, plus complimentary 2 hour boat trip, which for us were good as the only people using them. Only minor niggle was not being picked up by one of the shuttles so waiting around for another hour. Slightly delayed apology, but a small token of say complimentary drink would have been nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback. We really appreciate
​the time ​you invested ​to put together such a detailed review and we will pass your comments to all our staff.

Regarding your concerns about the shuttle delay, we apologi​s​e for any inconvenience caused. Corrective actions have been taken to avoid any further possible recurrence and please consider this a one off experience as this doesn't reflect the usual high standards we maintain at Hotel Caruso​.

I am personally ​looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you
​back ​to ​restore your faith in the high service level
​we offer at our hotel.

​With my kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beware with your car in Hotel Caruso!!!

I went to Amalfy Coast this September, got a great hotel in Positano, but, since I heard very good things about Ravello, I made a reservation to have lunch in Caruso Hotel, with is supposed to be one of the bests in Amalfy coast. BUT IT'S NOT

The lunch was just ok, nothing different from a simple village restaurant you go in the village, but they charge you very expensive prices, I paid 168 euros for simple lunch for 2.

But the very serious thing that happen and I feel the obligation to alert visitors is that when I finished the lunch, I came down to the reception to get my Mercedes S Class when I CAUGHT THE VALET OF THE HOTEL USING MY CAR TO TRANSPORT OTHER GUESTS AND THEIR LUGGAGE!!! I left the car with the hotel valet and they used it as a hotel shuttle!!!

I alert the hotel reception immediately, they apologize and before I could get to my hotel in Positano, they called the front desk apologizing and warning that they would reimburse the cost of lunch in my credit card, which was never done, it was just a lie to prevent people from my hotel to know what they do with their guests car!

Beware of your car at the Hotel Caruso!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Marcos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear sir, I have been made aware of the inexcusable incident caused by our valet when you returned back from lunch at Hotel Caruso. Our restaurant has always been recognised for its excellent cuisine and service so I am under the impression that your experience was spoiled by the previous mentioned inconvenience of which I apologise again. I would be happy to discuss this matter with you personally so that we can restore your faith in Hotel Caruso.

Please be so kind to contact me at fgirasoli@hotelcaruso.net at your earliest convenience.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

About a year ago we came to Amalfi coast hoping to find a place where we would like to get married !
Since the moment we stepped into Hotel Caruso we fell in love with it
Hotel owned by Orient Express Group it's definitely a gem among other 5 Star Luxury hotels on the coast.
You will find hotel staff -helpful , friendly and genuine in everything they do.
We randomly stepped into the hotel and were granted a tour with absolutely lovely Miss Tiziana Laterza.
She was kind enough to show us around, and talk to us about the possible dates, menu options on the very same day even though we haven't booked a tour of property ( this was mandatory everywhere else on coast ).
From this first meeting we knew we cannot possibly find better place for this special occasion.
When one thinks of Amalfi coast one imagines Amazing views, beautiful gardens, blue water , green mountains but to organize the wedding there one will need right people to help you make it happen.
I haven't hired a wedding planner as I wanted to be in control of every detail and I found - in team at Hotel Caruso led by Miss Tiziana - not only partners but also great friends . Tiziana and Donatella where there for me along the way, patiently dealing with my strange requests, last minute changes and wedding day emergencies.
We spent our wedding weekend in lovely suite with an stunning view. We got married in beautiful Wagner Garden under olive trees, we dance to our favorite songs by amazing infinity pool.
There are quite a few luxuries properties on Amalfi coast - and while we were looking for the wedding venue I got to visit them all. But if I could say there is definitely one - and for me -the most important thing that distinguishes Hotel Caruso from the others- it would be amazing HOTEL STAFF.
They are really, really great. And it seems to me their truly understand the meaning of a word hospitality.
Big, big thank you to Tiziana, Donatella, Baldo and everyone else who made this special for us day - truly amazing !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Efkakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is another hotel created from a large villa. It sits high on a ridge in Ravello, overlooking the Amalfi coast, which is one of the more beautiful places on this planet. We stayed for 5 nights and toured the surrounding towns from there.
THe grounds are terraced, and consist of gardens and groves of lemon trees. THe hotel itself is charming, old world, idiosyncratic. I'm told that few of the rooms are alike. The staff, as expected, were warm and professional.
Because the hotel wasn't full at this time of the year, we were upgraded to a larger room, one overlooking the sea and ate our breakfast on the balcony each morning overlooking the mountains and sea.
This is a very expensive hotel, make no mistake. Our room was 700 euro/day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea. Look at several rooms first. Ask if you qualify for an upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
6.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing